We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Umalas Hotel and Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Umalas Hotel and Residence
Ranked #124 of 410 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I booked my accommodation through one of those group buying deals so received amazing value for my week here. My one bedroom suite was lovely and the staff were super attentive with servicing it daily even when I told them it was fine to leave it as is. As I was on my own, i felt the space was perfect, but if it was a twin share it might feel a bit more cramped but still good. The bed and pillow is pretty firm which may not suit everyone (I slept pretty well the whole time - mattress was fine but I would have preferred a slightly softer pillow)

There are a few little shops nearby (Gusto Gelato, Monsieur Spoon patisserie and more) but the main attractions and cafes/bars are a $2.50 cab away (not really walkable which is the only reason I didn't give 5 stars for location). There is a free shuttle service 3 times daily but it was usually easier just to cab it in and out. It was actually nice to be away from the hustle and bustle but I expected more rice paddies - it has become quite developed on the street where the hotel is, a few of the smaller streets are still quaint with paddies and fields.

Only had one meal at the rooftop restaurant (the snapper fillet in Indonesian spices with rice) and was surprised by how good it was. The breakfast is pretty standard for a hotel but lots of variety (3 sections - continental, hot english style including eggs made to order and hot Indonesian/asian style).

The pool was lovely but the towel counter was almost never manned any time I passed by. Also as it was in the middle of the complex with 4 stories on all sides, it was mostly in shadow for much of the day. It was pretty comfortable and warm in the shade but probably only half the pool and 2 or 3 of the lounges were in the sun so if you are after some sunbaking, it's not really the place for it.

The staff were all unfailing sweet and lovely and always smiling. I think there may have been new ownership as it felt like there were alot of new staff who had only been around between 1-3 months and were still learning. Not that it impacted the much service, just that their English wasn't as fluent as other places I've been and it occasionally felt not quite as clockwork as it could have been.

All round decent place that ticks all the boxes. Nothing that makes it stand out but still pretty decent if you are on a mid-range budget and want to be a little bit away from the centre of the action.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agus S, General Manager at Umalas Hotel and Residence, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Mrs Helen,

Thank you for your review and advices given to our hotel. I am appreciated to your review given us and hopefully in the future there is something that we can do to make you stay even better.
One more thing that our hotel has done some development for soft project in room that include painting the wall, fixing some problems with water pipes and grow plantations on some walls to make the hotel look beautiful and green.
Look forward welcoming you back to Umalas Hotel and Residence Seminyak.
Best regards,// Ulatun Nyunda (Mr) - General Manager at the account of E-commerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    113
    49
    22
    9
See reviews for
80
49
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockingham, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

All in all this was a decent place to stay and if you're looking for a good value hotel in the area it's a good choice.
Pros- our room was nice (lower floor) recently remodelled and clean, the staff were lovely, particularly our transfer driver who had great advice about where to visit in Bali and was very friendly, the poolside snacks and breakfast were nice, pool and gardens were lovely and the drinks menu was vast and fairly cheap.
Cons- my parents who travelled with us got a room that had not been remodelled (3 rd floor I think) and it wasn't great, you also had to walk quite far and through some construction to get there. The location is quite out of the way which could be a good thing but not so if you like to be able to walk into town from your hotel, and the pass keys for the room doors didn't work very well.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agus S, General Manager at Umalas Hotel and Residence, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Ms Samantha,
Firstly I would like to say thank you for your feedback for your parents who got a room that had not remodelled yet but when you were here, we were underwent some development and soft project inside of the rooms in the hotel to make the it a better place to stay.
Repainting rooms, renovated some ceiling that leaking and also fixing on water pipe were probably not all hotels were doing that but we have commitment of doing this at our hotel that continuously done and just finished in this middle of May 2013.
Our hotel probably at the outskirts of Seminyak, however as you may have seen on the website, we offer our guests a relaxing place for holiday and the distance to the Seminyak center is only 5 minutes away. I don't think that quite far for you to take a taxi there that cost you spend just around US$ 5/one way. Or you can take our shuttle services that scheduled made for 3 times on daily basis, 10 am, 1 pm and 5 pm.
I would like to encourage you to take again your time to holiday to our hotel and see for yourself the different at that time then.
Looking forward of welcoming you back to Umalas Hotel and Residence.

Thank you and best regards // Ulatun Nyunda (Mr.) - General Manager and using e commerce account..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Cousin and I stayed at the Umalas for seven nights and eight days. I had just come out from a hospital stay and needed to 'do as much or as little as needed'. The Umalas certainly provided that opportunity. Set in a quiet neighbourhood with a short taxi ride to Seminyak and Legian Beach providing the 'much as needed' with the relaxation of the Umalas pool and spa the 'little as needed'. The excellent staff in all areas made us feel as though we were staying with acquaintances who were soon to be firm friends. A wonderful lift of the spirits to someone just out of hospital, such as myself. Breakfast was excellent, with enough variety to encourage one to try different breakfast styles from other countries. One boon, which lifted the Umalas rating, was that on our last day spent shopping and at Legian Beach, the Umalas provided excellent shower facilities which enabled us to freshen ourselves up before transferring to the Airport for a late flight home. It just the type of thoughtfulness needed to cap off an enjoyable stay!!

Room Tip: My cousin and I shared a bed so wide that it was no different to having the sleep privacy of a twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Wife & I stayed at the Umalas hotel & Residence for a week. Our stay was excellent, as was our apartment. We would holiday here again.
All hotel staff was helpful, polite & welcoming.
We only used the restaurant for breakfast, snacks & coffee. Breakfast was satisfactory with several choices clearly signed what was in them, IE; pork, beef or fish, etc. The restaurant staffs & trainees are attentive and provide a respectable service.
After a day drip or evening out shopping, we found that with the Restaurant staying open till 10:30 pm was a plus for us as we usually late back. The snacks were taste & the prices were good. Late coffee was excellent with a chocolate coated cimamen stick, mmmm. A great view.
The hotel has a shuttle bus to Seminyak square, Bin tang shops or where ever leaving at 10am, 2 & 5pm or you can catch a cab for 30K,s is about the going rate to the above bit more to Kuta. Cabs always going pasted outside main gate, everyone is a cab. Traffic won’t go there as it’s nothing to do with the hotel, but it’s an experience just a small tip, close your eyes.
The pool is well maintained, clean towels & heaps of deckchairs.
The Day Spa & massage was excellent.
The wifi was weak & lacking at times, but I think it’s a provider (Bali) thing.
Laundry services are just across the road is cheap & they do a decent job. There are 2 shops not far from the main gate that sell anything you may need. 1 too your left up the hill (K-mart) & 1 straight ahead (better choices in this shop).
There is a little restaurant straight head going towards Seminyak, (4-5 hundred mtrs), name? But have an orange sign out front, good value & food taste all right too.
The only thing I would suggest is that non see-through curtains on the pool side doors.
This hotel was located in a good spot for us.
We enjoyed our stay there and would come again.

Room Tip: coffee at the roof top resturant with cimamen stick coated with chocolate is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at the Umalas and will be staying again in May.
Had a package that included transfers, some meals, and snacks.
Overall it was Very good value - The Staff were always attentive and friendly.
The location is quite a way out from everything but taxis are so cheap it dosent really matter- and they do provide some sort of shuttle into seminyak - we opted to just spend the 3 or 5 dollars to get a cab.
The rooms were clean and nice - but our room was probaly the furtherest room in the whole hotel so it was a bit of a walk.
It just had a few strange things like , a bedside table only on one side of the bed?
And the shower was terrible - it was a hand shower mounted on the wall in a bath , the bath you had to step into as it was quite high which if you are of average height the shower stream hit you directly in the neck - we had a good giggle about this but it was just strange.
the couple we went with had the same deal - and their room was perfect - normal shower etc - so we obviuosly got the weird room.
Other than that - lovely pool , food and staff

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy&suey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

If you want to get away from Kuta area and yet still be close enough to Seminyak, Petit Tenget and Canggu the this is a good place to stay.

I'd definitely stay again. I had hired a car and ample parking on site was a plus.

The best things: the staff are very friendly, the breakfast is good and the view from the rooftop one of the best in the area. The pool is great and when I was there never crowded.

On a good day its probably 30 minutes from the airport maybe an hour when traffic is horrible on Sunset Road. But well worth the extra travel in my opinion to be in a more peaceful and tranquil area than Kuta/Legian and much cheaper than Seminyak.

There are lots of good quality warungs, restaurants and cafes close by and its about a rp 20,000 taxi fare to seminyak/seminyak beach.

I stayed in a single room apartment and the rooms are well laid out good size. Bed is comfortable. The rooms are very quiet. Bathrooms are a good size but starting too look a bit tired.

The hotel is starting to look a bit tired esp. since its only about 3-4 years old but still in good condition. I rate the rooms about the equivalent or 3.5 stars.

I booked mine on a 3night special via WOTIF and it was about USD$60 per night including breakfast which is absolute value for a hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

just came back for 4d3n stay at this hotel. Room super good, food delicious, friendly staff and environment very relaxing. quite sad since dont have much time to redeem my complimentary spa. although not walking distance to any shopping area, but the shuttle service to seminyak shopping is enough. highly recommend to couple and family!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank syidadida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.1 mi away
Pandawa All Suite Hotel
Pandawa All Suite Hotel
#16 of 34 in Kerobokan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.6 mi away
favehotel Umalas
favehotel Umalas
#81 of 141 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kokonut Suites
Kokonut Suites
#2 of 34 in Kerobokan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Petitenget
Swiss-Belhotel Petitenget
#58 of 141 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tijili Seminyak
Tijili Seminyak
#41 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Adma Umalas
The Adma Umalas
#10 of 34 in Kerobokan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umalas Hotel and Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umalas Hotel and Residence

Property: Umalas Hotel and Residence
Address: Jl.Umalas II, No 83, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 410 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Umalas Hotel and Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umalas Hotel and Residence is a resort located in a peaceful area surrounded by natural legendary rice fields of Kerobokan or within minutes away from up market of Seminyak shopping centre, where famous restaurants, bars and shopping arcade are available. Umalas Hotel and Residence is easily reached by 35 minutes drive away from Ngurah Rai International Airport, while the resort is situated at tranquil yet divertissement area which offers distance of only 5 minutes to the heart of Seminyak, 10 minutes to Kuta beach, 25 minutes to Capital City, Denpasar and 40 minutes to popular Ubud. A 102 spacious rooms complemented by the comfort of luxury amenities await you at Umalas Hotel and Residence where a collection of self indulgence of suites rooms incorporated with greenery environment and busiest street of Kerobokan, Kuta, is the most exciting moments that you will not miss even for a while when in Bali island.Umalas Hotel and Residence offers One Bedroom Suites, Two Bedroom Superior, Two Bedroom Penthouse, Two Bedrooms Deluxe, Three Bedrooms Superior, Three Bedrooms Penthouse, Three Bedroom Deluxe and Luxury penthouse. All those suite rooms are completed with modern facilities and amenities including kitchenette and pantry, spacious living rooms, wide LCD TV at both living rooms and in main bedrooms and safe deposit boxes. Whole unit types are comfortably accommodating those on romantic honeymoon journey, catering to families, and business people with the needs of generous modern living suites. Our facilities will be fulfilling your expectations for a fine dining restaurant and spacious main pool, sauna and hot cold Jacuzzi, spa treatments, completed gym equipment and a scheduled shuttle services that are available for guests to escort them to popular Seminyak shopping arcade centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Umalas Hotel and Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umalas Hotel And Residence Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing