We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful villas in Seminyak”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wolas Villas & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful villas in Seminyak”
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We had a wonderful 6 night stay at The Wolas Villas. The villas are beautiful and immaculate with everything you could possibly need and only 6 months old so in amazing condition.I was really impressed with how large and spacious our 1 b/r villa was. We never dined at the villas and there are so many amazing restaurants in Seminyak but we did have breakfast delivered to us in our villa each morning which was simple and satisfying.

The service was excellent, the staff were friendly and made sure we were happy and comfortable. I thought it was reasonably priced; we paid about US$210 a night on a special online rate. I saw some more expensive villas and hotels during our stay and thought the Wolas was nicer. It is likely the prices will go up as they become more established.

The only downside would be that the Villas are not in the best location. They are too far out of central Seminyak to walk in so you have to be prepared to get taxis everywhere. Lucky taxis are very affordable and we only ever had to wait about 2mins for one to show up at the villa so it really wasn't a hassle. On the plus side the villas are quiet and tucked away not placed in the hustle and bustle which made for a relaxing holiday.

My only tip would for those who stay at Wolas Villas would be to have a very good idea of where they are located and be able to direct taxi drivers. Because the villas are only 6 months old, most taxi drivers have no idea where they are. We learnt the hard way on our first night - thank god for maps on IPhones

I would definitely recommend these villas to friends and family and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hennea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    93
    20
    8
    8
See reviews for
59
343
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St-Niklaas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We spent our first 5 nights in another hotel/villa, so naturally we were comparing The Wolas Villas to the other one. The Wolas is a very new and very beautifull villa complex. The villa we stayed in had everything on the ground floor. There was a spacious open kitchen, an open living and dining area next to our private pool and terrace. The spacious bedroom and ensuite huge bathroom were in a separate part which could be closed off from the rest, so you could leave on the air conditioning there. As there were a lot of mosquitos (which is normal in the tropics, but there were more than in the other hotel we stayed in), we would have appreciated a mosquito net in the bedroom.
Breakfast could be served in the hotel restaurant or in your villa. We always took breakfast in the villa. Unfortunately there is nothing really positive to say about breakfast. We tried Indonesian and American, but neither of them was good. Although, sometimes it was a little bit better depending on the cook. Because of this poor breakfast quality, we didn't dare try dinner at the restaurant. Moreover, prices were ridiculously high ! Also the prices for the spa treatments were too high compared to other spa centres.
The hotel had 2 shuttles a day going to Kuta Beach (one at 10:00 am and one at 2:00 pm), but you had to make reservations one day in advance. For other trips, even short ones like going to Seminyak centre, you had to take a taxi.
Reception staff were friendly, but were acting a bit like robots, taking a bow everytime you arrived or left. It was as if they were programmed and they weren't spontaneous.
Our overall feeling was that this is a beautifull complex, but there is a lot of room for improvement as far as breakfast and service are concerned. Restaurant and Spa prices are also too high.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatwomanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed in Wollas for one week at the end of August - The Wolas Villas is all is says on it's webste - charming, relaxing friendly place. The villas are well appointed - the private swimming pool is a good size and completely secluded - it is ideal to cool off in during the day or at night after returning from dinner! The staff are welcoming and charming - the accomodation is first class - kept spotlessly clean and maintained. You can have breakfast in your villa but we found it better to go to the restaurant - the service there is faultless and you can learn so much about the surrounding area and what's on through conversation with the staff. Try the banana pancakes - there are great - but if you ask for a boiled egg make sure you say 10 mins - that way it will be about right rather than undercooked!! We also recommend the BBQ in your villa in the evening. The staff set up your table complete with tablecloth and chair covers and cook and serve your food right beside you - an unforgetable experience. The lounge is a good size and comes complete with kitchen - the bedroom is very roomy - it has to be to accommodate the bed - which is massive. The bathroom is well equipped - bath, shower , wc well spaced out. It also has an outside shower. Mosquitos are kept well under control - one of the nice features is that the night turn down services also sets up the "burner" that keeps the mossies away from the lounge area. A spray is also provided but we were rarely troubled.
We found no fault with the Wolas - they have a beach club which is only 10 mins away (free shuttle bus to the beach) with towels etc provided - the food is excellent and the staff go out of thier way to help. The Spa treatments - although more pricey than you find outside - are much better and in a clean, private dedicated area - the staff are very professional and "know thier stuff" - it is well worth the little extra
There are great restaurants near by in Seminyak (10 mins) - about 15000 rps in a taxi - or you can head off into Kuta (20 mins dependant on traffic) - don't let the location of the Wolas put you off - Wolas is not on the beach nor in a "bar / restaurant area - but is away from the noise and hassle of beach areas or "downtown" so you can retreat and re-energise in a quiet haven after a day of negociating prices or dealing with hawkers.
If you meet Leow - he will keep you right - ask him to make you a Singapore Sling - it's fantastic.
Without doubt one of the best holidays we have had in Asia
Robert & Rae

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctorbob16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

My wife and I booked 3 nights and ended up staying for an extra night as it was so nice and reasonably priced. Villas are large, modern and very private with a large bathroom, bedroom and outdoor lounge, kitchen and huge private pool. Location is not perfect but option to walk to Seminyak shopping district if you wish, about 15 min walk or short taxi ride to shopping, restaurants in Seminyak. Food is average but apart from breakfast we ate out. Staff are very friendly and rooms were cleaned well each day. Padlock on villa entrance is a bit fiddly. Flatscreen Tv in bedroom and outdoor lounge with DVD player in bedroom as well, can move DVD to outdoor area if desired, we did. Overall highly recommend this Villa for couples or small family.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kawa_kev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

The Wolas Villas & Spa is a fantastic place. The villas are beautiful, the design is excellent, a great mix of balinese traditional elements and modern-minimal. The rooms are spacious and the bathroom is great (I really liked the shampoo, showergel and conditioner)! The staff is very friendly. The breakfast is also very good and it's so relaxing to be served at the villa. There are mosquitos, particularly very early in the morning, however, they spray the villas twice a week and there is also a repellent device in the room. The villas are not located very close to the centre of Seminyak and the beach: you need to cross a very big and busy road (Sunset road), and then walk about 10 min to get to the central strees and another 5-10 min to get to the beach. If you don't mind walking, it's walking distance. The area where the Wolas villas are located, is not central and it has just started developing. I's very easy and cheap to get around by taxi. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at the Wollas Villas and I recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Me and my wife stayed for 3 days. The villa is very nice, staff is very friendly. We have an overall a pleasant experience and will come back for sure. One thing for sure, the villa is nice and the price is very very competitive !

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vino201109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

In March this year, I went with my mum on a girls trip to Bali - we last visited 14 yrs ago so I couldn't really remember much apart from being chased up the street, harrassed to buy and average accommodation. This time was different and we owe that hugely to The Wolas.

I chose The Wolas because it was managed by the same property group as another villa I was looking to stay in but that was too expensive. There were no reviews at this stage on Trip Advisor so we were hoping it would be as good as the photos on the website. It was better.

We arrived at the airport after a delayed flight and a long queue for the visa and poor Ari, our driver, had waited for us for over 2 hours. His big smile was a great welcome for us and he addressed us like royalty pointing out every attraction along the way to the hotel.

Once we arrived, we were shown by Angie every feature of our secluded villa and given welcome drinks.

The villa is just DIVINE - large open space living area with comfy furniture, a huge 2 x 2m bed, airconditioning, relaxing garden area, pool with waterfall you can request on and off, fully equipped kitchen and huge relaxing bathroom with big tub. Everything was so well thought out and there was lots of "little touches" that added to it being a 5 star place. I am a really picky guest and there is really nothing I can complain about except that we staryed for 5 nights and needed at least 10!

The grounds at the Wolas were impeccable and their maintenance staff (pool engineers, gardeners, cleaners, turn down staff) were like fairies - all their work quietly done when we were out. The restaurant was still in construction when we were there so we had breakfast daily in our villa, they delivered it spot on at the time we requested but could have done with some more choices.

The reception and spa staff and security were incredibly friendly and professional - we had problems accessing our funds for the first two days and it wasn't a problem to pay later. They also arranged a cooking class for us and ordered the safe blue bird taxis.

The shuttle service was just fantastic. They stipulate that they will only drop you off around the Seminyak and Legian areas with no pickup but we were taken to Kuta and Ari even took us to Legian, waited while we did our banking and dropped us back. I think we were only refused the shuttle service once and that was because they were collecting other guests from the airport. Taxi's to the heart of Seminyak cost AUD $2 so no qualms there.

As for location, The Wolas is on a quiet street just off Sunset Rd. You can walk to Bali Deli and there is a good money changer right next to the Deli which is really convenient and safe. It is not in the heart of Seminyak (ie. near Ku De Ta) but just outside and only a small cab far away - I honestly preferred this and it was quiet and secluded without any loud Aussie tourists nearby :)

My only suggestions to The Wolas would be:
- An ipod dock / sound system with outdoor speakers
- An iron with ironing board is a necessity
- A clock (maybe this was deliberate but there wasn't even the time on the microwave)
- Perhaps some more breakfast options

This was the first holiday I had where I just TRULY RELAXED. I know there is other cheaper accommodation to stay at in Bali but it really is worth splurging on a luxury Wolas villa as everything else is relatively cheap –day spas, shopping, food.

Thank you for our stay at The Wolas - we haven't stopped talking about it since we came back and have already planned to return again next March!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perth85reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.4 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 143 in Seminyak
702 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daluman Villas
Daluman Villas
#15 of 417 in Seminyak
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Royal Samaja Villas
Royal Samaja Villas
#6 of 417 in Seminyak
158 reviews
0.5 mi away
My Villas in Bali
My Villas in Bali
#5 of 417 in Seminyak
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nyuh Bali Villas
Nyuh Bali Villas
#4 of 417 in Seminyak
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wolas Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wolas Villas & Spa

Property: The Wolas Villas & Spa
Address: Jl. Yudistira 18, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wolas Villas & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Haven of Timeless EquanimityOffering superb ambience and peacefulness, The Wolas Villas & Spa stands amidst the dazzling Seminyak tourist resort, premier shopping destinations and entertainment venues. Designed in minimalist modern and private luxury resort, it reflects the style and elegance of Balinese culture. This emanates from the glamorous entrance gate inspired by ancient temple and Balinese miniscule garden marked with frangipani and other verdant shrubs. Here is the haven of equanimity in Bali. Hence, look no further.Simply for your convenience, the villas have been equipped with supporting facilities like fine restaurant, spa and spacious parking lot.Besides, our villas are indeed perched at a strategic location. It is only 15-minute drive from the airport and less than 30-minute drive to destinations like Denpasar City, Golf Course and Sanur tourist resort. Even, the legendary paradise of sand at Kuta Beach is only 10-minute drive.The frenzy of Seminyak means nothing to us. As soon as walking into The Wolas Villas & Spa, it has been conjured up into tranquility without doubt. Our villa compounds are appropriate with travelers enjoying vacation in couple or with family. In harmony with these needs, we have provided you with 16 one-bedroom villas and 2 two-bedroom villas. Each villa is designed in stylish interior and equipped with first-rate quality furnishings. Meanwhile, its standard feature embraces a private swimming pool, kitchen, dining area and living area. Other facilities equipping them consist of 42-inch plasma TV, cable TV channel, in-house entertainment, and WIFI Internet access.Indeed, we offer you a true hospitality since you first make a reservation until you say goodbye. So, enjoy our Balinese affability in daily interaction, spacious walkway with rich greenery environment to villa, and genuinely homey living. In short, it is entirely dedicated for shrewd travelers wishing to immerse themselves in a splendid resort experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wolas Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wolas Villas And Spa
The Wolas Villas Hotel Seminyak
The Wolas Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing