We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location”
Review of Bonsai Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bonsai Villas
Ranked #106 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We recently spent 11 nights at the Bonsai Villas (Villa No. 3). The villas are really conveniently located down an alley way off the main drag that runs between Kuta and Seminyak. The Bintang Supermarket is a 50 mtre walk away and restaurants and shopping
are all close by. You are close to the beach however allow a 10 min walk to get to either Legian or Seminyak beach. We really did like the Japanese inspired decor of the villas and they were very spacious. The kitchen was well set up and allowed us to make breakfast or small meals if we wished to stay in (a sink plug and tea towel would be a welcome addition).
The bed was one of the most comfortable we have had in a holiday accomodation. The staff were also absolutely lovely. However .... our villa was not very clean and despite the fact that the towels had be laundered they were in fact very grey and stained. A couple of times we had to ask for towels as we were not provided with enough and on one evening mosquito coils were not placed in our room and we got well bitten throughout the night (the villas are not totally enclosed and there are no mosquito nets). There was no shade around the pool and over a two day period we could not swim in the pool as the water had turned murky due to it not being tested and treated. Also there was another set of villas behind ours and in the evening it would be quite noisy with the sounds of other holiday makers in their pool. As we said - great location - spacious villas however a lot of room for improvement. We would stay there again - No.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeeD008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonsaiseminyakbali, Owner at Bonsai Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your review.Before commenting on specific complaints i wish to draw you attention to the fact that in all our villas we have a notice which reads;

WE HOPE YOU ENJOY YOUR STAY AT BONSAI . IF YOU HAVE ANY SUGGESTIONS OR COMPLAINTS PLEASE TELL THE STAFF OR RUDI BEFORE TELLING YOUR FRIENDS ETC.MOST THINGS CAN BE RECTIFIED SWIFTLY , SOME ARE OUT OF OUR CONTROL
WE APPRECIATE YOUR COOPERATION .

The only complaint you made was the day you arrived and found a little dust on the living room cabinet.
Our villas are cleaned daily, as is the laundry.
Mosquito nets are available on request.Coils are placed in the villas when guests go out for dinner.If missed JUST ASK we have 24 hour staff.
Tea towels are available if requested but not left in the villas to clean shoes etc.
The pool is professionally attended to daily, unfortunately because of the out of season rain its sometimes difficult to clear, oily surface is due to excessive suntan lotion which can take time to remove.
There are 4 pool loungers plus another 1 in each villa which can be taken outside to make 8 if a request is made to the staff.We do not cater for outside visitors to guests but do endeavor to make them welcome.
As for our price of $100.00 per night please note; trip adviser has placed us in the top 20 hotel / villas in Indonesia not just Bali.
Kind regards
Rudi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 212 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed in villa 4 recently and found the villa rather nice however, as some other reviews point out, the air conditioning is only in the bedroom and some people might find this a bother as it can be very hot in the lounge area even with the overhead fan. The staff are delightful and take care of you. They have a great sense of humour. They do amazing 'origami' things with the towels. Every time we returned after the room was cleaned we found cute little animals made out of towels on our bed. Unfortunately, when it came time to unravel the towels for a shower they were stained. They had been washed but still had stains on them. The pool was not particularly clean and there is nowhere to sit in the shade as it in in full sun for most of the day. We didn't use the pool for three days during our stay because it had an oily film over it and was cloudy. Even a couple of large umbrellas over the four pool lounges would have helped to give a little shade. There are 4 villas and only four pool lounges, nowhere else to sit by the pool. Take your own tea towels to dry your dishes as they are not supplied. Villa 4: the bathroom is open and mosquitos can get into the bedroom from the bathroom. Villa 3: the bathroom is enclosed and less vulnerable to mosquitos. Mosquito coils are placed in the villas at night by staff. We did not cook during our stay and so in terms of value for money, we would rather stay in cheaper cottages elsewhere. If you do want to cook your own meals, then the extra facilities might be worth paying for. If the towels were cleaner, the pool was cleaner and a little shade provided over the pool lounges then we would recommend this property. Thank you to the staff for taking care of us during our stay.

Room Tip: Villa 3 is nicer than villa 4! But close the front blind during the day to keep it cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonsaiseminyakbali, Owner at Bonsai Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

DearJill
Thank you very much for your positive comments.Some of your suggestions have now been executed .Please see the above reply to your friend dee/d for our replies to further concerns.
The staff and i look forward to your return visit
Kind regards
Rudi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Bonsai Villas in March 2013 - this was our second stay - we enjoyed the villas so much on our last visit in 2011 that we automatically rebooked here. This villas - although only within a couple minutes from the shops - including the supermarket - are so quiet and relaxing. The kitchen/lounge area is open & very spacious and comfortable - I had a daily massage in our villa which was so convenient - which was immediately organised by Rudi upon request. Rudi was very helpful in organising many of our trips - and his knowledge of the local restaurants etc. was wonderful. This saved us alot of time & all the recommendations he made were great - which obviously will make us stay at the villas again. The fact that there are only 4 villas there is such a bonus - as the majority of the time we were the only ones in the pool - hence there was never any noise factor. The staff were wonderful - they were so helpful at all times. Thank you Rudi & your great staff - when we come back to Bali next year - we will indeed be rebooking at Bonsai Villas.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This well-priced villa is in an excellent location, perfectly quiet and relaxing and with wonderfully friendly, gentle staff who are always most obliging. Rudi, the owner, is a delightful man and most accommodating. Love the Japanese decore and the fact that delicious Bali coffee is supplied in your villa, so together with the purchase of some delicious bread and jam from the nearby Bali Deli, gives you the opportunity of have a simple breakfast in your villa if you want a change from all the wonderful breakfast places in Eat Street! The open area of your villa is very comfortable and we had very few mosquitoes due to the staff's diligence in burning the coils each night. Information regarding laundry, massages, nearby restaurants is all available and an excellent service is offered by Rudi in that your refrigerator is stocked with water available to purchase at nearby supermarket prices. You are also given two bottles of water each day. All in all, a delightful place. John & Lois

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lois k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Bonsai Villas for 9 nights in April 2013. The villas were clean with a beautiful decor, and the grounds and pool were wonderful. Even though you are in the heart of Seminyak it's completly peaceful with little to no city/traffic sounds. The staff were beyond helpful and assisted us in any task to an exceptional standard. Each morning the room was cleaned and the staff left beautiful towel sculptures on the bed! It really was a relaxing and care free experience! Its located right next to the Bintang supermarket and down the road from 'Eat Street' and many great beach clubs which we found very helpful. I highly recommend staying at the Bonsai Villas.
Thank you, Rudi and the boys. We will be back to stay with you again!! :o)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in number 4 villa at the start of April. The villas are located behind Bintang supermarket on Legian street. There are 4 villas around a central pool which was far to hot for a refreshing swim. No shaded area to relax around pool anyway. The pool needs to be two thirds covered by shade sail to be around a good refreshing temperature I would think. The villas lounge and kitchen area are open at the sides and not air conditioned so in the humid weather not very comfortable. The owner has let design rule over function. I would think bifolding doors and aircon is a must for this area in all villas. The air con in the bedroom, which is the only room you can relax in the humid season, was not up to the task during the heat of the afternoon when you like to relax from the hot streets and shopping. The one redeeming feature was the all male staff which were fantastic and the clean rooms. I think if the owner fixes the problems mentioned he would vastly improve his villas. Unfortunately the Japanese theme has overtaken functionality in this case.
.

Room Tip: Number two villa is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This villa was excellent value. We have stayed in some really expensive places in Bali and whilst they were just divine, paying $600 AUD is just not feesible when we go so often. I was looking for somewhere that was close to all the action at a reasonable price and thought I would give this place a go. What a pleasant surprise. For $100.00 per night it was just perfect. beautiful, clean villa with an airconditioned bedroom and an open lounge/kitchen. Staff was great and you really can't get a better spot location wise. Good for eating, shopping anything you need. Even though it is in the heart of Seminyak when you are at your villa it is quiet and serene. There are only 4 villas ( I think ) and no late partying or others keeping you up. We will definitly book here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
#53 of 148 in Seminyak
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artemis Villa and Hotel
Artemis Villa and Hotel
#73 of 148 in Seminyak
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Karisa
Villa Karisa
#80 of 148 in Seminyak
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Destiny Boutique Hotel
Destiny Boutique Hotel
#87 of 148 in Seminyak
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#25 of 148 in Seminyak
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#28 of 148 in Seminyak
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonsai Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonsai Villas

Address: Jl. Raya seminyak gang keraton 188 | seminyak, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#77 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $45 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bonsai Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonsai Villas offers spacious uniquely designed Asian and Japanese style fusion accommodation.Built with natural teak timber and tasteful antique furniture gives a serene relaxing atmosphere.In this quiet haven you will feel a sense of special friendliness free from everyday pressures.Situated in the centre of Seminyak,within walking distance to shops,restaurants, night life and all the excitement of this area.You will arrive as guests and leave as friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bonsai Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonsai Villas Hotel Seminyak
Bonsai Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing