We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the W Brand” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Bali - Seminyak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
W Bali - Seminyak
Ranked #25 of 141 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Love the W Brand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Being from the States I was pleased to see that that the W had opened in Bali and so was an obvious choice for us to come here and WE LOVED IT. Everything about it was great, the staff, the people, the atmosphere, location, event nights and we loved the price. We had looked at other 5* hotels in the area but the W was best priced and we were not dissappointed.... You have to try Star Fish Bloo and the Sunday Brunch was something I had not experienced before. Very clever to only do it once a week therefore making it an occasion to look forward to but reserve, even if you are a hotel guest, it gets very busy....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Hello Becky G,

This is certainly a compliment. Though W was born in the United States, it is great to hear that the standards translate abroad. The Sunday Brunch at Starfish Bloo is one of my favorite events at the Retreat. It does make for a nice escape within our escape and the selection of food is fantastic. Hopefully we will have you back again, but make sure to try our sister Retreats if you get a chance (Maldives, Koh Samui & Vieques).

All the best,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,162
    551
    179
    82
    46
See reviews for
539
1,401
136
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

From the moment we arrived, until the moment we left Mr Craig Seaward (the General Manager), Jack Yoss (the Chef de Cuisine) and the entire W Talent, ensured that our stay was nothing short of spectacular. The entire W team offered us a level of service unmatched by any other South East Asian and Australian hotel to date. Our one off Chef de Cuisine prepared degustation menu served at Star Fish Bloo (comprising of a well balanced mix of Japanese, Thai and Western fusion flavours) combined with the architecturally inspired decor, ocean facing view and extensive resourt amenities made our "Whatever Whenever" moment a one of a kind experience - which we will cherish for the rest of our lives. If your are looking for a resort that offers you the entire package than the W Bali is definitely the hotel for you.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stan33Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Hello Stan33Perth,

WOW! What a great review. I am pleased to hear that your W Bali experience exceeded your expectations. There really is nothing better than sitting at Starfish Bloo, under that stars, with Chef Jack as your guide for the evening’s set menu. We’re hoping you will return – we’d love to welcome you back!

Warm wishes,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

I've been to a lot of Ws before and had mixed-results, however this W is phenomenal. Stayed here in March 2011 shortly after their opening. The rooms are very well designed and have super cool showers with a sky-roof! The amenities are also great; they're from their Bliss spa line. The pool(s) were nice - not too crowded and several different ones to go into.

Location-wise its very convenient to walk to Potato Head on the beach for drinks and hang on the beach. Its also a quick cab to the rest of Seminyak such as KuDeTa.

Had a meal at Starfish Bloo - also 5 stars. The chef came over to thank us and asked for feedback on his dishes. Highly recommend the black truffle, pork belly congee.

Unluckily i didnt have a chance to try their Villas, but will definitely shoot for that next time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ap0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Hello ap0k,

Thank you for your review. The W Bali is indeed a special place and I am pleased to hear that we didn’t disappoint. The Retreat concept for W puts a great twist on the resort experience. No doubt that you have an appreciation for aesthetics and share the same passion for fashion, design and music.

We do hope we can welcome you back sooner rather than later!

Warm wishes,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

We've just spent a week at the W Resort Seminyak in one of the villas. The hotel is brand new, as it opened in the spring of 2011, so the amenities are pristine and in great condition, but at the same time, the service is still far from impeccable, as can be expected from a hotel that opened a few months ago.
On the bright side, the design is extremely edgy and contemporary, in the room as well as in the lobby and in the 2 main restaurants. The overall style of the hotel is one of the best in Bali, second to those of the St. Regis, Bulgari or Alila hotels. The design itself may in fact not be the most refined, but it is definitely the trendiest. The location of the hotel is another positive point. It is conveniently located close to the "eat street" of Seminyak and clubs such as the Potato Head and the Ku De Ta.
However, the conception of public amenities is not optimal for young kids, with numerous flights of stairs, decorative pools etc. Moreover, the quality of the service is not on par with what you would find at one of the Four Seasons resorts or the St. Regis for instance.
At breakfast for example, we had to be proactive to actually find a waiter willing to take our order (this kind of event also occurred at the bar once). Then, coffee arrived more than 20 minutes later, when we were almost done eating. Although such a trivial detail shouldn't be that frustrating, it is still far from what you would expect at a hotel like the W. Furthermore, the staff sometimes seemed to lack instructions/experience. One thing that particularly annoyed my father was that waiters oftentimes brought me the check or the wine list, even though I look 30 years younger, just because I look European whereas he looks more Asian.
Finally, although the personnel were kind and relatively attentive, it was sometimes hard to be understood and as a result, we were often disappointed by the service we received. In fact, most employees – including the concierge – speak a very rudimentary English.

NB: Being a Starwood Prefered Guest (Gold) or premium American Express cardholder literaly doesn't add any benefit at the W (besides a 2pm "late" checkout that had to be explicitly requested - the regular 4pm checkout could not be secured), although it brings nice perks at the St. Regis, which also belongs to Starwood.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nourriture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Hello nourriture,

Thank you for posting your review. We are happy to hear that you appreciated the design of W Bali. I am sorry that your W Experience was not on par with your expectations. We are constantly working to improve our service standards and I have taken your comments to the Director of B+F to address them with the Talent.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss the issues further: gm.craig.seaward@whotels.com

Warm wishes,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

I have never reviewed a hotel before on trip advisor although I often look at this before booking. The one thing I noticed aboout the W hotel in Bali reviews were that they were quite mixed. I am really glad that I still booked and stayed at this amazing hotel. From the beautiful rooms to the amazing decor within the hotel we kept discovering new nooks and cranies within the hotel. The pool area was also great! However the thing that stood out to us most was the unbelievable service within the hotel. NOTHING was too much trouble and everyone had a smile on their faces the whole week we were there. Whatever we required we received!!! Craig the GM and his awesome team were a pleasure to meet and you can see why this hotel has such great service when you meet them. We can't wait to go back soon!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Hello sharon t,

It was a pleasure meeting you as well. I am delighted to hear that your experience at W Bali inspired you to post your first review. Everyone has their opinion, but there is nothing like experiencing something for yourself and then being more than pleasantly surprised! This is the point I like to reiterate with the Talent: every person that walks into W is an Insider and they should not leave without feeling that way.

Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back any time!

Warm wishes,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

This place is quite simply the most visually amazing resort I've every seen. You will say "wow" every 30 seconds when you arrive! The designers are very talented people!

But what no one else mentioned was -

The beach is ugly. Not even nice to walk on. The sand is black and there is so much rubbish on it that you need to have a Tetanus injection after walking on it! Within 2 minutes we passed a used "rubber thingy", dog poop and broken beer bottle. And the waves are dangerous so don't even think about swimming here. Unfortunately, we really like a beach holiday - so this disappointed us. Why hasn't anyone mentioned this?

Secondly, the resort is located on the outskirts of town (restaurants, shopping). You can't just pop out to have a cheap pedicure or a quick shop. You have to get a cab and sit in traffic so it's a bit of a pain. But keep in mind, the cabs are plentiful and embarrassingly cheap.

We had one week here.

We started in a ocean front room. There is absolutely no difference between a Ocean View room and Ocean Front room so don't pay the difference. The rooms are quite small and although funky decor, are not that exciting. You MUST request 4th or 5th floor. 3rd floor have timber ballustrading which affects your view. The higher floors have glass ballustrading on the balcony, the views are obviously better, and I think most of them have the famous skylight window above the shower.

We got room 337 - right next to the lift and right next to the housekeeping pantry/area. What a nightmare! Request a room far from this area!! Once the party crowd had finished walking passed every night "woohooing", the housekeeping would start with their noisy trolleys etc. After 2 nights we moved to a pool villa (to get some peace & quiet!).

In my opinion, Seminyak is the home of the huge, gorgeous, romantic pool villa! They are plentiful and cheap in town!

The W pool villas are nothing exciting. They are not huge, and have you seen the price?!!!!! Yes, service is magnificent, and they are private. BUT - our plan of getting some sleep didn't happen! The aircon is noisy - like a jet taking off noisy! In the dead of the night, it's really loud. And it's just too hot to sleep without it on. Apparently the units were custom made and there is not enough space in the ceiling for them.??? All villa's have the same problem. Some people complain - some are fine with it. We weren't.

If you are happy to just plonk yourself at the resort, this is the place for you. If you like to pop out once or twice a day - book one of the many villas in town - this will make for a easier holiday.

Breakfast is one of the best I've seen in the world - we travel heaps - 5/6 star funky resorts are our specialty! And this brekky is the best! We loved the trays of treats being constantly offered. Nice.

Beware the noisy children by the pool. We have children and would never bring them to a place like this. Whats up with these people? It is such a romantic/funky/crazy/fun/swanky/sexy type of resort - soooo not a family resort. Anyway, if your child does have a temper tantrum by the pool - perhaps take him/her away for a walk. And if your kids are squealing with excitement in the pool whilst jumping in - perhaps ask them to quieten down a bit. It's just nice manners. Wow I sound like a grump now!
Perhaps the W could allocate an adults only area.??

The day spa - WOW! Stunning to look at. Had a great massage, but my pedicure was ridiculous. The foot massage lasted for 90seconds. Not good enough.

The service at W Hotel is wonderful. Every staff member is smiley and beautiful and we found their English to be quite good.

I feel awful saying this - but we won't be back. We've learnt that Seminyak is not a beach destination - but we still loved the shops & restaurants. So next time we'll grab one of those US$200/300 per night pool villa's in the middle of town (C151 looked amazing!) - and then we'll head to Nusa Dua for some beach time.

Room Tip: 4th & 5th floor hotel rooms have better balconies. Further from the lift is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ILuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Hello ILuv2Travel,
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review. In regards to the beach in front of the Retreat, we do have our regular beach cleaning and are now working with the Rotary Club to put in permanent workers to clean the beach from Seminyak to Uluwatu as well as to facilitate a recycling program. The waves are dangerous as the there is a really strong rip so we do advise guests not to swim there.

I have also taken your points about the spa and WET area and spoken to the relevant department heads.

I’m sorry to hear that you will not be coming back. There are certainly several wonderful places in Bali and I’m sure you would not be disappointed at our sister properties St. Regis, Laguna or Westin – all located in the Nusa Dua area.

If you have any other concerns, please feel to discuss them with me directly: gm.craig.seaward@whotels.com.

Warm wishes,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

Just back from an incredible week at the W in Seminyak. From the time of arrival to our expansive bedroom with its amazing bathroom and its incredible views everything that one could want from a hotel was available with plenty of wonderful surprises built into the decor and design and a subtle Bali influence without it being in your face.
Breakfast was a daily treat and experience and caters for all dietary needs. Fortunately the ultra modern gym was open 24 hours a day so we could exercise our somewhat excessive breakfast away.
The pool area has multiple seating arrangements be it sitting on massive day beds, cabanas or lounge chairs. The pleasure of having a daily staff member spray a scented mist whilst relaxing in the area just made you feel that this place really is special. The big plus was that the pool seating was well spaced so you didn't feel as if you were on top of a stranger like we saw in other Seminyak hotels.
The staff have been well trained or maybe it was just the wonderful nature of the Balinese in ALL departments of the hotel - nothing was too much trouble to get anything we wanted to happen such as recommendations for restaurants and places to see and things to do.
Everybody is pleased to have you as a guest of the hotel and proud of the work they do.
We will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Hello Rodney N,

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind post. You make a good point about the seating around the pool – there are several configurations and even though there are plenty of lounges, you never feel like it is overcrowded. The Balinese have a natural hospitality that is highlighted when they get to engage with our guests. Let us know when you are ready to come back. We would love to have you!

All the best,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.7 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#12 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Bali - Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Bali - Seminyak

Property: W Bali - Seminyak
Address: Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#23 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#24 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W Bali - Seminyak 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape hectic philosophies, and why not plunge into vibrant glitz amidst natural splendors? We're a new found playground along the shores of Seminyak, where trendsetting chic restaurants, clubs, fashions and eclectic galleries await discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your W Bali - Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
w Retreat And Spa Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing