We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Resort, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #27 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Resort, Great Location”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at The Seminyak. We arranged airport transfers before we left Sydney and there was someone waiting for us when we arrived. The check in process was quick and we were shown to our lovely room quickly. I had read previous reviews that advised that garden rooms were across the road and therefore we booked a beach side room. The back patio of our room opened up to the resort and a short walk to the pool and beach. The resort was quiet and the grounds were lovely and meticulously maintained by a friendly team of garden workers. I couldn’t hear any traffic noise from our room which has been mentioned in previous reviews. I loved the free wi-fi. Every hotel should provide free wi-fi!
The buffet breakfast was excellent (the earlier you go, the better service you get- after 9am the service was a little patchy because the staff were so busy catering to the rush). We also had room service delivered on a few occasions which was really tasty and we also went to a ‘Sunset BBQ’ dinner at the hotel which was really enjoyable. Great views over the beach with a band for entertainment and really good food. The staff at the dinner were lovely and very helpful and the hotel went to a great effort to decorate the area where the dinner was held- it looked great!
Staff at the front desk were very helpful in making dinner reservations at local restaurants and helping me to book at tour that I wanted to do. The spa was lovely and I enjoyed two massages there- one that finished with a relaxing bath- lovely! The housekeeping staff were great too. Leaving ‘towel animals’ on our bed and also they found money we had lost under a chair and kindly returned it to the bedside with a note to us. The hotel also left a Wedding Anniversary cake in our room which was very much appreciated and enjoyed.
The staff were also great in allowing us to use the showers in the spa area to freshen up before our very late flight. We checked out of our room at 12pm and spent the day at the pool, before using the showers at about 6:30pm before heading out to dinner.
Overall we had a great experience at The Seminyak. The resort is in an excellent location in walking distance to many restaurants and the beach front infinity pool was the highlight. Easy to enjoy the days in the pool, watching everything that is happening on the beach…. You can even buy a sarong or a hat over the edge from the cool comfort of the pool!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,362
    449
    113
    46
    31
See reviews for
291
1,177
86
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

View from my balcony.....busy street which we have to walk down to get breakfast!!! We're not even in the hotel but 100 metres up and across the road (light sleepers beware)The hotel may be 5 star but this annex is only 3 star(and NO beach within sight)
Being driven up the road on the back of a golf buggie was NOT the highlight either.....

Room Tip: Insist on a room in the hotel NOT in the old annex!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuokkaRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I was travelling solo to Bali, and decided to stay at The Seminyak in December 2011. It’d been only opening for six months, said one of the hotel staffs to me, when I asked him, why a taxi driver from a well-known taxi company didn’t know where The Seminyak hotel was. The thing about Bali, you can always count on taxi driver to take you back to your hotel, even if you forget your hotel street name, just mention your hotel name to your taxi driver. Usually it applied to a big hotel, and I was assuming that The Seminyak is already well known.
Anyway, what I love about this hotel, is because it’s located right in the heart of Seminyak, at Kayu Aya Street, there are many upscale boutiques and restaurants along the street. Some are very expensive for local tourist, and some has moderately fair price. The boutiques and the restaurants are just in walking distance from this hotel.
The second I love the most about this hotel is, because they have a huge infinity pools, and they have two. Large and not so large, choose whichever suits you the most. With Seminyak beach lies in front of you, it could have been a beautiful view I’m sure if I didn’t come in December. It was rainy season, and the weather is unpredictable. Storm, rain, and windy, it could drive you up the wall if you are trying to work on your tan.
However, the hotels staffs were very helpful, and very nice, they would practically cater to your needs patiently with smile, and sincerity. They probably remember every guest name, because every time, I chatted up with them or met them the hallway, they know my name, and I only stay for four days.
The third thing I love the most, is their breakfast, and coming from a non breakfast person this is really a good review. I could eat almost everything their chef cooked, they had everything, from salmon to lamb, for breakfast! And for the omelet, it’s probably the best breakfast omelet ever.
There are some little bungalows in their garden for you and your family/friends to chill, waiting for sunset.
The rooms itself has standard décor, typical room you will expect and will get from a hotel if you spend more than US$ 300 per night. It’s very comfortable though, and there was a free wifi in the bedroom, but due to stormy weather, the wifi connection did not work for almost a day, the hotel staff said, it’d been struck by the lightening. And speaking of rainy season, the sound of the rambling thunder had successfully waken me up few times, so I couldn’t fully enjoy their super comfy bed. It’s almost like the thunder happened inside my room, and I could also hear the sound of the wind blowing. Very noisy.
On their website, they say the room I’d booked had ocean view. It didn’t, I can still the sea from my balcony, yes, they have quite spacious balcony, with chairs and table, but I have to turn your head first, because as it turned out the room is in the wing section. The website has the ambiguity meaning regarding their rooms that looking to the ocean.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We initially tried to get in to The Legian next door but were unable to secure 2 rooms as requested. We stayed there last year and found it to be excellent. We have been to Bali many, many times and thought we would try this new hotel as we always stay in the Seminyak area and liked its location on the beach. Although set in beautiful surroundings and equipped with good facilities, this hotel is running like a ship without a Captain. The staff are beautiful, friendly people who try to do the right thing but need more direction than they are given to bring the operation up to 5 star standard. Not once were we offered a drink voluntarily by staff while sitting by the pool, twice there were no pool towels because they had run out and when ordering lunch in the pool restaurant they had to bring us a list of the wines they did have because so many were not in stock. Cold beer by the pool was almost impossible to obtain and the local beer Bintang was not available. All of these things could be corrected very easily and it is a shame that management are not paying a more active role in the hotels operation. At this stage we will not being staying there again as there are better options available in the same price bracket.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillW27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajn25
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at The Seminyak resort and spa and had a fairly good experience. We had booked online after reading some great reviews on trip advisor and were warmly greeted by all the staff on our arrival, given a frangipani lay and a delicious drink. As we were checking in we were informed that our room was across the road as you can imagine as we're less than impressed as there was no mention of their being two parts to the building and for the price we were paying we'd rather stay somewhere else. However, we upgraded our room and all was well. We had a suite and it was amazing! The jacuzzi looking out over the ocean with bifold windows that open for an amazing view was definitely a highlight. The balcony had a fantastic view and the room was very spacious and comfortable. The bed and pillows were so comfortable and the block out curtains meant we could sleep in. The resort is so lovely you want to go out and see it! Its in s great location close to great restaurants, bars and shopping. Only a couple of negative comments on areas that could be improved; the cabanas say that you reserve them and you receive complimentary water, towels and an intercom so you can order food etc. when we asked to book one no one knew how to book them and it was more first in first served (which is fine) when we did get a cabana there was no water no intercom and we had to go searching for towels. The pool bar insists on playing horrible dance and top chart music extremely loud right near all the cabanas where guests were trying to read and relax. When our room was serviced they did not replace any of our water so we could brush our teeth. Also outside the suites there is a traffic attendant who is constantly blowing his whistle so loud you can hear it in the room 3 floors up with the doors closed.  Our checkout was extremely painful and time consuming. All minor things however, when you are paying the big $$ to stay somewhere it's the little things that count. Usually we stay at the Conrad and not much there is ever overlooked. Overall we enjoyed our stay and will be back.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ajn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Western, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in august and really enjoyed it. Our rooms location couldnt have been better, the doors at the back of our room opened right up to the most amazing ocean views, and we were right next to the pool.

The room was luxurious, and the bed super comfy. They also have a pillow menu! There was a great big range of nice complementery bathroom products as well! (also 4 complementery bottels of water daily)

Location of the hotel was great, just a short walk to seminyak square where you will find some of bali's best shopping and not as many hawkers and people hasseling you.. Also up seminyak square there are loads of nice restaurants.

Staff at the hotel were all lovely and helpful. Breakfast was awesome, they have absolutly everything you could ever want for brekkie and more!

The hotel is Right next to ku de ta and not far from potato head. There is also a mini mart accross the road.

Overall a fabulous place to stay and definitley worth the $$&.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chelso83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights. We book an ocean view room but we got an upgrade to a suite. Fanstastic room with a fantastic view. We enjoyed it very much. The staff were so helpful and nice. Unlike what I have read, the breakfast is good. It is a walking distance to the main commercial street in Seminyak. Gym is small but was ok for me. Their website is rubbish and does not show how good is the hotel, the reality is much better.

Room Tip: Take an Ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ramy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.7 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 143 in Seminyak
3,239 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
1,496 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 143 in Seminyak
879 reviews
0.8 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.2 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#9 of 143 in Seminyak
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa

Property: The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Kayu Aya | Seminyak Beach, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#26 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seminyak is stylish beachfront resort that represents a new era in Bali's evolving hospitality industry. The property is all about tropical sophistication with a choice of elegantly appointed guest rooms, suites and villas designed to accommodate the needs of today's savvy travelers. Set within a charming landscape that encompasses native greenery, lily ponds and traditional thatched pavilions.The Seminyak is a modern retreat with distinct Balinese touches that provides a welcome escape from the outside world. A signature brand of hospitality together with heartfelt service promises a truly unrivaled experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seminyak Beach Hotel Seminyak
The Seminyak Beach Resort And Spa
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing