We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful value”
Review of Bonsai Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bonsai Villas
Ranked #106 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I booked all four villas at Bonsai in late August for a family holiday with two adult children and a brother. The booking process direct with Rudi was friendly and set the scene. We used Bonsai to arrange transfers at USD15 for two cars to cater for 6 people and their luggage. All went smoothly and the " check in" process was smooth and easy.
The villas are not five star - how could they be at the rates charged? - but are comfortable, private and extremely well located as other reviewers have commented. Furnishings are simple and each villa has its own personality (my wife and I were in villa 3 which was just fine, with an indoor bathroom whereas 1 and 2 had outdoor bathrooms). The bed was comfortable but the sheets were somewhat stained (not dirty or unclean but carrying some stains) which did let Bonsai down somewhat. We didn't see much of Rudi so didn't get to chat to him about that issue.
The staff were just great; chatty and friendly and eager to help. Muss; Ary; Widi and co are lovely people who got on very well with us and with all the members of the group. They were keen to assist and always polite.Room cleaning was efficient and structured around our absences; evening service was good, with mozzie coils placed in the bathroom and living room and the bedroom sprayed. Bedroom is air-conditioned and the living room has a ceiling fan; satellite TV was good. The variety of towel shapes each day was amazing and a source of fun.
One previous reviewer criticised the pool maintenance and with six of us swimming in the morning, during the day at different times and always in the evening before and after dinner - and covered in sunscreen etc - the pool did get cloudy. But I spoke to the staff about it and the pool was super-chlorinated at a time designed to minimize disruption to our enjoyment of the pool and was sparkling the next , so we have only praise for the response and action.
Bonsai is fantastic value. It is a welcoming, relaxing and comfortable place which I have no hesitation recommending.
The villas offer privacy and convenience, together with ready access to many restaurants and the Bintang supermarket, as well as shopping in Legian and Kuta. Don't go there expecting a five star villa; you do not get that for AUD110 per night. What you do get is wonderfully friendly staff; a very comfortable private villa accommodation; great location at what is extraordinary value.
Thanks guys; we had a great time!!

Room Tip: If you enjoy an outdoor bathroom and plenty of greenery Villas 1 and 2 are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GWGGWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonsaiseminyakbali, Owner at Bonsai Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Garry

We appreciate your basically positive kind review.However i am most concerned by your remark about stained sheets ( plural ) our sheets which were all renewed a few weeks before you arrived are along with hand towels & face cloths laundered daily.Our well trained staff would have seen any imperfection and replaced same. There is a sign in all villas requesting guests if they have a complaint or suggesting for improvement to the villas to tell me or the staff so that it can be attended to immediately.This sign you chose to ignore and wait to put it on Trip Adviser for the world to see.I am very disappointed by the word plural and your action as
we do our utmost to satisfy our guests at all times.
Kind regards
Rudi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 212 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We just got back from having 3 weeks at Villa Bonsai. We had the best holiday, which was mainly due to the most wonderful staff. They were always happy to help with anything and nothing was ever too much. They always offered us coffee and biscuits when out at the pool. They were very thorough when spraying the villas for Mosquitos and placed mozzie coils in the villas every night, we never had a problem with Mosquitos. Every day the staff (especially Muss & Widi) made animals out of the towels and displayed them on our beds, our daughter loved this and the boys always made an extra special effort to surprise her......which they always did. The villas are tastefully decorated, spacious and well laid out. We never had a problem getting a sun lounge by the pool and rarely saw anyone at the pool. It is situated a short 2 min walk down the lane from the Bintang Supermarket which is very convenient, however the drinks in your mini bar at the villa are at supermarket prices anyway which is very nice. The villas are located in a busy part of Seminyak yet they are still quiet and peaceful. Thank you to Rudi, Muss, Widi, Gidday, Ari & Freddie for making our stay with you most enjoyable. It was nice to make such lovely friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sambo207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We loved staying at Bonsai, felt as if we had the place to ourselves most of the time!! We had Villa 4 and had our 25 yr old daughter with us and with the separate living area kitchenette we had plenty of space. Rudi and the boys were only too happy to help us out with any of our queries. A lovely haven a short distance from the busyness of Jalan Seminyak!!!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bonsai Villas for a week and were so happy to have found this place through Trip Advisor - we couldn't imagine any where else being any better. We loved the daily towel origami displayed on our bed - but so sad when we had to undo it in order to dry off after our shower! The Bintang Supermarket was just down the pathway, which made buying food to prepare in our personal kitchen quite easy. The staff went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasurable experience. Thank you very much to Bonsai Villas!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drdys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonsaiseminyakbali, Manager at Bonsai Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

J
Dear denise
.A wonderful review from wonderful guests who were a real delight to attend to.I must say all our guests receive the same attention but unfortunately many are short stays,or on business which denies us the opportunity really get to know them.However our excellent staff give their best to all who stay at Bonsai.
we all look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Rudi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was our second stay at Bonsai Villas, and we enjoyed it just as much as the first stay.
For less than a $100-00,'it's one of the most reasonable and good value places we have stayed at, perhaps only bettered by Tegal Sari in Ubud.
There are 4 Villas surrounding a Pool, and the location is just off Jl Raya Seminyak, about a 50 metre walk down a narrow alley.
It's pretty quiet at night, but during the day, some vehicles do use the lane ways past the entrance, which you can hear inside the villas.
They are all clean, and well-maintained, and mozzie coils are put out each night to combat the little buggers. Lucky there was not too many mozzies when we were here.
The staff are very friendly, I'm sorry I can only remember Gede ( I called him G'day )
The location is excellent with Bintang supermarket just a couple of hundred metres away- and plenty of restaurants along the road.
The only ( very small ) downside is no breakfast- but there are excellent cooking facilities at each villa, and really for this price- it's no problem.
Thank you Rudi and staff, my wife and I enjoyed it and would recommend it thoroughly!

Room Tip: There's only 4, and they are all good- We've stayed in 2 different rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

What a delightful spot. Spent a few nights here and was pleasantly relaxed amidst the serenity. Beautifully designed and superbly outfitted. Could self cater or eat at the local eateries. Was relaxed and found this spot to my liking.

Room Tip: Catch this spot if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have just returned from an 8 day stay at Bonsai Villas, which I located through tripadvisor. We had a fantastic time staying in villa 3. The 24 hour staff couldn't do enough for us from cold drinks and towels on arrival to cappuccinos throughout the stay. The villas are located within walking distance to most things we required, including a gigantic supermarket and yet they are serene and very tastefully decorated. We were amazed at the attention to detail by the staff, including the folding of fresh towels into animal shapes every day. We would certainly recommend Bonsai Villas to others and plan to stay there on our next Bali visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally quiet and close to reception and the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonsaiseminyakbali, Owner at Bonsai Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Maxine
Well what can we say.You have really put a chip on our shoulders .A wonderful review from wonderful guests who were a real delight to attend to.I must say all our guests receive the same attention but unfortunately many are short stays,or on business which denies us the opportunity really get to know them.However our excellent staff give their best to all who stay at Bonsai.
we all look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Rudi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
#57 of 148 in Seminyak
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artemis Villa and Hotel
Artemis Villa and Hotel
#75 of 148 in Seminyak
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Karisa
Villa Karisa
#80 of 148 in Seminyak
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Destiny Boutique Hotel
Destiny Boutique Hotel
#87 of 148 in Seminyak
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#30 of 148 in Seminyak
577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#25 of 148 in Seminyak
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonsai Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonsai Villas

Address: Jl. Raya seminyak gang keraton 188 | seminyak, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#76 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $45 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bonsai Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonsai Villas offers spacious uniquely designed Asian and Japanese style fusion accommodation.Built with natural teak timber and tasteful antique furniture gives a serene relaxing atmosphere.In this quiet haven you will feel a sense of special friendliness free from everyday pressures.Situated in the centre of Seminyak,within walking distance to shops,restaurants, night life and all the excitement of this area.You will arrive as guests and leave as friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bonsai Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonsai Villas Hotel Seminyak
Bonsai Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing