We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't stay here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Umalas Hotel and Residence
Ranked #132 of 426 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Compare to other places we stayed at in Bali this is by far under standard. We requested a room change due to our bathroom smelling like sewage! The room change was better but at times the bathroom had a distinct odour. The service was not as good as other places nor was the food! It is a fair way out of main Seminyak.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Che J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agus S, General Manager at Umalas Hotel and Residence, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Che J,

Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor. I do sorry to know that you have a bad experience when staying with our resort. We have relocated your room and upgraded it to a better one but it seemed that you are still experience that one. Though that we expect you to tell us about it however until you have checked out, we haven't been received any complain from you.

We will start to review of our rooms again as this cannot be tolerated with us and we are reassuring you that this will not be happening again in the future. We are currently conduct on check to all sewerages inside the room area and expect this would done within this month.

I thank you for your valued comment as it will develop our hotel become even better in the future.

best regards, Ulatun Nyunda (Mr) General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 262 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here for three nights in Dec 2012. It's a lovely hotel located in a quiet location - the staff are friendly and attentive. The food is good. The security is good - all vehicles entering the compound are checked and that's reassuring. It's not too far to shopping centres.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank siowchuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Lovely hotel, first room we were given was clean but needed redecorating in the bathroom. Asked to change, no problem , given room on 3rd floor overlooking pool which was great,at no extra charge. Recommend upgrading if you can afford to deluxe/superior rooms.Arrived late xmas day due to delayed flight and traffic to hotel, was planning to eat out but too tired so ate in rooftop restaurant at hotel, fabulous, delicious and freshly made. Breakfasts were great too, hot and cold food on offer with eggs freshly done to your liking. Shuttle bus to Seminyak available, make sure you book day before, friendly staff. Quiet location, 10 mins in taxi to town centre, 1/2 hr to Kuta, traffic so busy no matter what time of day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OllieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

If you want to kick back relax and have a quiet time but at the same time be close to kuta (that's where the party's at) then its the perfect hotel. You can chose to stay in the hustle bustle the entire day and then come back to tis quiet hotel in the very upmarket seminyak. Commuting without a car/bike can be quiet annoying and comparatively expensive.

day trips are easy to make from this location. the hotel is located down a street just off the main road. the travel desk of the hotel was very helpful in organizing everything. the food here is amazing. our breakfast was included but the dinner menu is limited but reasonable for the quality they serve. the rooftop restaurant is very nice. at the time we were there we had the rooftop to ourselves. the rooftop restaurant shares the same sunset as that of the much famed la lucciola beach.

we had a great stay. the hotel staff was very friendly and the service was .. well for the money they charged .. satisfactory. more you save on the hotel the more you can spare at kuta drinking. :)

hope this post helps :) cheers !

Room Tip: one bedroom suite... worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kk506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed at the Umalas 3 days 2 nights, The 2 bedroom deluxe is very spacious, have a living room - kitchen. The staff are excellent. However, the towels are in desperate need of replacement. It's very old and worn out. Located in the Umalas area which is near by the hot spot area for restaurant, cafe, bakery and bar.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mabrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Umalas for 4 nights. The 3 bedroom superior is very spacious. The rooms are cleaned daily. The staff are excellent.
However, the towels are in desperate need of replacement. It's very old and worn out. Looks rather dirty. The wifi is only limited to 3 hours. Very troublesome to go to the front desk to take new password once the old one expired.
The breakfast can get real boring after 4 days. As there is no restaurants nearby, have to order in. The choice of food is very limited.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErnyEryanty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had a 2 bedroom apartment on the ground floor facing the pool. It was clean and spacious for my family of 5. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It has a kitchen for light cooking but no cooking utensils though and only 2 plates. As we had our own travelling cooker, we had no problems. There is a market, ice cream parlour and several mini marts surrounding the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dahliayusof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.1 mi away
Pandawa All Suite Hotel
Pandawa All Suite Hotel
#18 of 36 in Kerobokan
156 reviews
0.6 mi away
favehotel Umalas
favehotel Umalas
#83 of 148 in Seminyak
697 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harris Hotel Seminyak
Harris Hotel Seminyak
#110 of 148 in Seminyak
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ibis Styles Bali Petitenget
0.2 mi away
The Adma Umalas
The Adma Umalas
#13 of 36 in Kerobokan
115 reviews
2.2 mi away
M Suite
M Suite
#32 of 426 in Seminyak
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umalas Hotel and Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umalas Hotel and Residence

Address: Jl.Umalas II, No 83, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 426 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: $32 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Umalas Hotel and Residence 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umalas Hotel and Residence is a resort located in a peaceful area surrounded by natural legendary rice fields of Kerobokan or within minutes away from up market of Seminyak shopping centre, where famous restaurants, bars and shopping arcade are available. Umalas Hotel and Residence is easily reached by 35 minutes drive away from Ngurah Rai International Airport, while the resort is situated at tranquil yet divertissement area which offers distance of only 5 minutes to the heart of Seminyak, 10 minutes to Kuta beach, 25 minutes to Capital City, Denpasar and 40 minutes to popular Ubud. A 102 spacious rooms complemented by the comfort of luxury amenities await you at Umalas Hotel and Residence where a collection of self indulgence of suites rooms incorporated with greenery environment and busiest street of Kerobokan, Kuta, is the most exciting moments that you will not miss even for a while when in Bali island.Umalas Hotel and Residence offers One Bedroom Suites, Two Bedroom Superior, Two Bedroom Penthouse, Two Bedrooms Deluxe, Three Bedrooms Superior, Three Bedrooms Penthouse, Three Bedroom Deluxe and Luxury penthouse. All those suite rooms are completed with modern facilities and amenities including kitchenette and pantry, spacious living rooms, wide LCD TV at both living rooms and in main bedrooms and safe deposit boxes. Whole unit types are comfortably accommodating those on romantic honeymoon journey, catering to families, and business people with the needs of generous modern living suites. Our facilities will be fulfilling your expectations for a fine dining restaurant and spacious main pool, sauna and hot cold Jacuzzi, spa treatments, completed gym equipment and a scheduled shuttle services that are available for guests to escort them to popular Seminyak shopping arcade centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Umalas Hotel and Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umalas Hotel And Residence Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing