We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ribs”
Review of Divine Wonderland - CLOSED

Divine Wonderland
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Ribs”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My daughter and I had a meal of really good ribs at Divine Wonderland. It was a bit uncomfortable, though, being the only people in the restaurant. The service was good, I was worried the waitresses would keep pouncing on us since they had nothing else to do, but they were attentive without being too much. The decor inside is very funny. If I were the owner, I would hire a "rent a crowd" for a week to see if that attracts more customers because I think people look at an empty restaurant and decide there must be something wrong with it. The menu also was too all-encompassing - I would stick with a few specialities, like the ribs, and just continue to do them really well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vandg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    11
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourm
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & not your usual Bali tourist trap”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

the food is outstanding, it's great value for money and the staff are simply divine. Great combination of Indonesian and Western food (the chocolate mouse was awesome!)

It's hard to get a sense of how good the place is from the outside as the outdoor tables & chairs are pretty nondescript but the inside is classic Alice In Wonderland - i'm 6'2" and those oversized chairs were still insanely big! (no you don't have to eat your dinner in them :)

Honestly felt like going out on the street and pulling people in to experience how good the place is - kinda sad to see somewhere like this not getting business when people were just walking past to going into any restaurant or bar that had a neon sign (but hey, this is Bali)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average food for dinner.”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We were following reviews here on TA and reccomendations of friends. We were a little dissapointed. The decore is interesting, inside, but the tables outside had chairs that we found quite uncomfortable. We ordered one of all the Tapas dishes and one main to supplement for 4 people.

Most dishes had an emphasis of salt. 3 of the menu had chorizo in them, and the rest were made up of salty ingredients. The main was stuffed squid on a tomato concasse. The squid was very chewy, and almost inedible, which was a shame, because the stuffing and base were very tasty.

The standout dish was the Albondigas meatballs. Which were served with toasted bread on the side. Unfortunatly one good dish didnt really satisfy us.

Will I go back again ? Probably not. It was cheap to eat there and was less than around AUS$15 a head including drinks.

There are better places in Seminyak to eat.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tagnbrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“You have to go for the experience - and the food is good too!”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

The food is great but the reason you should go is for the experience. The front is a little weird with the fake grass etc but when you go inside and see the oversized furniture and decorations, its a great little place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussies-in-the-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cronulla, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
“Devine wonderland is devine”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This little place is really adorable and so unusual the food and drinks were great but it was the outlay of the place I loved from huge chairs to sit in to quirky pictures around the walls

Everywhere I looked there was something amusing to look at

The entrance to the restaurant is so unusual they have imitation grass and white wrought iron funiture you at once know you are in for a treat once you enter this magically place

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sassafraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Divine Wonderland also viewed

 
Seminyak, Bali
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing