We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice comfortable stay”
Review of Astana Kunti

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astana Kunti
Ranked #22 of 107 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable stay”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Really liked this hotel and the service provided. The hotel is a little out of the way in Seminyak and it is quite a trek to the centre. We used the bus a few times. The rooms are really nice and have a small kitchen available if you would like to self cater. I really liked having breakfast delivered to the room each morning too. I would recommend this hotel for peace and tranquillity and cannot fault our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewpot1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Kunti, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Stewpot1961,

Greetings from Astana Kunti Suite Apartment and Villa..

On behalf of management and staff, we would like to thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Bali. It was a pleasure and we hope you had memorable stay.

We thank you and appreciate your comments which rest assured are valued contribution to improve our product and standard of service. As time goes by, we look forward to welcoming and serving you again in nearest future. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any inquiries.

Yours sincerely,

Gede Sukanata.
Operational Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    177
    70
    19
    25
See reviews for
63
189
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Like others, I had read mixed reviews about the Astana Kunti, however I was impressed from the time I emailed reservations to confirm receipt of my Expedia booking. Astana staff were helpful from the outset.
I was able to book an arrival transfer from the airport for a reasonable price. Next time I will book directly with Astana via their website as I believe they offer extras not available via sites such as Expedia.
I stayed in a suite apartment. The room is very large and can comfortably accommodate two people. The bed was large and mostly comfortable, although there seems to be some kind of metal rod in the mattress. This did not ruin my sleep; a change in position fixes it. :)
The bathroom is lovely and again very large with a lovely 'rainwater' shower head, with a hand shower as well if preferred.
The room was cleaned every day and always cleaned well.
The hotel is very quiet and peaceful. The apartments (built around the pool) get some pool noise, but it is not overwhelming. The pool is not gigantic but good for a dip.
Room service is available most of the day and there is a wide choice of menu items. The a la carte breakfast menu was also full of good choices.
As others have said, the restaurant/bar area at the resort is small - it seats about 20 people at once - however if that's not important to you, then it's all good.
The hotel is within walking distance to the main part of Seminyak - not central, ideal if you want peace - however it was far too humid to walk (Bali in monsoon season!). The shuttle was available when I needed it and taxis are available at other times.
All of the Astana staff are so friendly, helpful and obliging. Nothing was too much trouble for them, even calling a tailor to come to the hotel when I needed a piece of clothing mended. They also organised day trips for me to suit the experiences I wanted to have whilst in Bali.
Laundry services are quick and affordable as well.
I'll definitely return here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Kunti, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Mr./ Ms. Mary S,

Greetings from Astana Kunti Suite Apartment and Villa..

On behalf of management and staff, we would like to thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Bali. It was a pleasure and we hope you had memorable stay.

We thank you and appreciate your comments which rest assured are valued contribution to improve our product and standard of service. As time goes by, we look forward to welcoming and serving you again in nearest future. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any enquiries.


Yours sincerely,

Gede Sukanata.
Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at the Astana Kunti over the 2013 Christmas and 2014 New Year. Some mixed comments of other reviewers had made us unsure of what to expect but we were absolutely thrilled with this little boutique resort. True if you were looking for 5 star dining , bars and clubs you wouldn't choose here BUT if you wanted a larger than average room, quiet and more than adequate pool area along with some of the best service we've ever had when travelling in Asia this is the place to go. Excellent free shuttle into Seminyak Square and Legian (near Enough to Kuta to walk)makes up for distance from restaurants etc plus taxis are cheap (except for around New Year when price quadruple!) staff were friendly, helpful with advice, courteous, welcoming and always quick to respond to requests or queries. Our daughter (age 25) was staying with friends in nearby Kuta and even stayed with us a few nights so she could enjoy an uninterrupted night's sleep without the "partying" noises of Kuta - she loved it and will book here next time too! Will try for a villa next time ourselves, place is a little older etc but rooms are clean and beds very comfortable, microwave and kitchenette provided capacity to self cater if we wanted. And a great breakfast included! Only thing we'd change might have been a table/chairs in room for meals (it had a desk/table but only one chair) but it wasn't a real problem. Give it a try! No gym was made up for by walking into Seminyak

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Kunti, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Mr./Ms. Heather L,

Greetings from Astana Kunti Suite Apartment and Villa..

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to post your review on trip advisor.
I'm very happy to hear that you have a very pleasant stay with us. And also we happy to hear you will book our villa for the next your holiday in Bali, I will share your good comment to all our staff.

Thank you and we look forward to serving you again at our lovely property.

Best Regards,

Gede Sukanata.
Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked a two bedroom apartment. We were a bit hesitant about this having read other reviews about the pool size, however the pool was fine. The staff went out of their way to help. We used the shuttle many times and this never seem to be an issue.
The hotel is a bit out of the way but taxis are so cheap.
The rooms were clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was normally on time, give or take a few minutes and was lovely.
We would defiantly recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lidfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Kunti, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Lidfam,

Greetings from Astana Kunti Suite Apartment and Villa..

Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay at Astana Kunti .

I was very pleased to hear the details of your comments of what you loved, which will certainly be helpful for our future customer to make decisions about our place.

Thanks again and we hope we will have the pleasure of having you back again soon.

Your sincerely

Gede Sukanata.
Operational Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Nice large, clean rooms, balcony, minibar with freebies, free airport pickup and dropoff, free shuttle in to Seminyak or closer to Kuta, pleasant pool blessedly out of the sun for most of the day, lots of good cable channels including HBO and breakfast included in the price. Well worth it and the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Being away from the beach just means it's quieter - definitely nice to be able to escape the chaos of the town.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammockdaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Kunti, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Mr./Ms. Hammockdaze,

Greeting from Astana Kunti Suite Apartment and Villa..

It was a pleasure to read your wonderful review during your stay with us at Astana Kunti.

Thank you from myself and all our team for your very kind and appreciative comments, it is guest satisfaction like this which gives our staff a great deal of positive motivation that their efforts are noticed.

We wish you a pleasant and enjoyable few more days in Bali and we all hope to be able to welcome you in the future.

Best wishes from all our team at Astana Kunti.

Gede Sukanata,
Operational Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

The Astana Kunti is a few blocks off a main street in Seminyak. If you're looking to be near the beach, this isn't the place to be. That said, taxis are inexpensive in Bali (if you don't get ripped off), so it's easy to get wherever you want.

The hotel is really a bargain compared to newer/fancier resorts, but you get what you pay for. The property is on the older side, though it's comfortable. It's just not all that nice and the apartment rooms show signs of wear and tear. My friends stayed in the villas and they seemed to be a bit nicer, though of course then you're paying a correspondingly higher rate.

The pool at the hotel was disappointing. The pool itself was not impressive, and the seating areas around it were not comfortable or relaxing.

The hotel doesn't have an on-site spa, but there are many good options nearby and you probably save money from going to a hotel spa. Transportation is usually included by the spas, so I really didn't miss having one at the hotel.

Overall I had a good stay at Astana, but it depends on what you're looking for. I was with friends and barely spent any time at the hotel, so it was fine. If you're looking for a romantic getaway and/or sitting by the beach or pool, this is not the ideal place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cillierabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Kunti, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Mr./Ms. Cillierabbit

Greetings from Astana Kunti Suite Apartment and Villa..

We thank you and appreciate your comments on tripadvisor, On behalf of management and staff we would like to thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Bali. It was a pleasure and we hope you had memorable stay. As time goes by, we look forward to welcoming and serving you again in nearest future.

Yours sincerely,

Gede Sukanata.
Operational Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our 3night stay. The villa room is spacious and very comfortable. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Thanks to guys on reception & also Juliawan . Breakfast is their only challenge as not on time found easier to go order & ask in person. Otherwise - it's wonderful. The hotel also provides services such as scooter rental, free bicycles and great advice for tours.
We enjoyed the time here & look forward to same at Astana Pengembak in Sanur. The villa was mostly clean on checkin but a few items needed attending which on raised all were. Always the staff were friendly and helpful and its fairly close to central Seminyak. Clise to Murano Spa which was a bonus as I frequent this spa over past years if up Seminyak/Legian way whilst in Bali. Astana Kunti isn't a resort style hotel (main pool is quite small) however it's about 10-15 minutes walk. We stayed here for 3 nights in 1 Bed pool villa. The bedroom is separated by pool to kitchenette & sitting area. What I loved was the indoor bathroom with large sunken bath tub but toilet & outdoor shower separate. So in daytime was great to shower outdoor & in evening I preferred to soak in tub :) our private villa pool was always cleaned daily even very late in afternoon which was nice not to woken by room attendants moving about other villas & rooms at 8- 9am. Only complaint is outdoor garden lights are left on all night, a bit annoying given is not block outs on french doors to pool. As said not really in centre of Seminyak, is about 15min walk but guests at Astana Kunti do need to cross very busy Sunset Rd and for people by themselves I definitely wouldn't recommend walking back to the hotel at night by yourself as its only about US$2 by taxi from central Seminyak, very cheap. Hotel dors offer a free shuttle if pre book to Seminyak & legian areas one way only, was handy as we took this option to go about 5ish & first do bit of shopping then dinner after. One night we actually walked from Jalan Laksmana but wouldn't recommend doing this late or alone. Future guests take note is a large hotel well under construction nearby so outside building noise will increase so for those like me you may find Astana Kunti not suitable over coming months. If noise no issue then can highly recommend you try the villas

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vallju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Kunti, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Mr./Ms. Vallju,

Greetings from Astana Kunti Suite Apartment and Villa..

We thank you and appreciate your good comments, On behalf of management and staff we would like to thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Bali. It was a pleasure and we hope you had memorable stay. As time goes by, we look forward to welcoming and serving you again in nearest future.

Yours sincerely,

Gede Sukanata.
Operational Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.1 mi away
Kunti Villas
Kunti Villas
#103 of 144 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
7.6 mi away
Amaroossa Suite Bali
Amaroossa Suite Bali
#46 of 53 in Nusa Dua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marbella Pool Suite
Marbella Pool Suite
#15 of 35 in Kerobokan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Astana Batubelig Villas
Astana Batubelig Villas
#114 of 415 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seminyak Lagoon All Suites
Seminyak Lagoon All Suites
#9 of 107 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
ASA Bali Luxury Villas
ASA Bali Luxury Villas
#76 of 415 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astana Kunti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astana Kunti

Property: Astana Kunti
Address: Jl. Dewi Saraswati III no. 39, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Astana Kunti 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located down a remote passageway in the sophisticated Seminyak, the upscale and classy part of Bali, partly surrounded by rice paddy field beyond the banana cluster and designed with modern minimalist style and assembled around community pool and tropical landscaped garden of scattered Frangipani trees. Astana Kunti Suite Apartment & Villa is a fine-composition of 28 suite apartment and 19 villas that securely located in Seminyak area; where the essence of cosmopolitan style in the full swing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Astana Kunti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astana Kunti Hotel Seminyak
Astana Kunti Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing