We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”
Review of The Amala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Amala
Ranked #17 of 149 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The Amala came very highly recommended. I always enjoy a resort that is endorsed by the team at Mr and Mrs Smith. My very high expectations were met on every level.

This is the perfect resort for those looking to escape everything. I had the pleasure of staying in the Spa Villa and the Pool Villa and both were superb with their own unique charms. You cannot go wrong with either.

In particular I would like to mention the attention to detail is superb and the little services such as free hotel transfers and private drivers when necessary around town made a short trip an absolute joy.

The food throughout the resort is first class.

The spa is excellent - for first timers I would highly recommend the traditional Balinese relaxation massage.

All in all, if you are looking for a spa retreat type get-away in the heart of Seminyak you cannot do any better than this.

This is a no children resort.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong, there are only 12 or so villas. The Spa Villas are more intimate and the outdoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear JeremyB,
Thank you very much for your time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed all our services to the fullest and that we could pamper you with our Spa treatments. We value personal service and attention to details very high and it’s great to see that they have been appreciated.
We truly hope to have the opportunity soon again to welcome you back to the Amala for your next holiday on the island of the Gods.
Once again thank you for staying with us and a Happy New Year 2014.
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 676 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

Everything about this hotel is pleasant. Attentive staff, quiet rooms, the decor, the plunge tubs in the suites. Bottom line - I did not come here for my honeymoon, but if I had known this place existed earlier, I would have come here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gvk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear gvk13,
thank you very much for your wonderful feedback and to reach out to the travel community. Not much that I can add to this only...it is never too late for a honeymoon revival!
Said this, we will be extremely happy to hopefully have the pleasure of you staying again with us in future.
From all of us sunny greetings from Bali,
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We only had one night at the Amala, and due to a broken down boat we checked in much later than we would have liked (1:30am). After a long frustrating day of catching boats, buses, ferries, it was a great relief to be greeted warmly at the Amala reception and be taken to our beautiful room! We were also grateful that we could still order room service at such a late hour. We had spa treatments as part of our package but due to our late arrival we couldn't get into the Amala spa before we checked out at midday so the spa attendants went out of their way to find a spa close by that could fit me in. Although it was a very short stay, both me and my boyfriend cannot wait to stay there longer next time we visit Bali.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshJeanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear AshJeanD ,
I am glad to see on your trip home at least everything went smooth without any unexpected errors. You really did have a challenge trip from Gilli to Bali. Even though you must be busy with your routine back home you took the time to review us on Trip Advisor, thank you so much – really appreciated. I am sorry that we could not pamper you in our Spa, but I hope upon your next Bali visit we will get the opportunity to let you experience our Spa.
Have a great day, sunny greetings from the Island
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I loved everything about my stay at the Amala. The service was excellent, the spa treatments were wonderful, and I was blown away by how gorgeous my room was. I loved the incorporation of water into the design of the hotel, and I loved my outdoor bathroom. I also appreciated that everything in the minibar was complimentary and that I was treated to fresh tropical fruit every day. The breakfasts were AMAZING and the chef even came out to talk to me to make sure he got my order right. This is one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: The studio rooms were perfect for a solo traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndiA128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Andi A,
Thank you very much for your feedback on Trip Advisor. Your stay with us has been short but we all hope to welcome you back soon again to our little retreat. It has been our pleasure to provide you with all our services and pamper and relax you during your stay.
Once again thank you so much for staying with us. We wish you all the best and a Happy New Year 2014.
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A somewhat impromptu trip to Bali, and stayed in The Amala with my female cousin between 19 to 22 Dec 2013. We were both a little uneasy about staying in hotels on our own due to bad previous experiences, but in the Amala, none of those worries.

The whole experience was really pleasant, beginning at the airport pick-up. A genteel greeting, cold towel and drinks for refreshment, and onwards to the hotel which is a short distance of ~30 mins away. Reception was smoothly done, and a pleasant surprise on a free upgrade to Pool Villa (we originally booked for a Spa Villa) for our stay. This wasn't the end - whether it's by coincidence or deliberate, we did not ask, but our Villa (no. 7) was indeed near to the main activity area, as requested when we made the reservation.

So there, great first impression. And whatever we ask at whenever, the staff will always try to accommodate us within their means - whether it's recommendations for travel routes, shopping venues (well, we're singaporeans), sightseeing places, transport, food, spa, multi-plug/travel adaptor. Their helpfulness in explaining and making the necessary arrangements (transport, reservations) made things easy for us, fuss-free almost. Lovely service. And though this may be a small thing to others, we are really thankful that the staff understands English pretty well; while in another place previously, it was...... well, thank God for Google Translate.

As for the Villa we stayed in, my personal favourite was the bedroom (great for lounging without battling mosquitoes) and my cousin adored the little pool. The living area on the ground level is open concept, complete with a kitchenette; second level is the bedroom, bathroom, and an outdoor terrace of sorts - which the staff considerately reminded us to not hang out too much at because of mosquitoes. LOL. Bathroom is kinda open concept, in the sense that only a roller-blind (is that what you call it?) separates the space and the terrace - which means it can get a little chilly if you bathe late at night. Other than these, the villa is really great for chilling out, do nothing except flip through the TV channels in the living room/ watching DVD in the bedroom, take a dip whenever you feel like, laze around, indulge in great food (it's Seminyak - there's Italian, French, Chinese, not just Indonesian cuisine), read, shuffle your entire iPod library - new nano models unfortunately don't work here, unless you have a lighting to 30-pin connector.

All in all, we loved our stay here. We tried the spa service on our last night, and that was a great way to end the trip - 150 minutes of suana + foot bath + body massage + body scrub + flower bath, and throw in a free facial because it's the festive season, all for less than 90 USD per person. We will recommend other friends and family here, and will surely be back again.

Will be great if each Pool Villa can accommodate a 3rd of 4th person though, it's definitely big enough to x) and the only reason why we didn't rate a 5 out of 5 is because the living area and kitchenette wasn't that clean - couldn't find any pans or pots either, but maybe we didn't explore the place thoroughly enough. But in every other aspect, Amala more than exceeds expectations. Thank you very much for the very comfortable stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AislingLua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear AislingLua,
First of all let me thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your time and effort and I believe the Trip Advisor community can only benefit from your detailed review. I am so happy that we could turn around your less positive Bali experience into a great & unforgettable experience. Our aim is to provide comfortable & luxury villas with personal service and I can see that the team took very good care of you both, which makes me a very proud resort manager. :)
Once again thank you for entrusting us with your holiday and I wish you all the best for 2014. We all hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in 2014 to our little retreat.
Sunny greetings
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed at the Amala Residence for 4 nights with the family and it was a superb experience. We stayed at the largest room of the property with 3 bedrooms, a huge living room, private pool, deck chairs, kitchen and it was a joy. Breakfast was served in the room daily and there was a great variety of dishes to choose from so you don't run out of choices. Mee Goreng and banana pancakes were the best, and the freshly squeezed juices were superb so don't miss that out. The staff were all really pleasant and helpful with our requests and the rooms were all tidied up clean and spotless everyday. We rented a car but one point of improvement would be the driveway into Amala as is very very tiny and it was a hassle to maneuver the car when another vehicle came in. However, the staff were helpful and helped to do it whenever they could and we appreciated that.
We also had the free cooking lesson with Chef Gade who was humorous and patient with us and the 3hr experience was fun and we made really awesome Indonesian dishes and picked up valuable cooking tips.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yingxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Yingxxxx,
Thank you for your time to review us on Trip Advisor and to share with us what you have enjoyed and what could be improved. Very true that our parking facilities at the Amala are very limited but I am happy to hear that our Butlers took care and helped out wherever they could. I have forwarded your complement to our Chef Gede, and he was very happy to read your positive comments on his cooking class, he really hope you will be able to prepare now a typical Indonesian meal for your friends back home - to give them a real Balinese experience :)
The entire Amala Family and myself wish you a successful 2014… Happy New Year!
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was my first trip to Bali and after a lot of research and advice from the travel agent and friends I decided I wanted to spend a few nights in Seminyak. Seminyak itself as a destination did not impress me but The Amala (despite being in a bustling neighbourhood and close to a very busy main road) quietly tucked away from the hustle and bustle, exceeded my expectations. The villas were immaculate, perfectly presented and the staff are what make The Amala a truly amazing stay. I stayed in a Spa Studio and while some might feel it smallish, I had everything I needed in this comfortable, romantic studio with a private (courtyard-ish) outdoor shower and toilet. This particular accommodation category included a daily 1 hour spa treatment for two. The spa treatments are out of this world, the ultimate pampering and setting to unwind. As this holiday for me was having a break from my own children, choosing to leave them at home, I personally loved that The Amala has a "no children below 12 years old” policy...any parent reading this would totally understand! If you are looking to experience the shopping, cafes, nightlife and beaches (a short walk away) yet when you've had enough the ability to retreat back into your own private universe to relax and be pampered, look no further than The Amala, book now, you will not be disappointed. This really was the best of both worlds. There is nothing I can fault about my stay at The Amala, my highest recommendation. Thank-you to The Amala family for making my Mum's and my stay such a positive experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Danella C,
Thank you for staying with us and experiencing our services, we really appreciate that you have taken time to review us on Trip Advisor. The entire Amala Team and myself are very happy to hear that you and your mother have enjoyed your time with us, that you had the chance to recharge yourself.
As well we all would like to wish you and your family a happy 2014, and we hope that we will have an opportunity soon again to welcome you back to The Amala, to pamper you with our services.
Once again Thank you for staying with us. Sunny greetings from the island of gods
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Blue Karma Hotel
Blue Karma Hotel
#21 of 149 in Seminyak
724 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
#13 of 149 in Seminyak
503 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Bali Seminyak Resort
0.6 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#16 of 149 in Seminyak
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Address: Jl. Kunti 108, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#15 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $126 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an adult only oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an adult only exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence and additional 3 units Deluxe Rooms.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing