We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful. DO NOT STAY HERE.”
Review of Puri Duyung Hotel

Puri Duyung Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seminyak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Puri Duyung Hotel
Ranked #90 of 119 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Below is the email I sent to the owner after our departure. I have yet to receive a response.

The only positives about our stay were the super sweet female staff members and the complimentary breakfast - it was actually delicious.

FYI, the rates on their website are not accurate; they're actually charging more, which is mind-boggling.

--------


My friend and I stayed at the Puri Duyung the nights of 27 Sept and 28 Sept 2011. We were extremely disappointed with our experience.

First, no one informed us that the very loud noise from the Red Room would be so audible in our hotel room. Both nights we were unwillingly kept up until at least 2am because of the loud music. Last night there was a live band that was louder than any music we've ever heard. It sounded like they were playing in our hotel room and not the Red Room.

Second, the room we were given (room #109) had a number of problems:
1. Big hole in bathroom ceiling.
2. Toilet did not work properly - paper did not flush. On our first night, someone came to look at it, told us it was fixed, but we still had the same problem after he left.
3. Shower head was broken. The shower head was not able to be affixed to the pole because it was broken. Additionally, the water pressure drained if you tried to use the shower head standing up. So we were forced to sit in the tub and use the shower head in order to take a shower.
4. 2 of the lights in the room were not able to be turned off (the light on the wall by the terrace, and the light over one of the beds), so we had to sleep with the lights on.
5. The air conditioner remote stopped working in the middle of the second night. We were unable to turn off the air conditioner. Additionally, we think the air conditioner vent is very dirty, because we both got sick (stuffy nose) after sleeping in the room.

Last, we found construction materials and tools scattered about the pool and staircase area and we were woken up at 8am each morning to the sound of construction (hammering, banging, etc.).

We are respectfully requesting a refund for our stay. Please get back to us as soon as possible.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms; choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2010

Puri Duyung - We stayed in this hotel for 12 nights, its is a well run and clean hotel whom the staff are only too keen to please all guests and ensure you are well looked after. We negotiated a price of approx €30 per night B&B. We stayed in the ground floor pool view rooms - clean, spacious, comfortable with nice 4 poster beds, marble floors and bloddy big bathroom with large baths. The rooms were cleaned daily and the breakfast alothough limited was good - eggs/bacon and really good balinese coffee - nice after a night on the arak alcohol. The pool was small, a nice deep end very refreshing and clean after a day on the beach, The beach is a nice 5 min stroll and the hotel is on the lively side of Seminyak. Please note that the bar plays live music until 3 in the morning so this might not suite all but a few araks before bed normally cuts the music out!! Overall, a great stay, excellent staff and great value for money - would recommend for all people looking for a nice place in a lively area. PS - Kuta centre and beach is about 15 mins in a tax in bad bali traffic.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkNoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

The Good
Family owned hotel, Big rooms , leading right out onto the pool. Four poster bed! Big bathroom, a bath that two could lie side by side in!!
Only 12 rooms, easy access to beach and the bustling streets of Seminyak
Only 500,000 Rp a night (£35.00)

THE BAD
It is part of the Red Room Bar/Night Club , where you have your breakfast.
BUT it thumps music out hard and loud every night! Earlist was until 1am and the latest was 3am or was it 4am we were so hacked off it didnt really matter what time you just cant sleep .

So if you are into night life and out every night or are hard of hearing this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goodeffort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veropoulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PavonBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank あらいぐま
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.8 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 148 in Seminyak
3,497 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 148 in Seminyak
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vila Lumbung
Hotel Vila Lumbung
#43 of 148 in Seminyak
1,125 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#11 of 148 in Seminyak
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Duyung Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Duyung Hotel

Address: Jl. Abimanyu No 15 X, Seminyak, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 119 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range: $30 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Puri Duyung Hotel Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing