We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Stay :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Amala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Amala
Ranked #16 of 142 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable Stay :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

A somewhat impromptu trip to Bali, and stayed in The Amala with my female cousin between 19 to 22 Dec 2013. We were both a little uneasy about staying in hotels on our own due to bad previous experiences, but in the Amala, none of those worries.

The whole experience was really pleasant, beginning at the airport pick-up. A genteel greeting, cold towel and drinks for refreshment, and onwards to the hotel which is a short distance of ~30 mins away. Reception was smoothly done, and a pleasant surprise on a free upgrade to Pool Villa (we originally booked for a Spa Villa) for our stay. This wasn't the end - whether it's by coincidence or deliberate, we did not ask, but our Villa (no. 7) was indeed near to the main activity area, as requested when we made the reservation.

So there, great first impression. And whatever we ask at whenever, the staff will always try to accommodate us within their means - whether it's recommendations for travel routes, shopping venues (well, we're singaporeans), sightseeing places, transport, food, spa, multi-plug/travel adaptor. Their helpfulness in explaining and making the necessary arrangements (transport, reservations) made things easy for us, fuss-free almost. Lovely service. And though this may be a small thing to others, we are really thankful that the staff understands English pretty well; while in another place previously, it was...... well, thank God for Google Translate.

As for the Villa we stayed in, my personal favourite was the bedroom (great for lounging without battling mosquitoes) and my cousin adored the little pool. The living area on the ground level is open concept, complete with a kitchenette; second level is the bedroom, bathroom, and an outdoor terrace of sorts - which the staff considerately reminded us to not hang out too much at because of mosquitoes. LOL. Bathroom is kinda open concept, in the sense that only a roller-blind (is that what you call it?) separates the space and the terrace - which means it can get a little chilly if you bathe late at night. Other than these, the villa is really great for chilling out, do nothing except flip through the TV channels in the living room/ watching DVD in the bedroom, take a dip whenever you feel like, laze around, indulge in great food (it's Seminyak - there's Italian, French, Chinese, not just Indonesian cuisine), read, shuffle your entire iPod library - new nano models unfortunately don't work here, unless you have a lighting to 30-pin connector.

All in all, we loved our stay here. We tried the spa service on our last night, and that was a great way to end the trip - 150 minutes of suana + foot bath + body massage + body scrub + flower bath, and throw in a free facial because it's the festive season, all for less than 90 USD per person. We will recommend other friends and family here, and will surely be back again.

Will be great if each Pool Villa can accommodate a 3rd of 4th person though, it's definitely big enough to x) and the only reason why we didn't rate a 5 out of 5 is because the living area and kitchenette wasn't that clean - couldn't find any pans or pots either, but maybe we didn't explore the place thoroughly enough. But in every other aspect, Amala more than exceeds expectations. Thank you very much for the very comfortable stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AislingLua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear AislingLua,
First of all let me thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your time and effort and I believe the Trip Advisor community can only benefit from your detailed review. I am so happy that we could turn around your less positive Bali experience into a great & unforgettable experience. Our aim is to provide comfortable & luxury villas with personal service and I can see that the team took very good care of you both, which makes me a very proud resort manager. :)
Once again thank you for entrusting us with your holiday and I wish you all the best for 2014. We all hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in 2014 to our little retreat.
Sunny greetings
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    120
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
37
406
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed at the Amala Residence for 4 nights with the family and it was a superb experience. We stayed at the largest room of the property with 3 bedrooms, a huge living room, private pool, deck chairs, kitchen and it was a joy. Breakfast was served in the room daily and there was a great variety of dishes to choose from so you don't run out of choices. Mee Goreng and banana pancakes were the best, and the freshly squeezed juices were superb so don't miss that out. The staff were all really pleasant and helpful with our requests and the rooms were all tidied up clean and spotless everyday. We rented a car but one point of improvement would be the driveway into Amala as is very very tiny and it was a hassle to maneuver the car when another vehicle came in. However, the staff were helpful and helped to do it whenever they could and we appreciated that.
We also had the free cooking lesson with Chef Gade who was humorous and patient with us and the 3hr experience was fun and we made really awesome Indonesian dishes and picked up valuable cooking tips.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yingxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Yingxxxx,
Thank you for your time to review us on Trip Advisor and to share with us what you have enjoyed and what could be improved. Very true that our parking facilities at the Amala are very limited but I am happy to hear that our Butlers took care and helped out wherever they could. I have forwarded your complement to our Chef Gede, and he was very happy to read your positive comments on his cooking class, he really hope you will be able to prepare now a typical Indonesian meal for your friends back home - to give them a real Balinese experience :)
The entire Amala Family and myself wish you a successful 2014… Happy New Year!
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was my first trip to Bali and after a lot of research and advice from the travel agent and friends I decided I wanted to spend a few nights in Seminyak. Seminyak itself as a destination did not impress me but The Amala (despite being in a bustling neighbourhood and close to a very busy main road) quietly tucked away from the hustle and bustle, exceeded my expectations. The villas were immaculate, perfectly presented and the staff are what make The Amala a truly amazing stay. I stayed in a Spa Studio and while some might feel it smallish, I had everything I needed in this comfortable, romantic studio with a private (courtyard-ish) outdoor shower and toilet. This particular accommodation category included a daily 1 hour spa treatment for two. The spa treatments are out of this world, the ultimate pampering and setting to unwind. As this holiday for me was having a break from my own children, choosing to leave them at home, I personally loved that The Amala has a "no children below 12 years old” policy...any parent reading this would totally understand! If you are looking to experience the shopping, cafes, nightlife and beaches (a short walk away) yet when you've had enough the ability to retreat back into your own private universe to relax and be pampered, look no further than The Amala, book now, you will not be disappointed. This really was the best of both worlds. There is nothing I can fault about my stay at The Amala, my highest recommendation. Thank-you to The Amala family for making my Mum's and my stay such a positive experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Danella C,
Thank you for staying with us and experiencing our services, we really appreciate that you have taken time to review us on Trip Advisor. The entire Amala Team and myself are very happy to hear that you and your mother have enjoyed your time with us, that you had the chance to recharge yourself.
As well we all would like to wish you and your family a happy 2014, and we hope that we will have an opportunity soon again to welcome you back to The Amala, to pamper you with our services.
Once again Thank you for staying with us. Sunny greetings from the island of gods
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our stay at the Amala was a very memorable and an incredibly sweet experience. We were there for 6 days and 5 nights. We thoroughly enjoyed every single moment of our stay. I must mention the fine butler service, the daily delicious continental breakfast, especially the banana pancakes (a must try) and pastry basket.

The ambiance of the villas was simply too good, being set out in a peaceful locality. The location of the villas was particularly suitable to us, as many shops, stores and restaurants were easily accessible. To mention some, the sunset road with numerous shops, the seminyak beach,and a vegetarian restaurant - Queen's Tandoor, an authentic Indian restaurant where you can get almost all South Indian as well as north indian dishes.

The pool villa, villa - 11, was amazing, with a charming sofa room, bedroom and jacuzzi. The pool was sufficiently large for two people, the perfect size. The daily replenishment of cookies, fruits was something we really enjoyed.

On the whole it was a very soothing and wonderful stay at the Amala. I would certainly recommend the Amala if one is visiting Bali!

Cheers,
Karthi & Madhu

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madhurabhashini S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Karthi & Madhu,
Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor. I still remember my great times I had in Bangalore, Ooty, and surrounding areas and I am really happy to hear that Bali will stay in the same beautiful memory as South India has stayed in mine. I hope we will be able to welcome you back soon again to The Amala.
Once again Thank you for staying with us, The entire Amala Family and myself wish you a Happy New Year
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Amala for 4 nights from 19 December 2013. I highly recommend this place if you are looking for pampering and relaxation. The villas are immaculate, perfectly presented and spotless. The service was excellent, all the staff were very accommodating and friendly. Breakfast served in your private villa. If you looking for a spa and massage treatment... look no further. Nothing to fault with this place. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tazb b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Tazb b,
Happy New Year! Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Our Spa is indeed a real treat, I am very happy that you had the possibility to experience the Spa services during your stay, and that we could pamper and relax you.
Once again thank you for staying with us, we hope we will be able to meet you again in 2014.
Sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Amala exceeded all expectations I had of a typical villa stay. Locations are great as it's near the entrance of the main road so you won't get stuck in traffic if you stayed near the beach.
It's not too far from the beach either - just 10min of walking or you can always use the complimentary Amala shuttle to the beach and walk back to the hotel while passing many many shops along the way.

Service from the staff was outstanding. I was contacted prior to the stay for activities provided by the hotel. We took the cooking class and my wife also had the spa. Both were amazing. Being guided by a wonderful chef Gede in Balinese cuisine was a worthwhile unforgettable experience . Meals prepared by him thereafter was also of high standard in terms of taste and presentation. (They are also able to cater to our dietary requirements)

My wife also had an amazing time with the spa services - the masseuse was amazing. Must try she said .

As for the rooms, it was clean and well attended. Due to having real trees within the villa , we discovered a bird's nest inside ours due to loud mating noises made at night but being nature lovers, we did not inform the staff. We manage to tolerate it after a night .

We also had a lovely candlelight dinner and bath - arranged by the staff in spectacular details.

In short, my wife and I love staying in the Amala. It was an amazing experience.

Kaeko, who

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vafirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Vafirish,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us in such detail, we are all very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I forwarded your feedback to our team and Chef, Gede, especially was very flattered with your positive comments and that you mentioned him on Trip Advisor – a real motivation for us - Thank you very much.
The bird nest still exists we could not destroy it, we have however slightly relocated it, the villa want be effected anymore by the nightly singing performances of the love birds.
Once again thank you for staying with us and we truly hope to welcome you back soon again
Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed at the Amala upon a recommendation from a friend and we were very pleased with our stay. Despite being in a bustling part of the city, very close to a main road, you could hear no noise from the streets, and you could even feel your stress levels drop as you entered the gates. All of the staff were kind, courteous and helpful. We couldn't believe how eager everyone was to help us, or to simply smile and say hello. The food was excellent - you get spoiled at breakfast everyday! We also enjoyed the spa services. What a great way to start your vacation! I had two "Balinese" massages, a facial and a foot massage/pedicure. The staff were very courteous and respectful and the treatments were excellent. All in all, we very much enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to stay again, or recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Spa Villa which was small, but fine for our purposes, as we spent our days out expl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missmands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Missmands,
The idea behind The Amala was simple: to create the perfect wellness retreat quietly tucked away in the heart of Bali’s most exciting neighborhood. I am very happy to see that our idea could be realized and that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your time to share your experience at The Amala with the Trip Advisor Community. I really hope that we will be able to welcome you soon back again to pamper you with our services.
We wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#12 of 142 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 142 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
#5 of 142 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seminyak Icon
Seminyak Icon
#6 of 142 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Property: The Amala
Address: Jl. Kunti 108, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#15 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an adult only oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an adult only exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence and additional 3 units Deluxe Rooms.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing