We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Astana Kunti

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Astana Kunti
Ranked #19 of 94 Seminyak B&B and Inns
San Francisco
Level Contributor
135 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Good value for money. We booked the standard room and it was quite spacious. Nice size bathroom. Friendly staff, but food service (breakfast only for us) was quite slow.
Good location on quiet back alley; 10-15 minute walk from busy/happening Seminyak streets - we liked that. Safe walk, or hotel shuttle will take you to places in Seminyak. For locations further taxis are easy enough. Friendly staff.
Comfortable room, clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Kunti, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Caroline D,

Greetings from Astana Kunti Suite Apartment and Villa..

On behalf of management and staff, we would like to thank you for good your comment on TripAdvisor and staying with us during your recent trip to Bali. It was a pleasure and we hope you had memorable stay.

We thank you and appreciate your comments which rest assured are valued contribution to improve our product and standard of service. As time goes by, we look forward to welcoming and serving you again in nearest future. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any inquiries.

Yours sincerely,

Gede Sukanata.
Operational Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    159
    66
    14
    20
See reviews for
56
163
16
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Came to Astana Kunti for 10 days, stayed in a villa for two people. The reception was great and very accommodating to all our needs, always willing to help or give advice. Private pool in villa was wonderful, cleaned regularly and a good size. The bedroom was very comfortable, outside shower and toilet a cool feature too. DVD player often did not work properly. The lounge and kitchen areas were plenty of space for 2 people, but often full of bugs as is an outdoor open area. Breakfast was a big plus ordering off quite a large menu each day and always had plenty of food. Breakfast is delivered to your villa too. The quality of the food overall was very good, but the kitchen closed a bit early at night for us and one night closed 45 mins early. Beer buckets are good though! Easy to get a taxi into Seminyak, reception will call a taxi for you. If you want to go on a full day tour around the island, we recommend hiring one of the transport service drivers the hotel can organise for you. Ask for Made Leo, he was an excellent driver who gave us a wonderful tour of Ubud, the rice fields, coffee plantations and the monkey forest. We very much enjoyed his service and company. The best way to sum up the villa in our eyes, is not to expect ultimate luxury but very comfortable, private and welcoming. Thanks for a great stay Astana Kunti.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Kunti, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Mr. / Ms. Scott G,

Greetings from Astana Kunti Suite Apartment and Villa…

On behalf of management and staff, we would like to thank you for your comments on tripadvisor and staying with us during your recent trip to Bali. It was a pleasure and we happy to hearing you had good memorable stay.

We thank you and appreciate your comments which rest assured are valued contribution to improve our product and standard of service. As time goes by, we look forward to welcoming and serving you again in nearest future. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any enquirers.


Yours sincerely,

Gede Sukanata.
Operational Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

so we stayed here for 3 nights, upon arrival friendly welcoming and first sight of the villa blew us away. Very Clean pool and overall kept to good standards. Choice of breakfast each morning delivered to your villa and the standard of breakfast was very good. Each night housekeeping would light mosquito repellent and spray the room / make up bed that's unless you had a "don't disturb" sign on the door. The villa is very private and you can feel secure. The location itself is not a problem as there is 3 shuttles per day to kuta or seminyak central and to get back only costs about $1USD from seminyak by taxi. the villa has a cooktop, plates etc if you want to cook your own meals and the room service menu is well priced and good quality.

The only downfall which I think should be addressed is the lack of cleaning under the bed and sofa which is noticeable from when you are in the pool, you can tell it has not been cleaned in a while. Also the sofa needs a good steam clean from all the stains accumulated over the years. With these things addressed the villa would be flawless.

The toilet and shower is outdoor but covered which isn't a problem but can get a bit hot during the day and at night you might encounter a few creepy crawlies around the villa but that comes with the environment and to me just added to the atmosphere.

Overall I loved he stay here and would stay here again when I am next in Bali, it is a retreat from the hustle and bustle of Kuta and a very private oasis.

What really set this place apart was the willingness of the staff to go that extra mile to make you feel welcome and address any issues you might have.

All it needs is a little TLC as mentioned above.

If your looking for a very private villa with great breakfast and room service this is the place to be.

Room Tip: All private villas are the same and are private
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arcade_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Kunti, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Mr. / Ms. Arcade_007,

Greetings from Astana Kunti Suite Apartment and Villa…

On behalf of management and staff, we would like to thank you for your comments on tripadvisor and staying with us during your recent trip to Bali. It was a pleasure and we happy to hearing you had good memorable stay.

We thank you and appreciate your comments which rest assured are valued contribution to improve our product and standard of service. As time goes by, we look forward to welcoming and serving you again in nearest future. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any enquirers.


Yours sincerely,

Gede Sukanata.
Operational Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Villa was clean enough although some linen/towels were quite dirty. The pool was clean and it got plenty of sun and was nice and warm. Sadly the staff here were a little rude, dismissive and uninterested. We had to ask a reception staff 4 times to order a taxi for us as he kept refusing and pushing for us to use one of his mates sitting out the front and to bargain a price with him. We ordered breakfast for the next day when we checked in but weren't told that we had to order breakfast every day until we queried the next day why we hadn't received breakfast. Wifi is terribly slow (if you can connect successfully) and then drops out every single time. Bring your own shampoo/conditioner/body wash as whatever is in the shower is not labelled and you don't know what is what. Tiles on either side of the pool are ridiculously slippery when wet and we had to place bath towels down after it had rained to soak up the water. Location of the complex is quite a way out of Seminyak, maybe an AUD3 taxi fare, so definitely not walking distance to any main areas in Seminyak. Definitely won't be staying here again. I could forego everything else but the dismissive and uncaring attitude of the majority of the staff here has turned me off.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeysd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Kunti, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Mr./ Ms. Monkeysd,

Greetings from Astana Kunti Suite Apartment and Villa..

I'm so sorry and apologize for the poor experience, your comments are highly appreciated for our improvement. Usually we priority what the guest want if they go out and we provide free shuttle drop only base on availability but the guest must be order in advance if not we always suggest the guest use taxi or other transport. Shampoo and soap we provide and replace everyday, about the label on the shampoo or soap we will check again should it exist in every place and for the internet we got problem connections from the server provider on that time but now repaired it, how ever thank you for your comment and we'll refresh our quality service to exceed our guest satisfaction.

Thank you.
Best Regards,

Gede Sukanata.
Operational Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Really liked this hotel and the service provided. The hotel is a little out of the way in Seminyak and it is quite a trek to the centre. We used the bus a few times. The rooms are really nice and have a small kitchen available if you would like to self cater. I really liked having breakfast delivered to the room each morning too. I would recommend this hotel for peace and tranquillity and cannot fault our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stewpot1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Kunti, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Stewpot1961,

Greetings from Astana Kunti Suite Apartment and Villa..

On behalf of management and staff, we would like to thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Bali. It was a pleasure and we hope you had memorable stay.

We thank you and appreciate your comments which rest assured are valued contribution to improve our product and standard of service. As time goes by, we look forward to welcoming and serving you again in nearest future. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any inquiries.

Yours sincerely,

Gede Sukanata.
Operational Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Like others, I had read mixed reviews about the Astana Kunti, however I was impressed from the time I emailed reservations to confirm receipt of my Expedia booking. Astana staff were helpful from the outset.
I was able to book an arrival transfer from the airport for a reasonable price. Next time I will book directly with Astana via their website as I believe they offer extras not available via sites such as Expedia.
I stayed in a suite apartment. The room is very large and can comfortably accommodate two people. The bed was large and mostly comfortable, although there seems to be some kind of metal rod in the mattress. This did not ruin my sleep; a change in position fixes it. :)
The bathroom is lovely and again very large with a lovely 'rainwater' shower head, with a hand shower as well if preferred.
The room was cleaned every day and always cleaned well.
The hotel is very quiet and peaceful. The apartments (built around the pool) get some pool noise, but it is not overwhelming. The pool is not gigantic but good for a dip.
Room service is available most of the day and there is a wide choice of menu items. The a la carte breakfast menu was also full of good choices.
As others have said, the restaurant/bar area at the resort is small - it seats about 20 people at once - however if that's not important to you, then it's all good.
The hotel is within walking distance to the main part of Seminyak - not central, ideal if you want peace - however it was far too humid to walk (Bali in monsoon season!). The shuttle was available when I needed it and taxis are available at other times.
All of the Astana staff are so friendly, helpful and obliging. Nothing was too much trouble for them, even calling a tailor to come to the hotel when I needed a piece of clothing mended. They also organised day trips for me to suit the experiences I wanted to have whilst in Bali.
Laundry services are quick and affordable as well.
I'll definitely return here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Kunti, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Mr./ Ms. Mary S,

Greetings from Astana Kunti Suite Apartment and Villa..

On behalf of management and staff, we would like to thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Bali. It was a pleasure and we hope you had memorable stay.

We thank you and appreciate your comments which rest assured are valued contribution to improve our product and standard of service. As time goes by, we look forward to welcoming and serving you again in nearest future. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any enquiries.


Yours sincerely,

Gede Sukanata.
Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the Astana Kunti over the 2013 Christmas and 2014 New Year. Some mixed comments of other reviewers had made us unsure of what to expect but we were absolutely thrilled with this little boutique resort. True if you were looking for 5 star dining , bars and clubs you wouldn't choose here BUT if you wanted a larger than average room, quiet and more than adequate pool area along with some of the best service we've ever had when travelling in Asia this is the place to go. Excellent free shuttle into Seminyak Square and Legian (near Enough to Kuta to walk)makes up for distance from restaurants etc plus taxis are cheap (except for around New Year when price quadruple!) staff were friendly, helpful with advice, courteous, welcoming and always quick to respond to requests or queries. Our daughter (age 25) was staying with friends in nearby Kuta and even stayed with us a few nights so she could enjoy an uninterrupted night's sleep without the "partying" noises of Kuta - she loved it and will book here next time too! Will try for a villa next time ourselves, place is a little older etc but rooms are clean and beds very comfortable, microwave and kitchenette provided capacity to self cater if we wanted. And a great breakfast included! Only thing we'd change might have been a table/chairs in room for meals (it had a desk/table but only one chair) but it wasn't a real problem. Give it a try! No gym was made up for by walking into Seminyak

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Kunti, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Mr./Ms. Heather L,

Greetings from Astana Kunti Suite Apartment and Villa..

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to post your review on trip advisor.
I'm very happy to hear that you have a very pleasant stay with us. And also we happy to hear you will book our villa for the next your holiday in Bali, I will share your good comment to all our staff.

Thank you and we look forward to serving you again at our lovely property.

Best Regards,

Gede Sukanata.
Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.4 mi away
Centra Taum Seminyak Bali
Centra Taum Seminyak Bali
#48 of 138 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 stars 774 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#22 of 138 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Encore Bali Seminyak
Ramada Encore Bali Seminyak
#71 of 138 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
L Hotel Seminyak
L Hotel Seminyak
#38 of 138 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Haven Bali
The Haven Bali
#63 of 138 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 stars 1,447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Seminyak Estate & Spa
Villa Seminyak Estate & Spa
#49 of 138 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 stars 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astana Kunti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astana Kunti

Property: Astana Kunti
Address: Jl. Dewi Saraswati III No. 39, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Astana Kunti 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located down a remote passageway in the sophisticated Seminyak, the upscale and classy part of Bali, partly surrounded by rice paddy field beyond the banana cluster and designed with modern minimalist style and assembled around community pool and tropical landscaped garden of scattered frangipani trees.Astana Kunti Suite Apartment & Villa is a fine-composition of 28 suite apartment and 19 villas that securely located in Seminyak area; where the essence of cosmopolitan style in the full swing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Astana Kunti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astana Kunti Hotel Seminyak
Astana Kunti Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing