We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Villa,Perfect Manager,Friendly Staff”
Review of Bugan Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bugan Villas
Ranked #321 of 431 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Ms.Triana The Manager at Bugan Villas went out of their way to make our stay perfect.
Within 5 minutes of arriving, the villa manager had organised the villa maintenance man to come to our villa.
We offered to pay something but Triana insisted that there was it was free. What a fantastic start to our stay!
The level of service was consistent throughout our stay and nothing was ever too difficult when it came to booking restaurants, bars, transport etc.
The villa itself was fantastic, it was clean, with a comfortable bed and a decent sized swimming pool. We did a lot of research when booking Bugan Villas and it was a little more spacious than similar villas in the same area.
The breakfasts were made to order with a variety of options. I'm not sure what time they finished but we never rose early and this was never a problem. We ate lunch by the pool a couple of times and the standard of food was good.
Bugan Villas is located 5 meters down from the main street, smack bang in the middle of busy Seminyak, where many of the good restaurants and bars are located. Despite this, at no time did we hear any street noise in the villa. We could hear the neighbouring villa when they used their pool but this was not a problem and is obviously to be expected in villa complexes.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Bugan Villas.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 477Bruno477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 84 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

Let me begin by saying that Bugan Villas are absolutely amazing. We spent five luxurious nights in Villa 2 as a part of our honeymoon from September 4th - 8th, and were very impressed with everything.

The private pool and outdoor shower & bathtub were incredible. The pool was a perfect size for six peoples. The villas are very private, relaxing and serene. We were welcomed,the Villa was beautifully decorated.

We also had a free half hour full body massage which was amazing. This was honestly the best massage I have ever had.

The serving and cleaning staff was amazing. Bugan Villa were clean and service was quick.

Overall the experience was wonderful, The Manager Triana were very courteous and great.
I will remember you Triana,you're so lovely.

Room Tips : We stayed in Villa 2 and it was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

4 of us were hoping for an amazing holiday after a terrible year and it turned into a disaster!! There are Mosquitos everywhere! My 1 year was bitten on her first night......22 bites to be precise and she was unbelievably sick. We spent 3 weeks after coming home in and out of hospital due to the bites. We all couldn't escape the bites no matter how much repellent we put on. The owner has not apologized or even replied to emails which is just disgusting.
Avoid!!
The pool was too cold to swim because it is shaded all day.
Worst experience I have ever had and just heartbreaking to watch my daughter go through what she has.
I have never had to write a bad review in all my years of travel so it's disappointing to have to do so now

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Triana the villa manager and Made our driver is the best people ever!!! They make things so convenient for us. They dont charge when u ask them to send u nearby. Which is really great! U want great service and at a good price, this place is worth it. Triana is always contactable and assist promptly. The teat of the staff is great too! They are very well mannered and friendly. We love this place. It's a 3min car ride to potato head and Kudeta. You won't much at your door step to see and eat. But they will send u to places u wanna go. :)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xenho08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Like many reviews I've read,true enough Villa 1 is the one pictured. We had a chance to take a peek into the other villas there, they looked hardly like any of the pictures shown online.

To be fair, the villa was relatively well kept. If you come from from the West,and this is your first Balinese experience, you'd probably be awed. Being from the East and (not flattering myself) relatively well travelled within the region, I find this property second class to many within the vicinity.

It does not have a proper check in counter, the breakfast was made cold and looked like they had them prepared the night before or bought them elsewhere, they had convenient access through a backdoor "locked" with a log through the door handle which compromises with security, there were floating substances in the pool, the jacuzzi was pumped out during the day which was stupid, they were life cockroaches crawling out of our rolled brand new towel, blood stains on the glass window, algae growing everywhere....
Plus, if you don't ride a scooter and the one and only driver is not around, you are basically screwed stuck in the villa at night. Though you could still call for cabs, but the wait could take "a while".

Fortunately, most of the staff are friendly. Although 80% of them speak almost no English,they would try their best to understand you or run to get someone who would. That is...when you find them. Don't bother calling them from your villa. Just walk out to the guard room to look for them.

DO NOT attempt to let the villa staff plan your itinerary. They would get someone they know to "help" plan and we had our itinerary compromised. Except for the water rafting we emphasized on experiencing, the massage was the most unbearable 2 hours we had on the trip. Our seafood dinner was reduced to 1 weird looking fish, 2 meager-looking prawns and some veg, when what we saw on the brochures had lobsters and everything. All for - US10 cheaper per pax. And they had attempted further to charge us an arm and a leg for the next day program. Luckily we didn't had too much beer... My mistake was not to take time off my work to sit down and plan the itinerary, thinking Bali should be relatively safe to book everything through the hotel/villa. I was so wrong...

Shower is outdoor. So,if it's a windy night and u need a shower, good luck. And,pebbles hinder the entrance to the shower. Be careful not to twist your ankles as you enter. Bath tub is huge, but it's rather awkward to get out of it cos there is no aiding structure and the tub is rather deep. Not suitable for younger kids and old folks. The shower head cannot be pulled to a length in the tub, so, taller guys thinking they do not like to beat the wind to shower outside will have to sit in the tub like a kid to wash up.

And, try not to dirty the bedsheets while you are there. We left marks to see if they change the sheets. Quite sure they don't, though they do tidy them. If you are a hygiene freak, do bring you own towels. Most towels there are stained.

Room Tip: If you really have to take this villa, Villa 1 is still your ONLY choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeorgeJorgimoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia Y, Manager at Bugan Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Warm Regards From Us Bugan Villas

Thank you for choosing Villa us to fill your holiday ..

Sorry if you have a problem about the breakfast. Indeed, while we ordered breakfast from the outside, but we've been trying to keep food warm by asking you, "what time you want breakfast in the morning .."

And if there is substance floating in the swimming pool .. it is to keep the pool chemical balance ph with the water situation in Bali, making it safe for use by guests when swimming.

For the jacuzzi that lights when daylight, a sign that our staff are working well in terms of checking and cleaning the swimming pool and jacuzzi. if you want to enjoy the jacuzzi of your own, please ask our staff to turn on the machine jacuzzi.

For your information about the presence of blood in the window. It is not blood but old paint window sills.

of if you want to travel when the evening. of the villas only limited taxi petrified. because of our free shuttle to the provisions as my driver available , except you request one day before to standby for you

as a manager in Bugan Villas, I am against you saying that we receive a commission from your activity. and that as long as I remember, as long as you stay in Bugan Villas busy you are at it with your own event with your tour agent.

each villa has a unique architect to show characteristics of the villa. same thing with Bugan Villas, we prefer the bathroom outside, because we want to provide comfort villa with tropical nature.


and I mentioned it once again, that your sheet will be replaced by our staff for two days and stained towel. we do not have time to check every towel that comes from the laundry. but trust me that your towel is clean towel

with due respect us. I on behalf of all staff Bugan Villas apologize if it's a mistake to understand makes you feel uncomfortable. but it sure is that we provide the best, thank you for your advice and see you again in the next holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We have just returned from our 7 day stay at Bugan Villas. This place is great. My family of 4 adults and 2 young children enjoyed this Villa very much. In response to previous reviewers - we did not have any spiders or lizards present, our villa was cleaned on a daily basis (cleaners would clean once we left for shopping / tours).
The breakfast is basic (continental / eggs / toast or Indonesian), and often arrived at room temperature but this was easily fixed by heating the eggs in the microwave.
Nothing was ever too much for any of the staff, and they even organised a beautiful birthday cake for my mum - complete with staff singing happy birthday, and cutting / serving the cake to us.
The driver (Marday) was wonderful and my children were very sad to be leaving him.
I would highly recommend this Villa. It is walking distance to a great restaurant (Pavilion) and the driver will happily take you where ever you need to go.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Clarktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I really don't know how this p,ace has good reviews on trip advisor! Maybe we just got a bad villa, villa number one we stayed in and from the moment we got there I wanted to leave!
It was dirty, rooms hadn't been cleaned - the 2 x spare rooms didn't get cleaned the whole 5 days we were there and dirty sheets and towels were left in the floor.

Our room only got cleaned after us going asking for it to be tidied! the doors didn't lock, the main outside one didn't even lock, the per was building works going in and to top it all off there were the biggest SPIDERS in our villa I've ever seen, I'm pretty well travelled around Thailand/ Asia and have stayed in cheap budget accomodation and never came across is, I was terrified, couldn't sleep and the whole experience was just awful - I wouldn't stay here again if it was free - seriously.it was pretty expensive and the only good thing about it was the airport pick up from the nice little chatty guy that took us back and forth! Do yourself a favour and don't stay here!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay in villa 1!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missmerryweather87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 1, 2012

Warm greetings from our staff Bugan Villas

Sorry for any inconvenience during your vacation at Bali.

We apologize for the cleanliness of the villa, in because the day you check in Villa which should precede its regulations at14:00 pm should check in.But because you arrive earlier and at the other guests had also Check out , fear make you upset so we let you in. .. So our Staff just can give you the best what they can do.

1 unit Our villa has 3 bedroom villa, where if you rent for 1bedroom the other room will be locked and we do not wasting time to cleaing another room which are not in use, for cleaning the villa because we have a private villa.so if have any guest inside villas we don't want to disturb their privacy,then cleaning can be done under or request a guest after guest take a walk..

With due respect me .. I apologize for everything that happens in Bugan VILLA, when making your holiday feel uncomfortable because something which we can reach well or something we can't reach..like spiders or other animals.

Thank you for your Advise and hope we can do better later ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0 mi away
Mayang Private Villas
Mayang Private Villas
#320 of 431 in Seminyak
5 reviews
0 mi away
Bali Sunset Villa
Bali Sunset Villa
#119 of 431 in Seminyak
67 reviews
0 mi away
Maca Villas & Spa
Maca Villas & Spa
#26 of 148 in Seminyak
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Tonys Villas & Resort
Tonys Villas & Resort
#49 of 431 in Seminyak
461 reviews
0 mi away
The Tukad Villa
The Tukad Villa
#81 of 431 in Seminyak
114 reviews
0 mi away
The Seiryu Villas
The Seiryu Villas
#34 of 431 in Seminyak
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bugan Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bugan Villas

Address: Jl. Batubelig No. 133, Seminyak, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 431 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: $95 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bugan Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bugan Villas is a contemporary resort located in Seminyak away from the dizzy rush and bustle of Kuta, yet still near to the shopping center, world class restaurant & nightspots. It is comprising 4 spacious 3 bedroom villas, set in idyllic landscaped gardens with lotus ponds & private pools. Gives a sense of privacy and ultimate luxury while having close access to all the facilities Seminyak has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bugan Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bugan Villas Hotel Seminyak
Bugan Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing