We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but could improve on the basics”
Review of Grania Bali Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grania Bali Villas
Ranked #149 of 426 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We just got back from our usual annual trip from Bali, we did things in reverse this time staying at a true 5 star resort - The Westin in Nusa Dua than spending the last 4 days at a private villa - Villa Grania this time.We're vetrans of travelling to Bali and perhaps this time round we found notable differences with this villa. Location was great p central to Saminyak shopping, Bali Deli etc, staff were friendly and will helpful. A nice touch with having a christmas tree and songs playing on stereo on our arrival as we spent our Christmas in the villa. .... But unfortunately the basics were lacking. 1. the water for bathing and showering was well below standard - brown with an oxide stagnant smel - making it very unplesant despite lathering ourselves with self provided fresh smelling shampoo and bodywash, 2. toilet not flushing properly and backing up daily 3.the use of vinegar type substance in the pool - our kids usually live in and out of the pool when we're in a villa but this time they were reluctant to do so as the substance hurt their eyes and any minor cuts. 4. the cutlery and crockery is stored in a cupboard under the sink where tiling has not be been competed , the damp bare concrete smell tends to overwhelm every piece of glassware, crockery or utensils - masking an unclean feel when you just want to reach for a glass to pour your faviourite cocktail. Overall I would rate this average and owners need to take notice and improve on the basics despite making a good profit margin from their guests and staff.

Room Tip: Ensure you check on the basics
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GraniaVillas, Manager at Grania Bali Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for your good comment about Grania Bali Villas.
1. About the water, on the Fifteen of December there was a big thunderstorm rain in Bali and a lot of area including ours were having a force major which affect our watering system. We apologize for the inconvenience caused and just let you know that we already took actions to fix it and we are ready to welcome you again to have a second try at Grania Bali Villas.

2. About the toilet, it is again another affect of the raining and floods as the water supply to the toilet also not in a perfect condition, but now it is fixed already.

3. About the swimming pool, actually we do a regular periodic treatment on our pool and we always check the quality water using our pool-water-meter equipment. However we do apologize once again as your children got hurt on their eyes and minor cuts, on the other hand we did our yearly villa maintenance already.

4. About the cutlery, a week before your check-in it was raining a lot all of the time and in a day the weather can be exchanged it makes the cutlery on that time was smelly. In action we have moved our cutlery to the other drawer to prevent the said things happen again in the future.

Thank you for your comment on us to improve our service and our villas and we are inviting you once again to stay at Grania Bali Villas for your next holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 80 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

Villa's good points: modern, stylish, quiet, clean and beautiful gardens. Located amongst farming plots with cows. Taxi hub is up the road. Classy day spa 2mins away.

Villa's bad points: none as 24/7 security man is also the handy man and fixes anything right away.

Staff: so friendly and helpful. The rooms were cleaned twice a day and the indo breakfast was delicious. They will call you taxis and make sure you are enjoying your stay.

Handy hint: print a map to show your taxi driver to get back to the villa, or remember the street names of the major intersection and guide them back from there. We had no trouble with the latter approach.

Room Tip: Get the one storey villa if you have small kids or bad knees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WAshtonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights here and the service was excellent. Staff were v helpful - helped us call taxis and make reservations at resturants. We were pleasantly surprised by the discount coupons for the resturant they help us make reservation for. Location wise is however remote and would require taxis to travel out. Best to print a map of the area b4hand as taxi drivers may not know the exact area. Villa was spacious and very private. Good for those who value privacy over convenience.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xuanqiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

If your planning to go Bali I would recommend staying at this villa, the place is actually better then the pictures. It's carm, relaxed and staff are always around to cater for your needs. Whilst I was there I got to know Ema who works in administration and Wayan who was my butler. The staff at security were really friendly guys, also the 3 girls that use to make my breakfast really glad they where around to have a laugh with. Staff can speak English fluently and really useful when it comes to planning trips they were my travel agents during my stay. Ideal location for first time travels to Bali.

Thanks again to all the staff I met whilst I was out there, hope to be seeing you very soon. Jayesh K

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayeshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights very recently. Location a little out of the way but no issue as staff were more than happy to call for cabs (there's a cab company minutes away so its never a 5-minute wait), arrange reasonably-priced rental vehicles etc. When heading back to the villa, good to mention the nearby landmark hotels to ensure taxis know what youre talking about. Road leading to villa was a little banged up but this is understandable as many more villas seem to be under construction a little beyond Grania itself. Quiet road means no traffic noise at all.

As mentioned, staff were enthusiastic, genuine and very friendly. Nothing more can be asked for with staff in a boutique establishment like this. Despite being friendly, the staff were non intrusive and did not make us feel uncomfortable at all.

Villa itself was not especially large but more than adequate for the number of inhabitants (we got a look at both one and two bedroom villas). Pool was lovely, done in Balinese green stone and comfortable for 4 people to splash around in. Outdoor breakfast area was nice, as was the enclosed living room (not dusty!). Bed comfortable and had nice pillows - very restful! Bathroom very large and well appointed too. The gardeny bits were very nicely planted, in contrast to some other stark looking landscapes in villas nearby.

Unfortunately, water quality from the tap was a big issue for us on this trip. As we were in and out a lot doing activities, we needed to shower pretty often but the water had a really odd smell (sulphurous). This was really quite a turn off. Additionally, the water pressure was not stable and, to a lesser extent, so was the temperature. These were, however, minor compared with the smell of the water itself. Another minor note: lighting in the villa was a little dim.

Breakfast was adequate and the three lovely girls preparing it were friendly, courteous and jovial.

Really sad that the water was bad here. Otherwise, we would be more than happy to return. A really lovely villa marred by the plague of funky water.

Room Tip: Villa no3 was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiMiMooMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Our experience at The Grania Villas was enjoyable and relaxing. We had booked a one bedroom villa originally and upon arrival we discovered they had upgraded us to the huge two bedroom villa which came at a perfect time because we were very down from losing all of our luggage two days before on the Island Gili Trawangan. Although Grania is very very hard to find we found if we got a taxi to the main road outside the villa we were able to direct the drivers from there to its location. The Staff were also very helpful in ordering dinner and taxis for us when we requested and they always arrived very promptly. Waking up to breakfast already made and in our villa was wonderful and whenever we had a problem the staff were always happy to help! We loved our stay at Grania and would love to stay again!

Room Tip: Ensure you have the address and telephone number with you to ensure your driver can find it's lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liarneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

We had a great stay, it is a bit hard to find (i took a picture of villa details and the map - in your room) on my phone and showed it to cab drivers, they cleaned the villa as soon as you leave, staff are friendly, happy to assist & always on call, Indonesian breakie is better than american ( you will need to ask for it also request milk if you like a white coffee) it is very private so it is great if you want to just spend time alone. I would stay again it was very well priced and amenities are fantastic, pools and bathrooms are awesome!! The pictures are exactly spot on. My only gripe (which I was surprised no one else mentioned) is the living room just has a fan and it was really really muggy, we found pulling the outside blind 1/2 way down assisted in keeping some of the heat out. But you can always jump in the pool to cool down.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.4 mi away
Amor Bali Villa
Amor Bali Villa
#148 of 426 in Seminyak
85 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Tukad Villa
The Tukad Villa
#86 of 426 in Seminyak
111 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bali Rich Luxury Villa
Bali Rich Luxury Villa
#123 of 426 in Seminyak
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Annora Villas Seminyak
Annora Villas Seminyak
#24 of 426 in Seminyak
215 reviews
2.5 mi away
Villa Bliss Bali
Villa Bliss Bali
#124 of 426 in Seminyak
18 reviews
2.1 mi away
Nunia Boutique Villas
Nunia Boutique Villas
#72 of 426 in Seminyak
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grania Bali Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grania Bali Villas

Address: Dewi Saraswati St. III no. 35 | Kunti Utara, Seminyak 80117, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 426 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: $88 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grania Bali Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grania Bali Villas are located only a few minutes away from unique Bali gift shops along Seminyak Street and famous Sunset Road. The villas feature an open-space design with plenty of natural light, surrounded by tropical gardens and stone fixtures bringing a tranquil ambiance.There are four private villas in Grania Bali Villas:• Two bigger units with two bedrooms each are suitable for a family with children or a group of three or four people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grania Bali Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grania Bali Villas Hotel Seminyak
Grania Bali Villas Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing