We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“affordable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Umalas Hotel and Residence
Ranked #147 of 431 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Reviewed November 25, 2013

location: this place is in quite a rural area but its about 10-15 mins from seminyak. hotel does provide shuttle but we did not use it. its ok if you have already hired a driver. the advantage is that is quiet and away from the hustle bustle of the city :) another advantage is that there is a gelato cafe (Gusto gelato & cafe) just two minutes by foot away!

rooms: we booked a two room apartment. was clean & cozy, beds were comfortable. was abit small but we did not really mind. towels provided were really old though, would be good if they could replace them. we had a nice view of the pool from our room.

service: service was good, staff at the reception desk were nice and helpful.

food: had breakfast at the roof top, interesting place but can get a little hot. food was the average fare but they did change some things daily.

spa: we only choose to have our massage here due to convinience. wouldn't really recommend it. was not worth the money, im sure there are other better spa for that price :(

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChingM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 267 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

we had an enjoyable stay in umalas hotet from absolout group.
we stayed here for 7 nights in nov in 1 bedroom, clean room with good bed
the staff were friendly.
the pool was great but breakfast was very simple and limited
Every day they have simple salad bar with sausage, bacon, egg station, fruit bar, limited kind of cereal and they have some rice or noodle dishes that change everyday

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mahsa1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I had an enjoyable stay over the period of 7-11 Nov. The staff were pleasant n very friendly n indeed customer centric. The breakfast can be improved though as the variety is pretty limited n does not appear too appetising after a stay of a few days! The cleanliness of the towels in the room looks suspect. The room I stayed in had strange clicking sounds, which I attribute to the electrical supply, but it's best to be checked out.

Other than that, it will be a good getaway for a family vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KFHo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights around end of September 2013. This condo is suitable for pack of friends or family who stay together. We stayed at 2 bedrooms. There were also big living room with a sofa and kitchen set as well. Spacious, clean room with good bed. My comment is if only there is a bathroom inside the master room, then it would be perfect place. I have no complain on the service of the staffs, they are nice and responsive enough.

The pool is nice. The breakfast is just so-so. Every day they have simple salad bar with sausage, bacon, egg station, fruit bar, limited kind of cereal and they have some rice or noodle dishes that change everyday. The food combination is not really appealing but just Ok. If you get bored with hotel food, you can borrow their cooking pan and have your own dishes at the kitchen.

This is the type of hotel where you can just relaxing and enjoy the view, and design with modern concept. So, do not expect a Balinese/traditional touch because this building is definitely looks like an apartment building at Jakarta. There are some cafes/warung in walking distance but of course limited, there is a mini market also but not opened for 24 hours. There is a small salon around 100m from hotel that offers you creambath & blowdry for only IDR 30k, forgot the name but it sounds balinese name. Did not try the hotel spa, but I saw that the place for spa is at the open corner of swimming pool. There is a spa boutique just in front of the salon.

So, if you have a special price from agoda/expedia (I got it from expedia) then you can choose this apartment look alike room for your trip at Bali.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeiskeYoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here a week, the first thing you notice are the rooms, they could be anywhere, you don't feel like you are in Bali, the furniture is modern but without the slightest hint of Bali, same with the artwork on the walls. I found the restaurant a little pricey and hot, with 2 king size beds in it, very strange! the spa is also very expensive, the girls sat beside the pool day in and day out with no one to massage. Very hard to get a drink around they pool as you have to get out and go to the coffee shop and then they call the staff to come and make the drink for you. If they designed the rooms with a Bali theme, covered the roof top restaurant and brought the prices down, they would be busy as they have a captive audience as there is not much around there to walk to. The breakfast is good and the staff are lovely. Just needs some atmosphere!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bigger balcony as mine could only sit one chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kymberley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

a little bit outside of the busy streets of Kerobokan and Seminyak we found this place and we are very satisfied with the friendly staff and with the service, but also with the rooms - the prices were ok, and we booked the 2 sleeping room appartement and found it very well, also there is a rather nice pool, with plastic loungers were you can relax and chill, on roof top there is a lounge, but the furniture there is rather strange and style-less, could be done better, this lounge is also very low frequented, mainly used for breakfast....

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank javaman011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

After a long trip from London, we were pleasantly welcomed in the hotel late on a Saturday. Our room booking was upgraded to a suite and we were grateful for the extra space and balcony for our 12 night stay.
Highpoints of Umalas - the friendly and committed staff in all departments, the roof terrace for breakfast, the breakfasts , the lounge area and the pool.
I appreciated the location away from Seminyak and I enjoyed walking around the local area. It was a relief not to be in the main drag close to the beaches . However, the hotel shuttle bus was a much appreciated and much-needed amenity.
A pleasant stay and I.d like to think I'll be back at some point.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhilipAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.1 mi away
Pandawa All Suite Hotel
Pandawa All Suite Hotel
#18 of 36 in Kerobokan
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Petitenget
Swiss-Belhotel Petitenget
#64 of 148 in Seminyak
446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kokonut Suites
Kokonut Suites
#3 of 36 in Kerobokan
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ibis Styles Bali Petitenget
0.6 mi away
favehotel Umalas
favehotel Umalas
#83 of 148 in Seminyak
702 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alam Bidadari Seminyak
Alam Bidadari Seminyak
#15 of 124 in Seminyak
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umalas Hotel and Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umalas Hotel and Residence

Address: Jl.Umalas II, No 83, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 431 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: $31 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Umalas Hotel and Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umalas Hotel and Residence is a resort located in a peaceful area surrounded by natural legendary rice fields of Kerobokan or within minutes away from up market of Seminyak shopping centre, where famous restaurants, bars and shopping arcade are available. Umalas Hotel and Residence is easily reached by 35 minutes drive away from Ngurah Rai International Airport, while the resort is situated at tranquil yet divertissement area which offers distance of only 5 minutes to the heart of Seminyak, 10 minutes to Kuta beach, 25 minutes to Capital City, Denpasar and 40 minutes to popular Ubud. A 102 spacious rooms complemented by the comfort of luxury amenities await you at Umalas Hotel and Residence where a collection of self indulgence of suites rooms incorporated with greenery environment and busiest street of Kerobokan, Kuta, is the most exciting moments that you will not miss even for a while when in Bali island.Umalas Hotel and Residence offers One Bedroom Suites, Two Bedroom Superior, Two Bedroom Penthouse, Two Bedrooms Deluxe, Three Bedrooms Superior, Three Bedrooms Penthouse, Three Bedroom Deluxe and Luxury penthouse. All those suite rooms are completed with modern facilities and amenities including kitchenette and pantry, spacious living rooms, wide LCD TV at both living rooms and in main bedrooms and safe deposit boxes. Whole unit types are comfortably accommodating those on romantic honeymoon journey, catering to families, and business people with the needs of generous modern living suites. Our facilities will be fulfilling your expectations for a fine dining restaurant and spacious main pool, sauna and hot cold Jacuzzi, spa treatments, completed gym equipment and a scheduled shuttle services that are available for guests to escort them to popular Seminyak shopping arcade centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Umalas Hotel and Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umalas Hotel And Residence Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing