We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at The Amala”
Review of The Amala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Amala
Ranked #16 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at The Amala”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed in both studio and villa. Studio room is a little small and you get to shower in the open (of course in your private compound). Lighting can be a scarcity at the open air WC and shower. It relies on the lighting from the room and can be challenging especially for non-couple. The perk of this room is that you will receive an hour of spa from the hotel (total two hours for two persons). However, the aircon in the room is rather weak as it takes a long time to cool the room. Also, the water pressure in studio is really weak, taking a shower can be rather frustrating.

I would strongly recommend the Villa if budget is not an issue. Really enjoyed the environment and attentive 24hrs butler service.

Room Tip: Corner villas are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yong Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Yong Y,
Thank you very much for taking the time and posting your feedback on Trip Advisor, as well thank you for sharing with us what could be improved and what you have liked the best during your stay. Some of the things mentioned can be easily adjusted and fixed and we will follow up accordingly.
Our Spa Studios are indeed our smallest category but indeed the Spa treatments included are a great addition. I am happy to see that you have enjoyed the villa experience and that you had an excellent stay with us.
We truly hope to welcome you back to the Amala in the near future. With sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    126
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
41
426
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were a group of 5 girls, and stayed for our final night of our trip at the private Amala Residence villa on site - the staff were all really helpful, and the spa facilities were excellent - especially the two ladies who gave us our massages!

We had our own butler who showed us around, brought our lunch, dinner and breakfast too us, all of which were delicious, and the facilities in the Amala Residence were fantastic!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellergirl1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear travellergirl1989,
Thank you very much for staying with us and letting us be part of your girl’s getaway holiday. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with. The Amala Spa is indeed a total bliss and I am glad you found some time in between shopping :) to experience the relaxing massages.
As well thank you for taking the time to rate us on Trip Advisor, I truly hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back the The Amala.
Sunny greetings from the Island and have a great weekend
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Hi There,

Travelling for a living, constantly using trip advisor to see where to stay, I figured it is my turn to provide feedback following a trip.

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Amala May 9th-12th. After reading fabulous reviews about the property on this site, we were excited for our stay. We were eager to stay in Seminyak the first few nights after long flights over from Canada (closer to the airport).

Upon arrival, transportation with the hotel name was waiting at arrivals. This, even with our 10 hour delay from flights. 20 minutes later we arrived at The Amala and were welcomed like family. With the small number of Villas, they knew our names as soon as we stepped out of the vehicle. They knew about our travel delays, my girlfriends birthday, it was very impressive.

We had a plunge pool room which was perfect. Like having your own apartment in Bali. Hotel was very clean, very quiet, and great for couples. Breakfast had great variety (which we learned to appreciation staying at other properties following).

Location is walkable to restaurants and shops. About a 20 minute walk to the actual Seminyak Beach.

Thank you to the Amala for making our stay so warm and welcoming. Birthday cake, knowing us by name throughout the stay, the cleanliness, quietness, make me have no reason to not provide you a 5 star rating for delivering on everything it was you promised.

Adam and Justine

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam0585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Adam & Justine,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, and giving us 5 stars. I am so happy that we could give you this great experience after your rather bad and long flight experience. Being a boutique place gives us the opportunity to really get to know our guests and make them part of our little Family and I am so happy that we could transmit that over to you.
Once again thank you for choosing Amala for your home away from home
Have a nice weekend and travel safe wherever you go
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I booked my stay for 4 days and on the 1st day i decided that i need to move out of this room and i did leave the room second day, very poor hygiene, insects inside the room, lizard inside the room, lights are not working, no sealed ceiling or windows or main door, not a clean spa, poor room service (comes late and say no to important stuff like water and lights).
The hotel itself is in a very good location, walking area to shopping & restaurants. I gave my feedback to the hotel manager before i leave and hope they can do some maintenance and this hotel will be a great one.

Room Tip: Spa Villa room, also i checked the Pool villa and not good as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramy_Safwatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Ramy_Safwatm,
First of all let me say that I am very sorry that our Resort has not met your expectations and that you did not enjoy your stay with us.. Unfortunately, being on a tropical island brings its own challenges when it comes to insects and unfortunately cannot be avoided. You may be able to avoid such encounters with lizards and other insects if you book your stay in a totally enclosed hotel room, but in a semi open villa style with outdoor bathroom, which we provided for your stay, it will be very difficult to avoid the little buggers.
Unfortunately we did not get the chance to meet, since your check in was Saturday evening and you have checked out on Sunday, which was my day off. I would have very much appreciated to hear your feedback personally.
Its sad and disappointing that you felt the need to make such a negative comment on Trip Advisor, after all the help we offered to you and your wife. We tried our best to accommodate and be flexible with your situation and your wife’s fear of lizards, unfortunately we did not have the possibility of upgrading your stay to a pool villa, since all our units were fully booked, but we took appropriate measurements for your stay and were flexible with your non - refundable nights.
Should you have any further concerns, do not hesitate to contact me directly via madlen.ernest@theamala.com
Regards
Madlen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had gone for this trip to celebrate my wife's birthday and had booked Amala for our stay at Bali. Amala is a nice and peaceful resort located 15 minutes from the beach. The thing i loved about this resort was the service of the staff, they made us feel at home and made my wife's birthday special. Having the morning breakfast at the resort restaurant was fantastic. Only thing was, i felt the studio was a little small in size, maybe next time i will book the villa, as the villa was quiet cool. Forgot to mention, the spa experience was awesome. And overall if i have visit Bali again, i will like to go back to the Amala.

Room Tip: If possible take the Villa, it spacious and really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GG5284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear GG5284,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the TA community. Indeed our Spa Studios are our smallest room category; the great benefit is to get the daily 1 hour spa treatment benefits included with this room category, which you enjoyed.
I am so happy to hear that on your next trip you are considering Amala again, please do not hesitate to contact me or our reservation team directly for your upcoming booking, in order to apply our repeater booking benefits for you.
Once again thank you for staying with us and have a great weekend
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Myself and 5 friends stayed at this resort for 3 nights past week as a association retreat. We stayed at the 3 bedroom Amala residence and also took two more rooms, one a Spa Studio and another the Spa Villa. Overall, the hotel is very well priced and excellent value. The rooms are generally spacious, with bathrooms outside for the spa bedroom and villa which I really enjoyed. The big residence also had a full kitchen, living/ dining room, and a lounge on the 2nd floor which was great to do some yoga or meditation. Though it cannot be compared to 5-star properties like St. Regis/ 4 Seasons or Banyan Tree, it offers a very personal service that definitely comparable to the big boys. Best of all, it was available for 1/2 or 1/3 of the price.

Some complaints - Food generally was not good. Breakfast is a-la-carte but selection small. It also took us at least 45 minutes to get all the dishes for a lunch for 7. Meantime, the toilet on the ground floor really reeked.... old pipes need some serious flushing out i suppose. The pool is quite clean and calming, yet the decking is weathered.... the sun lounge cushions were also abit worn and may need to be replaced.

Overall, I think it is an excellent choice for what they charge and would recommend to most travelers.

Room Tip: Definitely get a Spa VIlla, so much better than the Studio. The 3 Bedroom residence is great for fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Nelson204,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share you’re your feedback with the TA community and us. I really appreciate that you have taken the time to point out what you have enjoyed and what was special to you during your stay and things which could be improved. I am glad that you have enjoyed your association retreat here with us and I truly hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to The Amala.
Once again thank you very much for staying with us for your company meeting and we truly hope to see you soon again on the wonderful island of Bali.
Have a great weekend and best regards
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed in both studio and villa for the 3 nights in Bali. Studio room is a little small and you get to shower in the open (of course in your private compound). The perk of this room is that you will receive an hour of spa from the hotel (total two hours for two persons). However, the aircon in the room is rather weak as it takes a long time to cool the room. Also, the water pressure in studio is really weak, taking a shower can be rather frustrating.

Similar issue I find with the pool villa - airconditioning. However, pool villa is much more spacious with a private plunge pool, bath tub, steam/shower room and a WC. If you can afford and would like to spend a lot time in the room, pool villa is definitely worth it. If you are going to be out for the whole day and only need the room for shower and rest then studio would be sufficient, not forgetting the free spa it comes with.

The service is great, everyone is really prompt and Butler service is 24 hours. Still recall that I called for a bathtub clean up late at night so that I can enjoy it. Breakfast taste great and more importantly, you can have it delivered into your room so that you can dine within your own room (not recommended for studio is space is limited).

Overall, great place with dedicated service. If you are after the beach, then this location would not be a great.

Room Tip: Pool villa 6 is a corner villa, should be bigger. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Michelle L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review on trip Advisor, war appreciate it very much that you have taken the time to point out the services you really enjoyed with us, and things which could be improved.

All your recommendations for improvements are things we can easily upgrade. Once again thank you very much for staying with us and leaving your feedback.

Sunny greetings from the sunny island of Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#13 of 146 in Seminyak
1,938 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
1.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Seminyak Icon
Seminyak Icon
#6 of 146 in Seminyak
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Property: The Amala
Address: Jl. Kunti 108, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an adult only oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an adult only exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence and additional 3 units Deluxe Rooms.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing