We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot and a little humid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Artemis Villa and Hotel
Ranked #77 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hot and a little humid”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I booked Artemis after trawling the internet for days trying to find that hidden villa that hasn't yet been discovered. My hopes were high given the reviews I had read on here and I was looking forward to 8 nights of relaxation with my mum.

Firstly, the grounds are gorgeous - well manicured gardens and a lovely clean pool. The restaurant bar area was peaceful and inviting and with free wifi what else could you ask for?

Our room was one of the Apartment style rooms with a living/dining area, separate bedroom and outdoor bathroom. Now, I hadn't realised that Bali in Oct/Nov is very hot and humid and as a result the living area and bathroom were stifling hot. The little air conditioner was chugging the whole time and struggled against the heat in the villa. Mum found it hard to sleep and as a result we checked out early to pursue accommodation with more suitable cooling.

The front desk were sincerely apologetic about us not finding the accommodation comfortable and checking out early was not a problem. I must say their customer service was fantastic.

So the bottom line is, if you want villa style accommodation with excellent location, food and service then YES stay here. If you don't mind it hot and a little sticky then you'll love this place.

Room Tip: The Japanese breakfast was delicious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    105
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
50
113
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

A family with 3 small kids.

We are just back from a short trip to Seminyak where we have spent 4 nights in the 3 bedroom pool villa O1. Ater being welcomed at the airport we arrived at night through this narrow dark street into the small reception where we felt immediately comfortable. One staff accompanied us to the villa and we discovered a faboulous place. The lighting was very well done and made the place magical. The pool was very large and surrounded by a manucured garden. Some "frangipanier" flowers were floating on the pool.
We then came into the main living room which was vast and beautifully lit. The 2 older kids had their own bedroom covered with a mosquito net and all necessarry anti bug equipment provided in the bathroom. The master bedroom was totally on the other side of the building surrounded by the pool.
A/c and fan were working fine.

We loved the open air bathrooms, the water dispenser in the kitchen and the general quiet ambiance despite being in the center of the busy part of Bali.
Between few errands to the beach to learn some surfing and few trips to other parts of Bali we have spent some great quality family time having lunch in the villa and enjoying the pool at the hottest time of the day.

The staff was lovely.
Breakfast was included and reasonably good and plenty enough. Some real fresh orange juice would have been better.

We would really recommend the place and especially the 3 bed villa to a family or to 3 friends/couples who want to enjoy a bit of luxury for few days.
The other villas and appartements seemed good as well but certainly not as fascinating as the O1.

Don't hesitate to negotiate as any good deal you can get make will your holidays even better.

We booked through the website of the hotel directly.

Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdNathandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed in one of their hotel rooms for the first 3 day of our stay in Bali and enjoyed it very much. The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. The staff came in twice to replace towels if required and to burn incenses in the evening to keep mosquitoes away (we have not seen any there). What I did not like as much was the terrace as there was only one chair and the view was towards the other villas.

They have a choice of different types of breakfast and it worth to try the Japanese one - we loved it! The pool area is also really nice and never crowded. We never tried the spa in the facilities but there is a really nice spa close by - Bali Spa!

They do a free pick up from the airport if you stay at least three days but we had to email them a few times to arrange it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chica_ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We spent 3 weeks in Bali moving between Nusa Lembongan, Ubud and Legian and we were very much looking forward to our stay at Artemis. And we were not disappointed. The room is a combination of modern and traditional design - high thatched roof, open air shower and modern fixtures with everything you need and want. The housekeeping and hospitality staff were very friendly and attentive - fresh towels in the evening and morning, turndown services and they even light the oil burner in the room if you are out - loved it. My only whim would be that on the website it states that free airport transfers (one way) is offered as a service. However when I went to book this I was told that this was only free if you booked directly through the Artemis website - not a huge issue but I would suggest that this needs to be updated on the website.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganandMoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Grove, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My family and I recently stayed for ten days at the Artemis Villa and Hotel in Seminyak Bali. We have two 12 year old girls and were looking for two bedroom accommodation which we found difficult to find in Bali with most hotels offering only fold out bed options etc if there are more than two persons or we would have to get another room.
How lucky were we to have stumbled upon the Artemis. We stayed in the two-bedroom Garden Villa and it was outstanding for all of us. We each had our own bedroom and bathroom which the girls especially relished making them feel very grown-up but still availing my wife and I with the security of having them close etc but far enough away for us all to have privacy. Being only six steps from the pool was also great and we all spent a lot of time in there. The eating area was also right outside our door and was fantastic with a great ambience, good food and the gardens superb. The spa was also great with the girls loving all of the pampering etc.
Very clean and exceptionally well maintained and with security in the Villa excellent you are within close walking distance to great shopping and eating etc. Yes the beach is a 5 minute walk but to be honest was not a big priority for us other than to go down to see the sunset. The villa was like our own personal oasis and when not out and about we spent a lot of time there and it was very relaxing for all of us. Best thing is that this is not a big place so you feel part of the family and get to know all of the staff and guests and it is a great place for all age groups.
If you are a keen surfer like me, I took my own boards etc, each morning the car can pick you up early and take you up to Canguu or other local breaks for a great morning surf and then be back for breakfast with the family, awesome and tick all the boxes, gotta be happy with that.
However what really made the Artemis exceptional for us were the staff. We have holidayed in Bali before and the Balinese generally are renowned for their friendliness etc but the staff at Artemis were a step above what we have previously experienced. We cannot adequately express how great they were to both Rita and I but more so to our girls. This really did make our holiday something special and we would all strongly recommend the Artemis to anyone, especially if you have kids and to be honest we are already planning for our return stay next year.
Yes you can find cheaper accommodation in Bali however in this case the ‘you get what you pay for’ adage is a very apt one. With great room options, the three bedroom Villa by the way is unbelievable, it is a great place to stay and for the whole family to relax and spend some quality time together. Like us you will not be disappointed.

Matt, Rita, Savannah & Izabel

Room Tip: If you have children aged ten and above the Garden Villa is outstanding, cannot recommend it highly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We just arrived back. Artemis Villa Hotel was excellent, We can not fault anything about this place.
We have been to Bali many , many times and we must say , this has been one of the best places we have stayed at. The Management & Staff are all very, very nice and nothing to them is a concern .
The breakfast is very good, the pool area is great, the location is terrific.
There is a range of different accommodation available, we were in a Hotel room and were after three days upgraded to an apartment at no additional charge-Nice! We also liked that this is not a huge party Hotel or Villa , it is very Quite and good for all age groups that respect a nice ambiance and wonderful surroundings. Thankyou Artemis Owner , Management and all staff . Craig and Ves

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craig b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed in a pool villa with 2 rooms. The first villa we were shown to was gorgeous, with a great pool, very nice bedrooms and a really large comfortable living space. Unfortunately there were construction works going on right above the villa which meant workmen overlooking the pool and really loud banging from early morning. We were moved to another villa were the noise was reduced, it wasn't quite as nice but it was still very good.

The general pool is also very nice and did not seem too busy, we spent our last day there, after we had checked out. The hotel also offers a good and reasonably priced massage menu which we took advantage of!

We have stayed in a few areas in Bali and, of the place on the coastline, I think I like Seminyak the best.- you have access to a great beach which isen't as busy as Kuta but still has the great waves for bodyboarding etc but you are also much closer to better bars and restaurants. But we were there with regulars to the area so we benfited a lot from their knowledge!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliehickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Karisa
Villa Karisa
#76 of 146 in Seminyak
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#27 of 146 in Seminyak
616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#31 of 146 in Seminyak
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tijili Seminyak
Tijili Seminyak
#40 of 146 in Seminyak
380 reviews
0.0 mi away
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
#50 of 146 in Seminyak
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bali Agung Village
Bali Agung Village
#61 of 146 in Seminyak
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artemis Villa and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artemis Villa and Hotel

Property: Artemis Villa and Hotel
Address: JI.Camplung Tanduk | Gg-Puri Kubu 63F, Seminyak, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#35 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#59 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Artemis Villa and Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Artemis Villa and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artemis Villa Hotel Seminyak
Artemis Villa And Hotel Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing