We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing vacation in Seminyak” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Amala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Amala
Ranked #17 of 141 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A relaxing vacation in Seminyak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

We recently stayed at The Amala for 5 nights in a pool villa.

I would have to agree with many of the other reviews about this property, but I think it is a bit of a stretch to stay it is the 'best in Seminyak'..

The villa is well furnished, stylish, comfortable and provides an excellent place for peaceful and secluded relaxation. The bedroom and bathroom are well designed.

The breakfast was of a high standard, better than I am used to in Bali.

The hotel spa was a particular highlight and my partner and I enjoyed the couples package we had here.

The staff were courteous and unobtrusive. One point I will mention is that the car was not once available to take us anywhere when we enquired and the property was not even close to being fully booked. It is no issue to take taxi's but perhaps this service should be completely withdrawn if so seldom available.

There are plenty of other villas in Seminyak that I am keen to check out and review, so I don't know if I would stay at The Amala again, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelliingaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    120
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
37
404
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights. Cannot speak highly enough of the whole establishment. Spa Villas were incredible. Staff and service was fantastic,nothing was ever too much trouble for the friendly staff. Will be staying here again when I go back in 2011

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsNewts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

Enjoyed our 8 days had myself and partner and 4 kids, oldest 24 youngest 14 everyone had a ball. The massages are great, we had breaky there every morning and loved each one Great choice

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

The Amala was just amazing. We've stayed in a number of beautiful villas but this place was different. The food was sensational and we had some of the best meals we have had anywhere. Plus there is a big focus throughout the hotel on healthy eating and lifestyle that makes the hotel quite different to others. Although you can still enjoy a few drinks and not get scowled at. Loved the villa, loved the staff.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tf1Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2010

Wow where do we start! We cannot say enough great things about our stay at The Amala, it was picture perfect and the attention to detail was outstanding. Our relaxing holiday could never have been achieved with the lovely and courteous staff, who were friendly and ever so helpful at any request. We felt so welcome and enjoyed the privacy of our own villa. The location is great and very safe, a nice walk to central Seminyak with loads of shopping along the way to the beach. Thank you you have all been so wonderful and miss you already. Also... Try the banana pancake at breakfast it is a must.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa_Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Island, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2010

We spent 4 nights at The Amala in Seminyak and it was amazing. The Amala is positioned in a quite side street, however when you walk to the end of the street there is so many shops which i enjoyed. The best shopping in Bali! The resort is a little boutique so all of the staff know your name and treat you like royalty. We stayed in a spa villa which was very cute... It has an outdoor bathroom, large spa in the middle of the courtyard and than a very large bedroom... The spa at The Amala is definately 5 star service, we had a few treatments there, including a 3 hour treatment which was fantastic. Seminyak is a great place to stay in Bali as it is close to all of the shops and nice restaurants. I would definately recommend The Amala.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

The Villa was exactly as it looks in the pictures. It was stunning, with the pool doubling as a spa. We took the opportunity to head back a couple of times a day to go for a swim to cool off. They are very centrally located in Seminyak, walking distance to Bali Deli (2 mins) and Ku De Ta and beach (15 minutes) - easy walk with plenty of boutique style shopping in between.

On arrival you are give a choice of oils and scented bags to use in the steam room and outdoor bath. On our last night, we arrived home from a big night at Ku De Ta to find a rose petal bath drawn for us.

Other than that, just make sure you remember what you have booked, as you might not get it unless you ask. The service here is good, with perhaps a little work needed to keep in line with the other upmarket resorts in Bali, but of course, it is about 100% better than some hotels in Brisbane! Our last day we met the Manager Lisa, who seemed lovely.
Try the Oriental Ritual. I have never, ever had a massage that good! Felt like we were walking on air afterwards.

As for food, all meals can be served in your room. This is a great option which we made good use of. Candlelight dinner by the plunge pool - why wouldn't you!

I read the other contributors before going and can happily say we had none of the problems experienced. Our room was lovely and chilly and the pillows were fine.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasualTraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#13 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seminyak Icon
Seminyak Icon
#6 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
#5 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Property: The Amala
Address: Jl. Kunti 108, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#15 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an adult only oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an adult only exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence and additional 3 units Deluxe Rooms.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing