We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close by Seminyak”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Umalas Hotel and Residence
Ranked #147 of 430 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Reviewed August 24, 2013

with a group staying here, service was good, staff were helpful, breakfast on the roof top, with sunrise and all that, food variety can be improved, room cleanliness is pretty good, room can be better in size but oh well.. for sleeping its excellent enough. thank you for having us

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BubbleTruffleSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 267 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were delighted with everything about this hotel. There was 8 of us (incl 4 young daughters and my senior parents). We had 2 adjoining 2bedroom suites. They only cost AU$84/suite/night. Bedrooms had kingsize beds in, plus air con in each room. TV in main bedroom and lounge. Kitchen & Dining very good sized. Lounge very good sized and huge comfy couches. Rooms and hotel were all very, very clean. Pool was a definite hit. Breakfast buffet included was amazing, served on roof top with lovely view of mountains. All the staff were all so kind and helpful. Day spa in hotel or huge day spa/hairdressers across the road which was incredibly cheap. 24hr cheap convenience shop a very short walk up the road, also a great gelati shop short walk too. Awesome family restaurant "Warung Umalas" short walk up the road also - which also does free delivery to Umalas hotel. (eg. BIG plate of bbq ribs for 6000Rp which just melted in your mouth!!!) Taxi cost into Seminyak was 2200Rp (approx. AU$2.50) and taxi cost into Kuta was 6300Rp (approx. AU$7). Hotel has free shuttle bus into Seminyak.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agus S, General Manager at Umalas Hotel and Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Ms Vicky,

Greetings from Umalas Hotel and Residence Seminyak, Kuta - Bali, and thank you for providing such a great review on Tripadvisor. The hotel team and I have been encouraged by your response and we continue to strive for service and hospitality excellence in order to meet the needs of all of our guests. I am glad to read your experiences with our Hotel service and hopefully we could provide better experience in the past for you and your family.

Thank you once again for your comments and best regards,

Ulatun Nyunda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was the worst stay I have ever had in Bali! The room had air conditioning that broke down twice ,spitting water all over the floor,the one bedroom suites are completely impractical for watching TV,you can't see it from the settee, so can only watch it from the bed and only from the middle because there is a wood panel on the side.They provide tea and coffee also a kettle but then charge you for milk(that was a first for me)Most staff were very good with the exception of one reception member who was extremely rude on 3 occasions, something unheard of in Bali.The roof top restaurant has a lovely atmosphere but that's it the breakfast had a good choice but at best was only ever lukewarm never hot. The bathroom had mould and dirty grout, as for the bath shower it was terrible if your over 5ft you always have to have the hand shower otherwise you only wash from the shoulders down. It really was a huge disappointment, I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. If club Absolute is investing in this place they have their work cut out for them to get it up to any standard acceptable to people

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agus S, General Manager at Umalas Hotel and Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Michelle Collins,

I thank you for your comment over Trip Advisor and we just really knew that you had a problem after you were writing this comment and I then had pursue some investigation to find out what had happened in order to clear this matter and will not make it happen again in the future.
I do apologize if you experienced a trouble thing with our staff at receptionist that you mentioned rude but unfortunately you didn't mention His/Her name that would make us easier to investigate them.

My staff were saying that you were very polite guests and staying with us with happy without complain and you were coming here by expenses of Absolute company that becoming our company's partner in Bali. We thank you for your staying with Umalas Hotel and Residence Seminyak.

Regarding Air conditioning that you mentioned was broke down twice unforunately we found it never happened as you also never informed it to us about it and when we checked to engineering department, I found that AC in your room of 2010 - One bedroom Suite was never broke down.

We provide coffee making facilities that include kettle, glass, tea/coffee bag, sugars but as you may aware that at our hotel or any hotels in the world are not providing milk that if you request for it then you should be charged.
Rooftop breakfast was only warm not hot have been informed this to our chef for more observed and I thank you for your advice on this as we will do again a regular check to make it better.

Regarding overhead showers in bathroom was designed fit for people with high of 5.9 feets high and meaning that if you are a person as high as 5 feet, you can still use the overhead showers or hand showers altogether. I do not see it as a matter in this case.

Again thank you for your advice and if any that we can do to make you stay comfort in the future, please let us know. Just email us and let us see what we can do to make it better one.

Thank you and kind regards // Ulatun Nyunda - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I enjoyed the hotel, room was good, breakfast was good, the facilities. But the service was awful. The front desk receptionist were very well and helped us out alot, the security men out the front were very enjoyable to talk to. But the rooftop restaurant had terrible service charging us 15aud to drink a bottle of wine up there. Also we noticed MONEY DISSAPEARING in our room, we thought we just overspent for the first two days of our stay (we booked in for 7 nights) and decided to budget 100aud a day. The rest of the money was kept in the safe. (Thank god) on the Tuesday third day I packed our following day itenary our clothes and put 100aud in Balinese money on our table and slept. We woke up in the morning and 50aud was missing. That is when I started piecing things together that someone had been coming in at night while We was sleeping and taking money each night. The fourth night it happened again taking 40aud I confronted front desk, but everyone pulled a blind eye. (Only staff has access to rooms) was very upset nothing could change but I did lock every penny, and valuable thing away. Was so disappointed in the service. Recommendations! Don't leave anything that's visible even while you are in the room. I lost a total of 220aud, don't trust everyone.

Room Tip: Don't leave valuables lying around. Location is quiet so only got here of your looking to relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShaiTonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agus S, General Manager at Umalas Hotel and Residence, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Mr Shai Tonga,

I thank you for your valued comment and do sorry for the missing of your moneys which we are still doing the investigation further. However we were surprised to find that you were complaining after returning home and write through trip advisor while when you were here upon departure, our staff asked you to check whether there was anything that make your stay uncomfortable that then you said that everything was fine, great and happy. We also find that you have no information of missing of your moneys when you were here. But still we are still investigating that involve of our security officer and police department. However it was a pity that no your report was filed to our security officer about your missing moneys when you were staying at Umalas Hotel and Residence.
We found that the total lost of your moneys were AUD 220 while contradicted to what we read from your comments that total lost was only AUD 90 (We woke up in the morning and 50aud was missing. and The fourth night it happened again taking 40aud). However again our security members still on going on this investigation about who have came to your rooms and what time they were coming that all of those can be found through our door system that operated by computer system check.
At every hotel including Umalas Hotel and Residence also implementing the corkage fee that whenever guests bring their own bottle of wines or any alcoholic drinks to our restaurant, they must be charged of corkage fee. This has been explained to you by our waiter.
However we are still seeing the better service to you whenever you are coming back to Umalas Hotel and Residence Seminyak in the future and please write us email whenever you want to know the progress of the investigation.

Thank you and yours sincerely // Ulatun Nyunda - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have recently returned after spending two weeks at this hotel and although we enjoyed a relaxing holiday it had nothing to do with this rundown hotel. Although the pool area provided is nice with a small garden, only 10 lounge beds are provided and even then the area is very small and cramped. There was only 2 lounges that received some sun during the day. We were twice lucky to actually use the lounges. We eventually gave up and packed ourselves up each day and caught a taxi to a hotel in Seminyak and paid to spend the day around there pool and enjoyed the lovely atmosphere provided. The breakfast is atrocious if you a used to good wholesome food to start the day. Thank God for eggs!!! Didn't matter whether you arrived late or early to breakfast, all but eggs would only be luke warm. Don't pay for it!!!!! Bathroom welcomed you on your return to the room with a pungent smell similar to urine. The staff were very nice. Is a pity that the building is not maintained. chooks

Room Tip: Ask for pots and pans so you can cook for yourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChooksBerwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The suitability of this hotel will depend on the type of holiday you’re after. As a family of four, we found the superior room more than adequate, with two bedrooms, a lounge and kitchen/dining area, we never felt cramped. The room was kept clean and the staff were lovely.

If grey towels, slightly threadbare sheets (with the odd hole), only one pillow, blocked shower roses and noisy air-conditioning are going to completely ruin your holiday, then pay the extra and stay elsewhere. The breakfast buffet was very basic, but adequate for us, as we always had eggs and toast. As we look at hotel rooms as just somewhere to sleep, we were not too bothered by any of these things and thought the hotel was amazing value for money.

If you want a very quiet stay, this would be a good choice. There were times we felt we were the only guests there – the pool and restaurant were never crowded. It is also very quiet at night, with no traffic or street noise like there is in Kuta. The flip side of this being the hotel is a fair distance from everything. We went into Kuta every day – it’s a 30-50 minute taxi trip each way (IDR 50,000), so spent a lot of time sitting in taxis! To take the hotel car to the airport is USD$20. You have little chance of flagging down a taxi on the street outside the hotel, so ask reception to call you a Bluebird. The hotel shuttle (air-conditioned 7 seat car) will take you to either Bintang Supermarket or Seminyak Square, and you can negotiate an agreed pick-up from either of these points. If you’re only going to visit Seminyak, then this hotel is well located and cheap.

Directly across the road is a good laundry (IDR 94,000 for 44 items) and the Kunara spa where two kids hair cuts and two 1 hour massages came to IDR 400,000. There’s also a CircleK and Minimart 100 metres up the street.

My boys are 10 and 11 – their feedback is as follows: the food was good (snacks at the pool etc). They were disappointed there were no other kids to play with and while we liked having the pool area to ourselves, they didn’t. They missed the pool games and activities they've enjoyed in other hotels, as well games room amenities such as ping-pong, pool tables etc.

Overall, we were happy with the value for money, standard of accommodation and the friendly and attentive staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very good deal that we bought for 5 nights, loved the buffet style breakfast and afternoon tea. However, the location seems too far from the town and shops, and the shuttle service was need to be booked a day in advance, as well as only drops the guests but not returning to the hotel. The spa was quite small in size but the ladies are good with massage. The room size is just enough for 2 people, but there was plenty of space in the living room and dining/kitchen area.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank miracleyohana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agus S, General Manager at Umalas Hotel and Residence, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Ms Yohana,
Thank you for your valued comments through Trip Advisor. I do really sorry to find that you probably have no clear information from our staff about shuttle services. Actually our service for shuttle service is very flexible. We can pick you up back again from the stopping point at Shopping arcade of Bintang Supermarket and drop you back to the hotel at a time scheduled. Just let us know or consult with our front office desk. Tell us what you want and we will most than happy to assist you.
Thank you for the spa comments and we try to make it better again for the room sizes and services. While for the empty space of the room, we will consult to with hotel's interior design to do something more to make the room better.
Hopefully next time you will return to our hotel, it should be better than last time you stay.
Best regards // Ulatun Nyunda - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.1 mi away
Pandawa All Suite Hotel
Pandawa All Suite Hotel
#18 of 36 in Kerobokan
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Petitenget
Swiss-Belhotel Petitenget
#63 of 148 in Seminyak
445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kokonut Suites
Kokonut Suites
#3 of 36 in Kerobokan
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ibis Styles Bali Petitenget
0.6 mi away
favehotel Umalas
favehotel Umalas
#83 of 148 in Seminyak
702 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alam Bidadari Seminyak
Alam Bidadari Seminyak
#15 of 124 in Seminyak
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umalas Hotel and Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umalas Hotel and Residence

Address: Jl.Umalas II, No 83, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 430 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: $31 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Umalas Hotel and Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umalas Hotel and Residence is a resort located in a peaceful area surrounded by natural legendary rice fields of Kerobokan or within minutes away from up market of Seminyak shopping centre, where famous restaurants, bars and shopping arcade are available. Umalas Hotel and Residence is easily reached by 35 minutes drive away from Ngurah Rai International Airport, while the resort is situated at tranquil yet divertissement area which offers distance of only 5 minutes to the heart of Seminyak, 10 minutes to Kuta beach, 25 minutes to Capital City, Denpasar and 40 minutes to popular Ubud. A 102 spacious rooms complemented by the comfort of luxury amenities await you at Umalas Hotel and Residence where a collection of self indulgence of suites rooms incorporated with greenery environment and busiest street of Kerobokan, Kuta, is the most exciting moments that you will not miss even for a while when in Bali island.Umalas Hotel and Residence offers One Bedroom Suites, Two Bedroom Superior, Two Bedroom Penthouse, Two Bedrooms Deluxe, Three Bedrooms Superior, Three Bedrooms Penthouse, Three Bedroom Deluxe and Luxury penthouse. All those suite rooms are completed with modern facilities and amenities including kitchenette and pantry, spacious living rooms, wide LCD TV at both living rooms and in main bedrooms and safe deposit boxes. Whole unit types are comfortably accommodating those on romantic honeymoon journey, catering to families, and business people with the needs of generous modern living suites. Our facilities will be fulfilling your expectations for a fine dining restaurant and spacious main pool, sauna and hot cold Jacuzzi, spa treatments, completed gym equipment and a scheduled shuttle services that are available for guests to escort them to popular Seminyak shopping arcade centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Umalas Hotel and Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umalas Hotel And Residence Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing