We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful villa, and great staff”
Review of Bonsai Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bonsai Villas
Ranked #107 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I stayed 2 times in this villa, 1st time during 1 week (2009), 2nd time for 2 weeks (2010), and i really loved this place : I particulary appreciated the zen asian style and the fine decoration. Moreover, the location is very convenient... A relaxing ambiance nearby the main Semyniak road... Rudy and his staff are really efficient and always avalaible, i've been warm welcomed. I would return there without any hesitation. These Bonsai Villas are a really precious adress.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maximus45000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonsaiseminyakbali, Owner at Bonsai Villas, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

Thank you very much for another great review.We were delighted on going back to our website to find a new reservation from you for later this month.What more could we ask for.We will be delighted to welcome you again.
Kind regards

Rudi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 212 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2011

Very helpful staff and great value. The villas are beautiful with outdoor kitchens and beautiful pool. Located right in Seminyak off a quiet side street makes the night pleasantly calm and allows you to sleep well.

The ac worked great. Only downside was the bed was a little uncomfortable and hot water from the shower was a little sporadic.

Great place to stay especially if your staying for some time and need a kitchen and nice outdoor space.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jlandress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Bonsai villas is a hidden gem in Seminyak, tucked away in a little alley away from the main road. It is so awesome, I got blown away first by Rudi's hospitality - he came out of the office to help guide the car for parking, brought us cold juice and then he brought us to our villa. In Bali everyone is smiling and Rudi has such a genuine smile - I think that is special for him as he sees the look of awe on our face for he and his friend IS THE DESIGNER and I tell you the decor is awesome.

It is very zen and japanese-themed and very lush with all the pretty flowers lining the pathways. Made me feel very tropical indeed. The villa itself is enclosed by a wall but you don't feel oppressed or walled up cos the wall is lined with all the plants and flowers. The living room, kitchen and toilet are open-concept. It makes the space very private yet airy. and the bedroom was so lovely cos there was a mosquito net (its a nice mosquito net) hanging over the bed and it is just pure elegance with all its draping. I think that was a winner for me. It was unusual bathing in the open-concept garden with the resident bird that lived in the palm tree and one little froggy which I at first was scared of but then they do look rather cute. The only drawback I would say is the mosquito but Rudi and gang would come in and arm the place with mosquito coils and ensure that we have a comfy stay and he also said to call them in the middle of the night if we are getting bitten and they would come armed with mosquito-killing-devices.

I would gush about this place for longer but I think pictures would tell a thousand words, so check out the Bonsai Villas website to get a feel of wt I am saying and of course GO THERE and experience it for yourself. Then come back and gush.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enhui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful week at Bonsai. When booking, Rudi made us well aware there would be building of 2 new villas happening during our stay, and he offered us a discount. I was a bit apprehensive as I was needing a real rest after a heavy work load. I need not have worried, the builders kept noise to a minimum and were very unobtrusive.
We arrived early and tho our room was not yet vacant we were made welcome by Rudi and staff, offered a welcome drink, a place to store our luggage. We were given a map of the local area and went off to explore whilst waiting for the proper check in time. The villas are extremely well located at the back of bintang supermarket, away from the noise of the main street. lots of shops and restaurants nearby with a short taxi drive to eat street. The beach is a 15 min walk away.
We were shown to our stunning villa, so private and comfortable, absolutely NO problem with security even tho the living area is open to the garden.
The gardens are just beautiful with several magnificent bonsai's and a big pond full of koi at the entrance
The staff are exceptional nothing was too much trouble, always available without being intrusive. When we lost power due to a rain storm the boys were there with lanterns and dropping the bamboo blinds.
We were fortunate enough to be the only guests for 4 out of the 7 nights so we had the pool to ourselves, Rudi and the staff were on hand with offers of coffee and pool towels we felt like we were in a private pamper salon for 7 days. We picked up the dreaded Bali Belly so Rudi phoned out and had medication personally delivered to our villa for us. Plenty of helpful advice regarding restaurants and places of interest.

When we left it was like saying goodbye to very dear friends, thank you ALL so much for the best time in Bali
Cherie

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DJUMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonsaiseminyakbali, Owner at Bonsai Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

Dear writer we cannot thank you enough for you warm comments.The little extras we do are not a problem but a service our staff are trained to do to help you feel your are important to us as are all our guests .We look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards to you both.

Rudi & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed at Bonsai Villas for 2 weeks in March 2011 and couldn't believe the wonderful
location of the Villas and the exceptional service we received from Rudi and Merv. Not only were they wonderful so were all their staff - nothing was too much trouble for them.
Unlike our friends who had stayed at other accommodation in February and did not receive all the wonderful "Local Knowledge" that we did - Rudi & Merv advised us the great places to shop - to visit and of course where to eat. Upon our return home & comparing notes & prices of our respective accommodation & service our friends have already booked their next stay at Bonsai Villas
The villas are located only 2 mins. walk to the main shopping area - they are just behind
Bintang supermarket which is so so handy.
It doesn't seem to matter what time you go out in the day it is never a problem for the staff to pop in & have your villa beautifully cleaned & neat as a pin bfore your return. The cleanliness was excellent.
When we visited Cocoa Beach - to watch the amazing sunset - & go elephant riding getting there was not an issue - Rudi organised the transport for us. Nothing was to much trouble - it was like they had all the time in the world to advise us on anything & everything. As there is only 4 villas at Bonsai it is the ultimate place to stay for quietness
& relaxation.
We had the most wonderful holiday we have ever had and it was thanks to the awesome team at Bonsai. We will be back as soon as we can. Thank you..

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinotakinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Our first impressions was - wow how unusual- this is fabulous. Bonsia Villas are set in a beautiful secluded japenese inspired setting only 2 minute walk to Seminyak Street- for cafes shops and the Bintang supermarket. Location is perfect. We stayed in early April (4 nights) when there was construction of 2 new Villas. We were made perfectly aware of this prior to our arrival with discounted rates. The villas are designed for 2, however Rudi accomodated my elderly mum for a night by installling a single bed (flowers all all) with mossie net in the lounge room .
As described in many posts- these villas are completely open with pull down bamboo blinds for the night. Each Villa is surrounded by a high garden wall and the enterance is lockable. The bedoom is completely enclosed and also has a lock on the door.
A special little treat is the outdoor shower and toilet - just beautiful having a shower with the birds! We always felt secure at Bonsia - and walking down the dark streets at night - we commented that you could never do this in Australia !!!
Rudi and this team are always available to lend a hand and give advice freely on dining, trips and taxies. So warm and friendly were Rudi and his team that it felt like leaving friends behind when we drove off to our next location.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank larose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonsaiseminyakbali, Owner at Bonsai Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2011

All at bonsai thank you for your review.You were great guests making it such a pleasure to attend to you.We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Rudi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

I recently visited and stayed at the villa with my sister - who beat me to logging onto trip advisor (she wrote the review below).

I cannot say enough positive things about our experience at Bonsai Villas. I agree with everything my sister said - Rudi and his team truly were excellent and accommodating hosts.

The location felt peaceful - we could hear the birds singing each morning and evening, and had the pool to ourselves most of the time. However it was literally a two minute walk and we had access to cafes, a huge supermarket, the works.

I felt extremely safe at the villas. Whilst the villas are an appropriate open-air setting, blinds and doors can be closed, and there is a front gate to your own villa which can also be locked.

I will be going back for sure! Thank you Rudi!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rktigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonsaiseminyakbali, Owner at Bonsai Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2011

Thank you for taking time to write your review, very much appreciated.Feedback from our guests make us feel we have done everything right.Please do not hesitate to contact us if you think of any improvements we can make. Rudi and staff look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
#57 of 148 in Seminyak
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artemis Villa and Hotel
Artemis Villa and Hotel
#75 of 148 in Seminyak
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Karisa
Villa Karisa
#79 of 148 in Seminyak
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#28 of 148 in Seminyak
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#30 of 148 in Seminyak
569 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Visala Boutique Suites Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonsai Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonsai Villas

Address: Jl. Raya seminyak gang keraton 188 | seminyak, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#77 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $46 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bonsai Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonsai Villas offers spacious uniquely designed Asian and Japanese style fusion accommodation.Built with natural teak timber and tasteful antique furniture gives a serene relaxing atmosphere.In this quiet haven you will feel a sense of special friendliness free from everyday pressures.Situated in the centre of Seminyak,within walking distance to shops,restaurants, night life and all the excitement of this area.You will arrive as guests and leave as friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bonsai Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonsai Villas Hotel Seminyak
Bonsai Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing