We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taxi or Van?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocoon Restaurant Bar Beach Club

Cocoon Restaurant Bar Beach Club
Ranked #75 of 501 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $60
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar, Mediterranean, European, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Inspired by the idyllic surroundings of the famous Bali beaches and combined with Mediterranean flair, Cocoon offers a variety of dining options, pool side lounging, and a relaxed ambience. Whilst laying back on your personal daybed by our stunning pool, sipping on a perfectly blended Daquiri or Margarita, you can also indulge in our pool side grazing menu, offering a large range of delectable tapas dishes. Catering for Brunch, Lunch and Dinner in three distinct dining areas, Cocoon's menu's deliver a truly international cuisine with dishes fusing the best of Asian and modern European flavours and produce. Our menus are complemented with a wine list sourced globally plus a list of sublime cocktails. Whether it be brunch over looking the pool or a lazy long lunch or dinner under the stars there is a dining option to suit everyone. Our team of resident DJ's playing from midday till midnight every day guarantee great tunes for a relaxed afternoon poolside, sunset drinks and and gorgeous dinner ambience. While regular monthly day parties such as SPLASH and BOUNCE featuring international dj's take place from March through till October attracting large crowds of party goers from all over the world. Daily from 4pm to 7pm Cocoon's happy hour is a must with a selection of 2 for 1 cocktails and beers and complimentary canapés. Set on 3000 square meters of stunning beach side gardens, Cocoon Beach Club hosts a two levels of restaurant space, with the second floor being fully air conditioned and dedicated to year round weddings, private functions and corporate events. With a team of event planners on hand to ensure every element of your special day or evening runs smoothly and is beautifully delivered, plus an extensive array of food and beverage packages on offer.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Taxi or Van?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

Visited this place 7 March for a few drinks. Staff very attentive and kudos to their service. Nice fit out and decor thou be prepared to pay as prices are on the high-end but i guess expected with their fittings etc.. Regarding someone's post on 7 Dec with the transportation. As we left and walked out to the foyer, the doorman asked us if we wanted taxi or private and I specifically asked for a taxi. This was when he signal a parked vehicle and thinking this was the taxi we got in only to be told and shown a piece of paper that it would cost us approx. 3.5 times what I would have paid for my trip there and I was told it was set by the premises.Complete rip off as we only stayed at Padma but we went along anyway as it was raining. Just be careful when you request transport - if you requested a taxi and it doesnt look like a taxi and you dont want to pay inflated prices - dont get in!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morgana_reid, Public Relations Manager at Cocoon Restaurant Bar Beach Club, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Cocoon Beach Club.

Our transport system policy is that we have a group of private hire cars, which are not owned by or have any financial partnership to Cocoon but are run by our local Banjar ( Shire or Council) and we offer this service to our customers while allowing local men in our community to earn a basic wage, the prices are certainly not set by Cocoon Beach Club. We have scheduled a meeting with our local Banjar to resolve this issue so please be assured we are taking on board your feedback.
We also offer a metered Taxi service but there is often a wait for one to arrive. We have been reticent to hail taxis from the street as we cannot guarantee their cleanliness, safety, or if they offer a meter fare.
All our staff have been spoken to and briefed again to offer both options to all Cocoon guests and we apologise if you were not given both the option of a calling a metered taxi or going by private car.
Again thank you for your review and constructive criticism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    834
    467
    171
    62
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"Location, Service, Style and Cool"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

I was recently in Bali to celabrate my wife's birthday at a villa we had not ar from Cocoon!

I decide to get into contact with the manger Anthony Bevilacqua to see if we could arrange for our friends and ourselves to have access to his establishment later that night as an after party venue!

Anthony was very accomadating and arranged for all of us to have a special VIP area for us on arrival (WOW)

I decided to go down to Cocoon earlier in the afteernoon for couple of coldies at the bar with a few mates so introduced myself to the staff who knew who I was because Anthony had alresdy mentioned to ALL of his staff that I was coming there later that night.

The staff were absolutly amazing and made me feel extremely welcome and very special. Thank you

Later that night after the birthday party when most of our guest were keen to venture out we headed to Cocoon where we were great in style and and again the staff and service was outstanding.

Anthony, please personally congradulate yourself and your staff on their skills and your managment ability it was a plearsure to be at Cocoon a five (*****) star rating from me.

Strongly recommed you vist Cocoon, the Ocean view, Private swimming pool, ambiance, facilities and Location are all excellent.

Gary Dye
PERTH
Western Australia

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary010859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morgana_reid, Public Relations Manager at Cocoon Restaurant Bar Beach Club, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Thanks Gary for posting such a great review.
It was our pleasure to have you and your guests here with us.
We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't Go Past Cocoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

Having spent many a night over the years indulging in the fine dining available in Seminyak the decision of where to have my 40th was not an easy one. With 13 friends flying in from Australia for the occasion, the pressure was on. Fortunately, the quality on offer is high with La Lucciola, SIP, Metis, and Living room to name but a few. I needed somewhere that had an edge, was reliable and would pleasantly surprise a large group of bon vivants.
Enter Cocoon and General Manager Anthony. The attention to detail, the quality of the food and service, a wine list for all budgets and tastes, the entire experience exceeded my expectations. Everyone raved about the Fire and Dance Performance which lifted the tempo, drew a large crowd ,adding to the excitement. Thank you to the entire team. Apparently we have rasied the bar and with many more 40ths on the horizon, 2011 is going to be a cracker !!!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank screamnname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morgana_reid, Public Relations Manager at Cocoon Restaurant Bar Beach Club, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to post your review.
We are so pleased you and your guests enjoyed celebrating your birthday at Cocoon.
We loved having you here.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not bad.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

Really beautiful looking beach club. Staff are amazing! Food, I must admit we only had a little bit of grazing food, but it was average. We arrived apx 5 and stayed until 9pm, watched the sun go down with a bottle of verve. The drinks were well price 1,900,000 for the verve, which I know is twice the price, but I have seen it more expensive here in seminyak. Overall, I'd say give cocoon a go for sure, if only to meet the lovely staff! Xxx

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JWandSQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful venue but just didn't make it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

Cocoon is a stunning new establishment located on the border of Legian and Seminyak. The venue tries to achieve the Ku De Ta setting, but fails. The food is lovely with a slight seafood focus and drinks are made to perfection.

For fine dining (with a fine dining price) Cocoon still has a lot to do. With other established venues in Bali (Potato Head, Ku De Ta etc) Cocoon should choose more variety within the menu.

All in all we had a lovely evening, contributing to our fulfilling Bali holiday.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ktn33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morgana_reid, Public Relations Manager at Cocoon Restaurant Bar Beach Club, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Cocoon.
Your comment regarding variety on our dinner menu has been passed on to our Executive Chef and will most certainly be taken on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocoon Restaurant Bar Beach Club also viewed

 

Been to Cocoon Restaurant Bar Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing