We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!”
Review of Bonsai Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bonsai Villas
Ranked #102 of 147 Hotels in Seminyak
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We tried this on the recommendation of a friend who had been to Bali before. We were on a tighter budget than the usual Bali prices and this place was very reasonable with very clean rooms and tastefully decorated. I liked that it was quiet and a little out of the way. If you get what you pay for here, then this place is a great deal!

Room Tip: Stay away from the street.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Bonsai Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 212 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week stay in Bali at Bonsai Villas.
It is a Japanese inspired paradise tucked in behind Bintang supermarket, well hidden from the hustle and bustle of the main road. In fact it is so quite during the day you get to hear the many birds that are local to the area and at night if your lucky you get to hear the Geckos talk to each other. It is so nice to wake up in the morning (10.00am) and not have to rush down for breakfast and just relax. The staff at Bonsai are so good they have this uncanny knack to know that you have left the premises and attend to your room, even if it is 4.00 in the afternoon. Impeccable rooms, impeccable service, it has all been said by the other fellow travelers who have stayed here. Also Many thanks to Rudi, Muss and the other guys at Bonsai for allowing us to stay with you. Nearly forgot, thanks for all those yummy cappuccinos and biscuits that were delivered to us morning, noon and night.
The beauty of Bonsai Villas is that the location is all you will ever want. Close to everything, shops, restaurants, money changers what ever you need it is all here. It is only a short taxi ride to downtown Kuta and it’s shopping areas.
Thanks guys so much. (^_^). Two very, very relaxed and happy travelers, we would give you 6 stars but TripAdvisor only has room for 5 SORRY.

Room Tip: Peak Season you need to book early. You won't be disappointed.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterMarilyn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Very nice. Beautiful decore. Private villas. Shared pool was very nice. Only 4 villa units, so nice and peaceful.

Understand these are partial-outside villas. Only the bedroom is fully enclosed. Expect a few geckos, minor ants etc. Mosquitos during the day after rainfall.. The house keeping staff is very good. At night they slip in and light mosquito coils, which takes care of the mosquitos all night. Very comfortable sleeps!

Cons:
Far from the beach. Rp20-50,000 taxi to get there.
Little hot water. Conserve & use sparingly.
Bathroom sink completely clogged up with dirty water when used.
Poor WiFi signal in the rooms.
Bathroom & kitchen could use a deep cleaning.

All in all, a great place to stay! Peaceful relaxing atmosphere. Recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SomeDood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonsaiseminyakbali, Owner at Bonsai Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

thank you for the positive remarks in your review.there is a notice in the villas requesting guests to advise the staff or myself if they have a suggestion or complaint about their villa .as for a blocked handbasin goodness knows what a previous gust must have put down it but i note it was attended to minutes after your complaint..for 99% of guests the hot water supply is quite adequate for 2 persons, one after the other.our villas are cleaned every day ,if not to your satisfaction you only had complain and discuss it .we do our best at all times for our guests which is verified by so many reviewers.the beach is appox. 10 mins walk ,if you chose to take a taxi the short distance charge is rp 25.000 = au$2.50 Much less the you would pay in an other country

rudi (owner manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Visited in Jan. 2013. The layout of each villa is generous and superb. Open air lounge and kitchen with great attention to detail. Rather glam in a oriental style. Close off the door and you have a generous bedroom with aircon and privacy. The bathrooms are gorgeous and tasteful. Did not see another guest during my 4 night stay. A little weird but a good experience. The staff are most helpful. You are close to all yet peaceful. Rather unique in Seminyak!

Room Tip: Book early
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bettyboppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The villas are modern, large and beautiful with all amenities needed, built in a fascinating Japanese style. The kitchen area is excellent, the tv has got lots of international channels, the DVD is working well etc. The pool feels clean and nice, the location is good and the whole staff is brilliant.
What some visitors might find extra interesting is the fact that only the bedroom is "indoors", the kitchen/living room area and the bathroom is "outdoors", meaning that if you shower while it's raining you definitely get wet and you tend to have geckos staring at you when you're taking a dump.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StoffeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I found Bonsai Villas on Tripadvisor. We usually stay further up in Seminyak but thought that this time it would be nice to be somewhere different. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised and were greeted by the owner, Rudi, and his staff.
Our villa was beautifully presented and we couldnt believe how close it was to eveything......its down the lane from Binang Supermarket...very handy.
A few things about Bonsai. When we arrived we went straight into the pool but found it so warm it was like having a bath. Next day we did the same, this time very early in the morning thinking that the previous day it was warm because of the weather. However, we heard from another guest that the pump had not been working for 3 days and hence the warmth of the pool and the slight discolouration of the water. I would have thought that, as guests, we would have been informed of this.
Also the electricity and water both went off several times during our 4 night stay. This is not anyone's fault bar the infrastructure of Bali, however, once again it would have been nice for a staff member just to call around and inform us that this happens quite a bit there and things will return as normal whenever????
All in all a great little place to stay in a very convenient location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stumbled across this villa accidentally when we were on our way to another hotel for our last night our holiday. So glad we did, loved it! Rudi and Merv were so helpful and explained all the great restaurants to check out! We loved all the unique Japanese/asian furniture, artwork, Japanese garden and the small touches such as the towels made into swans on the bed! Lovely stay!

Room Tip: All rooms have their own unique colour scheme. Enjoy choosing your room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omoshiroi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.3 mi away
Artemis Villa and Hotel
Artemis Villa and Hotel
#75 of 147 in Seminyak
271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Karisa
Villa Karisa
#80 of 147 in Seminyak
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
#54 of 147 in Seminyak
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#29 of 147 in Seminyak
637 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#32 of 147 in Seminyak
561 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Visala Boutique Suites Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonsai Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonsai Villas

Address: Jl. Raya seminyak gang keraton 188 | seminyak, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#74 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $46 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bonsai Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonsai Villas offers spacious uniquely designed Asian and Japanese style fusion accommodation.Built with natural teak timber and tasteful antique furniture gives a serene relaxing atmosphere.In this quiet haven you will feel a sense of special friendliness free from everyday pressures.Situated in the centre of Seminyak,within walking distance to shops,restaurants, night life and all the excitement of this area.You will arrive as guests and leave as friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bonsai Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonsai Villas Hotel Seminyak
Bonsai Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing