We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing more to do - Room 436”
Review of W Bali - Seminyak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Bali - Seminyak
Ranked #19 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Despite a small hiccup at the beginning at check in, this week long break was nothing short of stunning. The staff were amazingly friendly, understood english well and were able to cater for our every need.

The room we had was an ocean view on the 4th floor with a skylight for the shower and bathing areas. Stunning. I suspect though that the 3rd floor may have had a little more difficulty capturing the wonderful view of the pool area and sea crashing around.

Where does one start. This is a contemporary hotel set in a culturally sensitive area and has tried to capture all of that. It is funky, cool and delightfully surprising at every corner. Everything starts with one word - Ouch for the clinic, Away for spa area, Welcome for the reception area and on it goes.

Our room was beautifully appointed. We had a problem with the HDMI connection and after reporting it, was fixed in minutes with an apology letter following. Quite spectacular. The room fittings and all of the accouterments were of a high standard and you literally could have arrived with nothing other than your clothes and you would have been fine.

The Woo Bar was very interesting. It catered for the younger set for sure but given the wide demographic I think they have it right. From the constantly colour changing "W" on the edge of the beach to the wide variety of the drinks - I would strongly suggest that you go for the jugs of cocktails - excellent value for money. (Dont think of driving after though - then again as an Aussie in Bali why would you want to do that anyway!)

The breakfast spreads for both the Starfish Bloo and Fire were so delightful and stunning it was difficult to choose what to have - everything you could every want for breakfast was there including the al a carte menu. The choice of Indonesian, Japanese and traditional breakfasts were all available and omelettes and the like made in front of you (including the French Toast!)

The W is set right on the beach away from the main road so there is a reliance on the shuttle buggies - a small inconvenience, however given this is the road to your home away from home, and the view you get coming and going up the bamboo sided road (looks like you are going down a tunnel) is a small price to pay.

We were treated to another special event which was a wedding which completed the ceremony and reception with a wonderful display of fireworks.

There were staff ("Talent") everywhere all with their James Bond walkie Talkies making sure that everything was done and that requests were processed promptly. The Pool guys were walking around handing out towels and offering to clean people's sunglasses! I mean really! They made a special effort to remember your name and it was not uncommon to find the same staff on for dinner as for breakfast the next day. They do work hard!

Again another example of the service. We left for the day on a tour. We left our DND button on by mistake. Accordingly, the room was not made up. We called down for some more water - an essential component - and next thing we had someone knocking on the door asking if they could make up our room at 7 pm in the evening! All those things that you just love to have happen.

Check out went smoothly too. Interesting language interpretation. We headed from W to Maya in Ubud (completely different style of resort!) and the lady at the check out says "You must be pi**ed off you are leaving. Very funny but no criticism at all - Aussies say that all the time and there is that underlying and constant willingness to assist and conform.

Overall a wonderful break. Hint: don't travel from Kuta to Seminyak when there is a festival or procession on! 90 mins! normally 25! Travelling from Seminyak to Kuta can be a pain as there is a lot of mad traffic. Should cost no more than about 50000IDR but dependent on the traffic. Always ask for the meter to be put on!

Thank you to the team at the W - we needed a break and we certainly got one with you guys.

Stuart

Room Tip: Ocean view for sure on the 4th floor lower down you will get the view of the restaurant roof and met...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Hello Squigley100,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am happy to hear that you found the time and enjoy and relax within the colourful playground of W bali. I will pass your comments back to our talent, they will be happy to hear that they assisted in making your stay a relaxing and memorable one.

We do look forward to welcoming you back for future wow moments!

All the best,

Craig Seaward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,870 - 1,876 of 3,500 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was the 3rd time visiting Bali for me and my wife. 1st time we visited Bali, we stayed at Banyan Tree in Ungasan. The problem with Banyan Tree or Bvlgari Hotel is that there is nothing else around the hotel and to go anywhere took us more than an hour in horrific traffic. My wife and I stayed at the W the second time with all the guests for my wedding. Even though the wedding was not at the W, we held parties there, and everyone enjoyed staying at the W.

For whoever is visiting Bali for the first time, here is my suggestion. Stay in Seminyak area because Seminyak is filled with great restaurants, bars, clubs, great locations to watch sunset, and etc. Within Seminyak, W is always my choice because not only it offers the quite tranquility in the pool villas, it also offers fun environments in woobars and lounges. Great staffs too.

Highly recommended.

Christian

Room Tip: I'll stay at the pool villa. W has the great main pool, but sometimes, you need to get tanned n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Hello Christian L,

Thank you for your recent review. I am happy to hear that you chose to return to W Bali after your first W experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back for more wow moments within the colourful playground of W Retreat & Spa bali.

All the best,

Craig Seaward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

At first we booked a 'Spectacular Ocean View' which unfortunately was at a lower floor with an obstructed view of the roof of Starfish Bloo restaurant downstairs. The rusty exposed metal and the cigarette butts on the roof disappointed us. We called the attention of the front desk and immediately they offered us a different room as well as suddenly, several men where up the roof picking up cigarette butts! Second room took so much time to be cleaned and after 1.5 hours, we had enough and after several phone calls, moved to the villa instead- thanks to the very attentive Director for Rooms. The villa was pretty awesome, with its own private pool. I ended up staying at the villa most of the time (room service rocked- I had a few signature martinis - the chili infused one was a personal favourite). The breakfast was at Starfish Bloo and had choices of eggs Benedict, NY steak, sushi, and for one of those extremely rare instances, I gave in to a very guilty seared foie gras. And I had it washed by some well-deserved glass of champagne. I just wished that there were more fans in the common areas as well as the dining - it was sooo hot and humid. We also tried the Woo Bar (cant get enough of those chili martinis) and Fire (the grilled prawns are just too die for).

Bali is such a cliche destination and we've put off coming here because it was way too popular so the only way for us to enjoy the island is to be as private as possible. We did that in Ubud and in Seminyak- only the villas of W measured up to our expectations. The beach was average, but the accommodations...Love love love love it.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank riain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Hello riain,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. It is helpful to gain such insight from our guests. Firstly, we do apologise for the Inconvenience caused during your check in process. I am happy that you enjoyed your villa experience and indluged on our selection of cocktails.

We do look forward to welcoming you back for more wow moments.

All the best,

Craig Seaward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel is: outrageous, over the top, hip, an interior designed masterpiece. And we loved it.
From the monent you step into the foyer you are aware that this place is special. Certainly it is a luxury five star but I've stayed in five star hotels before that feel vulgar in their ostentation. This place is a masterpiece of classy over the top modern design. And it is well designed - for example there is no air conditioning in the central area as it is naturally ventillated. There is no dark wood Balinese aesthretic running through here it is all limed oak and pale colours with white mosaic style floors. Everywhere I wander I see beautifully designed and crafted funiture, fabrics and floor coverings. It must have cost millions to build.
The bedrooms are huge. Ours was the basic garden view furnished beatifully. The bathroom is in the centre of the suite and separated by glass walls. Press a button and a sun blind slides across the ceiling bathing the whole room in light.
We ate lunch in the Starfish restaurant - about $30 for three courses - excellent value. We also ate traditional food in the Fire restaurant one evening and this was the best food we ate in Bali over three weeks.
We came here having heard of the cool music vibe at the Woo Bar. Sure it has a fab view of the sunset but if the DJ is playing tunes that you feel are not to your liking then then you won;t like it. This was the case with us. Couldn't quite understand why we listened to heavy metal one night as the sun was going down followed by tech house - how strange.
The hotel is on the beach but you can't swim here as the current is too strong. Beachside the hotel is a big disappointment. It is a very hot one hour walk to civilisation (Seminyak beach) and what an awful walk - the beach is very heavily littered and the scenery is building sites and vacant land covered in debris - hardly uplifting.
Townside the hotel is about one mile from the village but you are provided a free shuttle twenty four hours which we used. The village is quieter than Seminyak with a good selection of shops and bars. Try the Deck on the left of entrance and just past Potato head. Potato Head is worth a visit - access it from the beach and book a table for food in peak periods. We went three times to this establishment as the music and vibe was better.
The staff are fantastic, nothing is too much trouble. The hotel manager sat down with me one day and we had a long and very interesting discussion about music. So interesting to learn how a big hotel like this operates.And was so impressed that the manager made time for me and was generally interested.
Top tip : If you like staying in the best hotels but baulk at the price then do as we do: book the basic room and skip breakfast ( we needed a break from the breakfast feast anyway after two weeks elsewhere). If you do this, then I would rate this as the best value for money hotel that I have stayed in for a long time. After all, for about £50 less you can stay in a cramped room in a so - so hotel in Kuta or Seminyak. What's the better value?
Also try "Ku De ta" for drinks or food with good house music overlooking the beach in a sumptuous setting hanging out with the uber cool jet set
Overall, would not hesitate to recommend the W. Hotel. You must see it.

Room Tip: Higher the better above the tree canopy and as far as possible from Potato Head side (if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windsorhouse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Hello windsorhouse2,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. Thank you for your review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your W experience. I have already shared your comments with the rest of the W team as a reminder of what they do best. I’m delighted that you enjoyed our location and room design. W is a contemporary design lead lifestyle brand within individual unique property elements.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the colourful playground of W Bali for more wow moments soon.

All the best,

Craig Seward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed at the W Seminyak in January 2014. After going down a long driveway, the hotel is split into two sides with a gravel drive in between. The main part of the hotel is on the left (with lift access straight up to the rooms and stairs down to the restaurants and bar). The villa check-in and locations are on the right.

We chose to stay in 2 different rooms during our stay to get a feel for both. After checking in we were driven on a buggy to our One Bedroom Pool Villa. The villas are all set on a grid and are spaced out like little houses that have high wooden fences and a door. At first it seemed like it was too far from the hotel but after getting our bearings it was like our own little paradise within a big resort. We stayed during wet season so when it was raining we called the front desk and got the buggy to pick us up to either take us to reception or to the front of the hotel as the front of the hotel is quite far from reception (just make sure you tip them a little!).

The Villa was stunning and it feels like you're so far away from everything. Upon entering there is the pool, deck with table and chairs and a sitting area in the corner. Sliding doors open from the deck directly to the bed. There is a lounge area on the left and bathroom area on the right - archways separate this area rather than doors but you can't see in directly unless in the doorway. There are his & hers sinks and a huge open wardrobe. There are also swinging doors to the toilet and also the shower - probably a little awkward noise wise if you have Bali Belly haha! :)

After a few nights in the villa we moved to a Spectacular Ocean Facing Retreat in the main hotel. Upon entering the room there is an open bathroom area to the left. The door to the toilet is pretty much see through and the showering area is completely open also. Further along is the main part of the bedroom but you can't see into the bathroom when in this area. There is also a huge balcony overlooking the pool and the ocean - amazing!

We went to the Woo Bar one night next to the pool which has a fantastic little outside seating area. Potato Head Beach Club is just up the road which is another amazing Seminyak bar. We also visited the Fire restaurant for buffet breakfast which had a lovely selection although you pay for it! (Try and get it included).

All in all our stay at the W was incredible. The little finishing touches such as music playing when you enter the rooms as well as welcome cupcakes make it even better! I preferred the Villa over the Ocean Room as it feels like your own little home away from home but both experiences were amazing. Due to the open design of the hotel as well as the walking distance to and from the villas the hotel would be a much better experience during Bali's dry season (mid year) as we did find it a little quiet and gloomy during our January stay. Enjoy!

Ps. Instead of ordering the most expensive room service in the world (more than American/Australian prices) look up 'Hallo Restaurants'. This company in Bali will go to restaurants in the area (as many as you want in one delivery) and then bring the food to your door for the cost of the food + approx. $5 for the delivery fee.

Room Tip: The hotel is split into two. The ocean facing rooms such as the Spectacular Ocean Facing Retreat tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Hello Callyn83,

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your villa experience and all that is on offer within the retreat. I am very sorry to hear that our IRD offering did not meet your level of expectation, we do provide a wide range of selection to cover all price points and tastes for our guests.

We do look to welcoming you back to W Retreat & Spa Bali for more Wow moments!

All the best,

Craig Seaward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

The facility and amenities were impeccable. We had beautiful weather for mid April and were able to enjoy the pool. You can see the beach, but there are no hotel facilities or chairs past the pool area. Security guards keep the solicitors off the property. Gym equipment, especially the bikes could use some extra maintenance. Beware of your bill and tipping. There is a 20% service fee and 10% tax added to each bill. There was not an extra spot for a tip. On day one we ordered drinks by the pool. After the second drink, we had a lot of difficulty getting served. Someone in our party went into the bar area and ordered for us and inquired about tipping. Apparently, you can add a tip to the check even though there is not a spot and it seems to be expected that you will tip extra if you want service. This disappointed us since it is one of the pricier venues and the drinks are $13 USD before the service fee, tax, and extra tip. The restaurants were all delicious and with the exception of the pool wait staff, the staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious, clean, and had all the amenities we needed, including glassware and electric converters. DJs and loud music begin playing by the pool around 5 pm. On weekends this lasted until at least midnight and could be heard in our room. If you are there to relax during the day and party at night, then this is the place for you. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and considered it a treat. We did leave the property for many meals, drinks, and massages because the surrounding area is so much more reasonable.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room, it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LHPUSAviaOki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Hello LHPUSAviaOki,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at W Retreat & Spa Bali and had an amazing holiday. I am sorry to hear that the service at Woobar did not meet the level of expectation that we strive to achieve for each one of our guests.

We do look forward to welcoming you back and will ensure that you depart having felt the wow factor of W Bali.

All the best,

Craig Seaward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Words can't describe the incredible experience we had with W hotel, we stayed at one bed room private pool villa no:36 . The villa was magical and absolutely breathtaking. the staff was incredibly nice and showed amazing hospitality from the moment we stepped on the hotel.The villa with the pool was refreshing and the "bale bengong" so comfortable while listening "W hotel" CD .. Love the track. Everyone on the grounds try to please us and is always happy to help with " whatever whenever "you need.
The service was flawless. The staff knew all our names and addressed us personally everywhere we went: away@spa; w lounge: fire restaurant . the manager on duty ( Ms Maya) looks after us from day 1 ; make sure we were happy and comfortable at the villa until we check-out . Also went to the away spa had the balinese massage was spectacular.
Thank you , we will back soon this year !!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jkperth2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Hello JKperth2013,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had a fantastic W experience and enjoyed the colourful playground of our retreat. I will pass your thanks onto Maya, she will be happy to hear that she assisted in making your stay a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back later in the year.

All the best,

Craig Seaward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.7 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 148 in Seminyak
1,588 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#11 of 148 in Seminyak
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.2 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#22 of 148 in Seminyak
1,078 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#6 of 148 in Seminyak
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Bali - Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Bali - Seminyak

Address: Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: $275 - $875 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Bali - Seminyak 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape hectic philosophies, and why not plunge into vibrant glitz amidst natural splendors? We're a new found playground along the shores of Seminyak, where trendsetting chic restaurants, clubs, fashions and eclectic galleries await discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Bali - Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
w Retreat And Spa Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing