We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, not completly worth it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cocoon Restaurant Bar Beach Club

Cocoon Restaurant Bar Beach Club
Ranked #74 of 501 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $60
Cuisines: Italian, American, Bar, Mediterranean, European, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Inspired by the idyllic surroundings of the famous Bali beaches and combined with Mediterranean flair, Cocoon offers a variety of dining options, pool side lounging, and a relaxed ambience. Whilst laying back on your personal daybed by our stunning pool, sipping on a perfectly blended Daquiri or Margarita, you can also indulge in our pool side grazing menu, offering a large range of delectable tapas dishes. Catering for Brunch, Lunch and Dinner in three distinct dining areas, Cocoon's menu's deliver a truly international cuisine with dishes fusing the best of Asian and modern European flavours and produce. Our menus are complemented with a wine list sourced globally plus a list of sublime cocktails. Whether it be brunch over looking the pool or a lazy long lunch or dinner under the stars there is a dining option to suit everyone. Our team of resident DJ's playing from midday till midnight every day guarantee great tunes for a relaxed afternoon poolside, sunset drinks and and gorgeous dinner ambience. While regular monthly day parties such as SPLASH and BOUNCE featuring international dj's take place from March through till October attracting large crowds of party goers from all over the world. Daily from 4pm to 7pm Cocoon's happy hour is a must with a selection of 2 for 1 cocktails and beers and complimentary canapés. Set on 3000 square meters of stunning beach side gardens, Cocoon Beach Club hosts a two levels of restaurant space, with the second floor being fully air conditioned and dedicated to year round weddings, private functions and corporate events. With a team of event planners on hand to ensure every element of your special day or evening runs smoothly and is beautifully delivered, plus an extensive array of food and beverage packages on offer.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food, not completly worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Me and my girlfriend had a romantic dinner here. The price is set, and you can order your choice from a 3 course menu, and drink whatever you want from a limited drinking menu for 2 hours. Payed 350 us dollars for 2 people. My experience is that the food and value for money is much better at Gado Gado ( just 300 meters away) , and the atmosphere here isnt that European. Great service and good food, But costs twice as much as Gado Gado, and therefore 4/5.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fredrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morgana_reid, Public Relations Manager at Cocoon Restaurant Bar Beach Club, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for the review Fredrik,
We are sorry to hear you didn't get value for money for your romantic dinner package.
Our a la carte menu is less expensive option and price wise in the same bracket as Gado Gado.
However the romantic dinner package includes a private dining experience on our roof terrace and flowers which obviously costs a little extra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    834
    468
    171
    62
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The prices in this place are ridiculously high when you compare it with other places in Bali. In fact this wouldn’t even bother me if there was a good reason to. The location from the restaurant has nothing special it is situated next to a street, and has not even a good sea view.
The food is good, but not special, so is the service. My gin tonic tasted poor, and I asked to change it. It tasted poor again, so I just drunk it. We got our starter when our Cocktail wasn’t even finished. After the starter, they asked us immediately if they could bring the main course…
When we got the starter, our wine was also not ready. The bread with the starter tasted poor, I think it was warmed in the micro wave. The wine tasted average, which is normal in Bali, I believe that, to have a good wine in Bali, you have to pay more than 1000 K ( but I expected it better for 500 K ). The starter itself tasted good, the main corse & dessert also. None of them tasted that good to justify the high prices.

What I did appreciate about the service, was that they took back my gin tonic immediately, without complaining and that I was allowed to order just one glass of dessert wine (which is normally only sold per bottle.)

For the price we paid, you can go eat two times in a much more beautiful locations with the same service level and with the same or even better food quality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morgana_reid, Public Relations Manager at Cocoon Restaurant Bar Beach Club, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are sorry to read of your disappointment on your visit to Cocoon.
Cocoon endeavours to keep our price point comparable to other venues on the island that offer a similar level of service, menu and staff attention and surroundings, but we are not comparable price wise to local warungs or cafe's.
Wine incurs huge taxes in Indonesia which is beyond our control.
I will pass on to our chef the issue with your bread and our floor manager of timing issues with your meal and drinks not co-ordinating with your drinks.
We are glad you enjoyed your starter, main and dessert, many of our ingredients are imported which obviously incurs a extra cost.
Thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We went there for dinner last night, unfortunately by the time we got there we missed the sunset and the happy hour.
But we were so impressed from the moment we walked in by the service to food! Great food, but the drinks were a bit over priced!! For the 2 of us we spent $130 with a jug of sugria and 2 course meal. Well worth it.
Would definitely come back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GayaS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morgana_reid, Public Relations Manager at Cocoon Restaurant Bar Beach Club, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your dinner here at Cocoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombok, Indonesia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Place, Great Food and Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a great place and I like everything about it.
The new menu is great and balanced and I particularly like the
create your own salad option at lunch.
Considering the high standard of service and the excellent food
coming out of the kitchen, I am surprised by the reviews complaining
about the price and saying it is overpriced. COME ON. US$10 to US$15
for a great main course in a lovely restaurant with great service is good value for money!
This is not a simple warung serving nasi goreng - It is upscale and worth it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DARoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morgana_reid, Public Relations Manager at Cocoon Restaurant Bar Beach Club, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the review.
great to hear such good feedback.. we are loving the new create your own salad option as well.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Bali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ooh la la..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We couldnt resist walking past this gorgeous venue early evening for sunset. Enjoyed 2 for 1 cocktails on king size daybed with our feet at pool edge.. Overlooks seminyak beach.. great music.. We went back agn couple days later for happy hour cocktails at 3pm and they provide free canapes.. We didnt realise until we left and enquired that this place is not a hotel.accom so if u r havn a drink or dining there u joy the use of the pool..as there are no house guests.. Family friendly too..

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cherylj2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morgana_reid, Public Relations Manager at Cocoon Restaurant Bar Beach Club, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thanks Cheryl for leaving a review.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed Cocoon and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocoon Restaurant Bar Beach Club also viewed

 

Been to Cocoon Restaurant Bar Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing