We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most beautiful spots ever”
Review of W Bali - Seminyak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Bali - Seminyak
Ranked #18 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful spots ever”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked a 1 bedroom pool villa and stayed for 6 nights. By the way, if you can, a villa is DEFINITELY the way to go. Sure, your room doesn't look out over the ocean, but you can just walk to the main part of the hotel, which is right on the beach, for that. Our villa was gated and private, just for us. It had a small outdoor pool, lounge chairs, table for having lunch and a gazebo, filled with comfortable pillows to hang out on in the shade. We found that having our own little oasis to come back to after hot days outside the hotel was perfect. No screaming children (there were a few at the main pool) and complete privacy.

The only complaint I have is that the paths to all of the villas is made up of extremely uneven stones, which make it difficult to walk on, especially in the evenings. But it's a quick walk, so it was fine.

Our villa booking included complimentary breakfast every morning in Starfish Blu, which looks out over the beach and ocean. Great food and wonderful service. Head down to Woo Bar in the evenings for live music, sunset-watching, cocktails and little nibbles...we started a few fun nights doing this, and i was perfect. Don't forget your camera/iPhone though...the sunsets here are absolutely breath-taking.

The hotel is about a 5-minute cab ride to the main shopping area in Seminyak. It is completely walkable (we did it the first day), but the lack of sidewalks and heat make it not so fun. Opt for a cab, they cost almost nothing. By the way, no need to be worried about security -- upon entering through the hotel's main gate, every car is stopped and checked for suspicious items (ie bombs) thoroughly. Completely safe.

I really cannot say enough great things about this hotel, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelEatPrayLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,436
    583
    185
    86
    47
See reviews for
620
1,526
147
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed as a couple in a garden retreat room in April of this year...we loved it so much that when we returned home we rebooked for Oct and took our two boys aged 2 and 4. This time we chose a 1 bed villa which was beautiful and easily big enough, youngest in cot and eldest had a made up bed on the huge lounge. We did not think the hotel catered (or should I say "focused") on kids but were still determined to stay again and were pleasantly surprised with 3 kid activities scheduled daily...kite flying, origami, sand castles etc...good supply of pool toys, beach bucket and spades etc available at the magnificent multi level main pool...
The staff were so wonderful with the boys and everything else they do is equally outstanding. Thank you W staff and management!
This hotel is simply amazing. We are frequent Bali holiday goers. The short flight from Perth, no time change and magic people of Bali makes it the perfect destination for our young family..I can't imagine we would be happy staying anywhere else after our 2 faultless W experiences..it is beyond comparison to other resorts we've stayed at. Our villa was superb, just like the website photos ...plentiful supply of products...quick room service (not just for dining but things like ice supply etc..) buggies to take you to and from the lobby to your villa (although we were conveniently located quite close to the lobby so rarely needed them except when kids wanted a joy ride) and buggies from the lobby to the main entrance...never had to wait for more than a few mins fr hs service.
Fantastic breakfast at StarFish Bloo the breakfast restaurant for villa and suite guests...a la carte and buffet or both...and real coffees included. Location is absolute beach front and all our favourite restaurants nearby which we could enjoy as a couple as we have a trusted and much loved regular babysitter in Bali.
I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. If you do not feel the "wow" factor then you are hard to please ..and I would love to hear of another hotel to rival OR better the W Retreat Seminyak if that's possible ...we will be returning soon I hope!

Room Tip: A villa gives you the best of both worlds when staying in a hotel resort complex...ask for one close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Spent 5 nights in a one bedroom villa. Amazing. Large private pool, cabana, huge bathroom, and sitting area. Free WiFi and there was a separate area for Villa guests to have breakfast. Very good value when comparing villa prices at other 5 star resorts.

Concierge was very helpful and the Gym / Spa were great.

It's just a few mins walk along the beach to the hot spots like Potato Head, Ku De Ta, and restaurants like La Luciola etc. I only left the hotel twice - it was too nice to leave.

There were more families with children than I expected. By noon, the main pool got a tad noisy with children splashing around - that's why having a Villa is nice. Seclusion and privacy when you want. It's true that food and beverages aren't cheap, but you're paying for location and service and overall fabulousness,

I would definitely return,

Room Tip: Try not to get a villa past the Oasis lawn - the villas past there are a tad further from the main p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetlagwoofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had an amazing 8 nights at this incredible resort! We couldn't fault anything (not that we were trying), the food was amazing, the position on the beach is spectacular (and perfect for the famous Balinese sunsets), plus the pool villa that we staying in was sumptuous and incredibly well appointed (the amenities even included a beach pack including sun screen, beach towels and thongs/jandals). From the funky music played throughout the resort, to the 5 star food and deluxe level of comfort, the W Hotel and Spa has it all. Thanks for having us, we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: It really depends on whether you want privacy and space or views. We chose a villa because we love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PonsonbyDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights, Ocean facing room and the view is absolutely gorgeous! Staffs are everywhere around the hotel compound, always on the lookout in case any hotel guest has any needs, very attentive, helpful, and English speaking. Lots of variety for breakfast and you may choose your own mug for your coffee or tea.
If you don't plan to rent car, do not worry, there are plenty of restaurants/ cafes/ bars within walking distance.
It is a family friendly hotel as well. They have activities in the morning around 10am for children such as sand playing.
It is a hip hotel with music playing by the pool during day time, not the kind of quiet resort type. We totally enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fera F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

If you want to feel at home, this is the place! Nice venue, great DJ, cocktails - would recommend to stay away from cocktails of the day ad they seem to are very weak in alcohol! A nice venue to chech out though!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AnneFrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the W hotel in Seminyak in September 2012 for the second time having visited the previous year. From the moment we arrived at the Hotel entrance we were reminded why we had come back for more. This hotel is just so "Uber Chic" it defies belief! The whole place from the gardens to the rooms to the restaurants and bars are simply like no other hotel that you will ever visit.

The staff here are so friendly, professional and attentive, the Hotel image is just so cool and the vibe is simply invigorating. If your looking for something that just goes beyond a hotel vacation don't hesitate making a booking and get yourself checked in. There's only one drawback...... you will never want to stay at any other hotel brand again!!

Great work "W" and all thanks to the "W" talent, we shall see you again in 2013, were already counting down the days until we can relax in style!! Get them unique breakfast mugs ready!

Room Tip: The higher floors are a little quieter if your fussy about hearing some of the fun going on at the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraddersMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.7 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 146 in Seminyak
1,542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#19 of 146 in Seminyak
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 146 in Seminyak
1,639 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Bali - Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Bali - Seminyak

Property: W Bali - Seminyak
Address: Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#16 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#18 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Bali - Seminyak 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape hectic philosophies, and why not plunge into vibrant glitz amidst natural splendors? We're a new found playground along the shores of Seminyak, where trendsetting chic restaurants, clubs, fashions and eclectic galleries await discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your W Bali - Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
w Retreat And Spa Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing