We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, one minor negative”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #29 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The location is perfect, on the beach, walking distance to both the centre of Seminyak & in the other direction from the hotel towards Kerobokan & even better restaurants.

Rooms were fantastic, although if we hadnt got the free upgrade from garden to ocean room I'm not sure we'd have felt so positive.

Rooms huge, excellent facilities - free ample bottled water, fruit, Wi fi & I pod docking station, not to mention the rainfall shower & roll top bath. Huge, extremely comfortable bed with much needed powerful air con.

The infinity pool was cool, not quite as cold as needed on some humid days, but the twice daily fruit kebabs, attention of the towel/pool attendant & fruit juice shots made up for the lack of a bracing dip (all complimentary, I've never known a hotel be so generous ). Views of the beach & surfers, not to mention the amazing sunsets meant the time passed far too quickly. The complimentary cocktail night on Thursday was another unexpected treat, again with that spectacular view.

Breakfast was high quality, the staff were lovely & for once real bean to cup coffee - a rarity for a hotel. Choice was ample, freshly prepared with everywhere absolutely spotlessly clean.

Hotel grounds were lush & tropical. It was very quiet when we went so sun beds available all day long & lots (and lots) of staff available at all times.

Here comes the one minor negative. Prices charged.

The hotel itself was reasonable, the cost of drinks, food & eg spa treatments or transport was not. It is not an exaggeration to say prices were 4 times that of high end establishments straight outside the hotel front door. (Including other top end venues, eg ku de Ta immediately next door).

This did not affect our enjoyment of the hotel & infact we'd return tomorrow, that's how minor we consider it. It is worth bearing in mind, especially if you plan to dine in the hotel as the options within the locality are extremely wide ranging & embarrassingly good value.

We had the most amazing 1 1/2 hr massage at 'jari menari' & 1 hr facial at bodyworks. These were two of the more expensive spas yet cost us the equivalent of say a pedicure in the uk, for both. Quite unbelievable.

We also hired a driver for the day via assistance from the security guard outside the hotel. Again the cost was embarrassingly low, immaculate vehicle, air con, perfect English & we spent 8 hours touring Ubud, Tanah Lot, rice terraces & all the surrounding places of interest. It was perfectly safe & in our opinion the best way to do a tour - we literally walked out of the hotel and the drivers were called across by the security guys from the parking lot opposite. Sounds risky / dodgy but would whole heartedly recommend.

Seminyak itself was a lovely place - full of spas, restaurants, temples, shops, great coffee and lovely lovely people. Kuta provides a huge contrast next door, just keep driving through and be pleased you opted for seminyak instead.

All in all, cracking hotel, first class accommodation & food, superb location, lovely staff & worth paying that bit extra for.

We went in April which was low season. It rained twice, both times overnight, temperature was perfect, town busy enough - I'd worry just how hectic the hotel & resort become at peak times as there aren't that many sunbeds....

Room Tip: Anything other than garden wing but depending on extra cost risk it and try and negotiate the upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynsey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Lynsey13,


Thank you very much for this lovely review of your recent stay with us

I am delighted to hear of your compliments and trust that you had enjoyed the services and facilities available at the resort. It was certainly a pleasure for our team to have had you with us and to know that we had left you with a most memorable experience.

We have well noted your concerns about the price and will follow up accordingly with related departments for further improvement and rectification.

Looking forward to have you to stay again with us, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for any assistance.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,539 - 1,545 of 2,198 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

Overall, our experience at the Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa was good. Location was fantastic! We were essentially 2 minutes away from Ku De Ta! Room was clean and spacious and staff were very friendly. We stayed for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear JANE S,

We absolutely love your complimentary review and thank you for taking the time to share it here on TripAdvisor.

We are indeed privileged to be located at the heart of Seminyak area. I am glad to hear that you had enjoyed the experience and appreciate your compliments for our team.

We look forward to welcome you back to our resort, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for any assistance.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed at The Seminyak for one luxurious Saturday night in April 2014. Through booking online, we were offered a free upgrade to the Suite Ocean Room which was one of the most beautiful hotel rooms I've stayed in. Very clean, smart and spacious layout, beautiful view over the restaurant rooftops to the ocean, two flatscreen televisions(!), a gorgeous jacuzzi and private balcony. We were blown away!

In the afternoon of the first day we walked south along the beach. After walking past all the other resorts, we knew we had chosen the best. It is one of the only resorts that doesn't have a beachfront full of those horrid red beach umbrellas (i.e. eyesores). So basically, you have a fantastic view of the beach and sea from the pools.

There are two lovely pools (one with a pool bar) and after our swim on the last day, a pool staff member came around offering everyone complimentary fruit kebabs!

I highly recommend dinner at the beachfront Santan Restaurant, which is part of the resort, as it serves delicious food (and as a vegetarian, I was surprised to have so much choice) and has such a great atmosphere.

The buffet breakfast was an incredible with foods from all nations. I'd never thought I'd see sushi, chocolate croissants and a pancake & waffle station all in one spread. One of the best breakfast buffets I've ever seen.

The staff also need a special mention. Everyone was friendly, helpful and obliging.

Such a fantastic stay overall. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Although we were upgraded, so I never got to see the Room Beach Wing, the Suite Ocean Room was just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Tara B,

Thank you for sharing such a glowing review of your stay with us.

We are most delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us, your compliments for our team is very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcome you back to our resort, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for any assistance.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The last 6 nights of our 14-day holiday to Bali we spent in The Seminyak. We had a beach-wing room and enjoyed our stay very much.

Higlights of our stay were the beautiful pool, with fine food and drinks provided by the staff (Love the 'Lost in paradise'-cocktail). A big compliment goes to all the staff who were always very welcoming, kind and happy to make the stay a perfect one. A special compliment I would like to make to the Security staff. Being strict towards the taxi's that brought us back to the hotel (bomb check and booth-check), while in the mean time they were very welcoming to us with genuine big smiles.

Our room was spacious and luxurious. Extra towel change during the day was very much appreciated. One small remark: on arriving we were asked if we wanted an upgrade to a villa. The receptionist would make us a proposition the next morning, but never did. Because we liked our room (and prices are pretty high for our standard) we never got back to the subject ourselves. On the good side: We got a late check-out for free.

The last day we spent at the beautiful pool, feeling in paradise and a bit gloomy at the same time for having to leave Bali.....

Room Tip: Beach side rooms are well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra_voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Petra-vandeberg,

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to share your experience with us.

I am happy to know that you had a most enriching and relaxing experience during your stay, It is also pleasing to learn that you enjoyed the hotel atmosphere and facilities and we are delighted to learn that our team looked after you very well.

We look forward to welcome you back to our resort, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for any assistance.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed at The Seminyak for 9 nights. When we checked in they offered us an upgrade to a suite, however we liked the garden room layout better so decided against paying for the upgrade to ocean view. The room was quiet and clean and comfortable, especially the bed.
The staff are friendly and helpful however the resort standards and systems let the Resort down. House keeping staff never left the same bathroom towels, sometimes we had too much other times not enough, there seemed to be not standard set up for rooms. My pet hate in hotels is when the house keeping staff move personal toiletries as I consider the room my home when I am travelling and that should be respected by cleaning staff.
The pool area is not serviced well and there are no offers of water, cool towels etc as you recieve at the W, Oberoi and Legian Resort. It's the small things that let the Seminyak down but they add up to be big and annoying. We did let the management know and the sent us a bucket of bintang beer (we dont drink beer) but it was nice thought. They also offered a free upgrade to a suite which we declined again until someone checked into the garden room next door to ours. The garden rooms have adjoining doors and you can hear everything from the room next door. So for the last two nights we moved to the ocean suite which was not as nice as the garden room. The veranda is very small in the suite and the bathroom is massive but completely open to the bedroom plus there is this dreadful carving that surrounds the door as you walk in to the room and it is dangerous, serves no purpose and ideal to walk into or bag your head, plus annoying with luggage and for tall people. The road noise is loud and constant from the ocean suits/rooms and there has been no care to sound proof.
There is also dreadful, depressing music that is played throughout the hallways at the resort that sounds like funeral music with the same song on repeat, not ideal for a tropical holiday.
We liked the location of the Seminyak but for the price would go back to the W Retreat, Oberoi or The Legian - we wanted to try it as it's a pretty resort nice gardens. Our tip stay in the garden room as they are quieter if there is an empty room next door.
Friendly, helpful staff but suggest the management go and check out their competition at the W Retreat as they have great service, standards and systems which makes a difference to guest stay. I have worked in hotel management so know where The Seminyak is going wrong.
I don't think we would stay at The Seminyak unless they improved as it lets the Resort down.

Room Tip: Ocean Suits - you can hear the constant traffic from the road Book a Garden Room they have a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weTrave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear weTrave1,

Thank you for taking you time to share your experience with us.

We sincerely apologize for your disappointing experience with us. We are most concerned about your comments and experience with us, which are certainly not in line with our standards, which we try so hard to maintain. We appreciate your constructive comments as we continuously look for ways to improve the resort.

We hope you will grant us another opportunity to extend the true hospitality experience. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should we can be of any assistance.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed @ The Seminyak Beach Resort for a couple of nights and was a ho-hum ok stay! Nothing great at all! The staff very helpful and always smiling and the food was excellent and moderately priced - well it's about that! The rooms are quite spacious and well furnished and maintained, but the fun stops there.

Drawbacks -
1. No play area to keep the kids busy. Resort not meant if you want your kid to play on their own, away from the sea and beach.
2. No provision from hotel for beach umbrellas and chairs on the beach - even though it is a "beach resort" very much "on the beach". I just did not get the logic behind this.
3. The resort has 2 buildings with a public road running in between. There is a USD100 /night/room difference between the main building and the adjacent building - a bit crazy!
4. Secondary building on the road and ground floor rooms not comfortable due to traffic noise.
5. We had AC problem in the room and it took them almost 2 hours to fix it. Honestly they could hardly fix it in the end! :-(

Room Tip: NOTE: This resort has two buildings. So when booking, make sure you are booking rooms in the main bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arindam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Arindam D,

Thank you for sharing your review here on TripAdvisor.

We truly appreciate your kind words concerning our staff and the breakfast, and also value your feedback regarding hotel facilities and services. We have noted all your feedback and will work with the team to improve in various area concerned.

Looking forward to welcome you back to our resort and please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for any assistance.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

It was fantastic, got upgraded to a seaview suite with spa, great view, the pool was fantastic, we were there for the religious day which was very interesting no-one on the beach not even a dog, had a lovely day breakfast late then relaxing pedicure in the spa drinks at sunset, then room service, no noise no lights so peaceful. loved everything about the place, staff are great cannot do enough for you, highly recommend, also not too many children as the pool is nice and deep.

Room Tip: I love a sea view recommend the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Michelle M,

Thank you for taking your precious time to share us your experience.

We are extremely delighted you had a fabulous stay with us and glad that your stay during Nyepi (Silent Day) was enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back in the future and please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for any assistance

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.7 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#18 of 148 in Seminyak
3,568 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 148 in Seminyak
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#11 of 148 in Seminyak
1,734 reviews
0.8 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.3 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#6 of 148 in Seminyak
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Kayu Aya | Seminyak Beach, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#27 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#27 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $173 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seminyak is stylish beachfront resort that represents a new era in Bali's evolving hospitality industry. The property is all about tropical sophistication with a choice of elegantly appointed guest rooms, suites and villas designed to accommodate the needs of today's savvy travelers. Set within a charming landscape that encompasses native greenery, lily ponds and traditional thatched pavilions.The Seminyak is a modern retreat with distinct Balinese touches that provides a welcome escape from the outside world. A signature brand of hospitality together with heartfelt service promises a truly unrivaled experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seminyak Beach Resort And Spa
The Seminyak Beach Hotel Seminyak
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing