We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil oasis in the heart if Seminyak, Villa Angelo offers terrific value!”
Review of Villa Angelo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seminyak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Angelo
Ranked #130 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A tranquil oasis in the heart if Seminyak, Villa Angelo offers terrific value!”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Bob,Marinus and their staff are wonderful hosts. The beautiful pool and terrace are a wonderful sanctuary in busy Seminyak. The rooms are spacious, very clean and simple yet tastefully presented and the breakfast was hearty and made to order. Nothing was too much trouble which made my stay a pleasure. I'll definitely be back. Thanks gentlemen!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevo063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    31
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
3
52
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maleny, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed three nights mid June, the pool was nice for swimming, the owners are nice guys, very helpful, as were the staff.
I want to add to the review of "sundayboys" below regarding the security of the room safes, not just at Angelo though. We went on to stay at 2 other villas and a resort during our stay, and had a room-safe problem at each of them. For a start, each safe had a different type of combination, either four numbers and a letter, or six numbers, or three number and a letter, it all became rather confusing, so the result was several calls for assistance. Actually one was a flat battery problem. However it got me to thinking that access to the master key was just too easy, it seemed that almost any staff member could get the key to open any safe. I have done a search on TA Forums for this subject in Bali, and it comes up quite often. Those room safes are not as safe as we think, or expect. I am not saying that we had a problem at Villa Angelo though, we had a great peaceful stay there, almost too quiet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I am here at the moment and have two more nights before I leave. The location is as good as it gets, the whole place is spotless and the staff are just wonderful. Marinus, Bob and their team go out of their way to make everyone feel very welcome. I'll be back for sure, securing a reservation can be hard though as there seems to be so much repeat business so get in early!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chips2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at the 'Villa Angelo' in May. It is in a wonderful location, the rooms are spacious and well kept, with attention to detail. During our stay the Wifi worked well. The Dutch owners are great, and we experienced only one 'black out'

During the biggest part of the day, one of the two owners is present, and things run smoothly. At night, when they retreat to their own house, affairs are taken over by the staff and that is a difference with some implications.

On the last day of our visit, money was stolen from us, from the room. Quite a considerable amount of money too. We kept it under lock in the safe in the room, and apart from maybe a few minutes, we were always around the safe when it was open. Nevertheless, someone succeeded in taking away cash from us.

We have reported this to the owners and they have done everything in their power to find the culprit, but to no avail.

Reading other people's reviews here on tripadvisor upon return, we understand this has happened before.

So, a general warning seems appropriate: When you are carrying cash, or other valuables with you, be warned that, although you think it is locked up in a safe, it might be not as safe as you think it is. Our advice would be to keep your valuables on you at all times, and not to trust the safe in your room.

It is a warning that makes us rather sad, because we DID have a great time in Villa Angelo. And we genuinely think the owners are doing the best they can to make it work.

It's not very likely we will go there again, nor that we would recommend it to our friends, and that is a shame really; the owners deserve a lot better, and so does the location; it IS a perfect hideaway from the hustle and bustle of Seminyak.

So, if you are thinking of taking the plunge: go right ahead, you will not be disappointed. But be warned, and keep your valuables with you at all times!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sundayboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This men only gay guest house has it all!
Right in the middle of the busy centre and gay centre of Seminyak Bali there is this little quiet peace of paradise called villa Angelo. When the door opens and you enter from the street alley you expeariance a great tropical jewel of a place.

Above all the place is clean and tastefull. The two owners Bob and Marines are lovely hosts that together with their super friendly and happy staff make you feel at home instantly.

I recomend this guest house to al gay people that want to expeariance all the good things of Bali in the best way possible!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michiel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

I know 5 of the 6 gay and clothing optional accommodations on Bali, stayed in 4 of them to try them out. Without any doubt Villa Angelo is my favorite, should be ranked #1. Laki Uma Villa is very nice too, is my #2. Angelo is clothing optional (pool area), Laki Uma is 'total nudity encouraged' but a bit remote - you always need (free) villa transport or taxi (back). Or rent a cheap motorbike for usd 6-7/day.
Although I like total nudity, five reasons still make Villa Angelo my favorite:
1. Very central location. Walking distance from Bintang supermarket, post office, many shops and restaurants and the gay bars in Jalan Dhyana Pura. Beach access 10-15 minutes walk.
2. Great personal approach by the local staff and the Dutch owners Marinus and Bob. The villa is their daytime home, most of the year. And they like to treat guests as friends in their home. Pleasant and informal.
3. Very well kept, elegant, perfectly clean, tropical property with spacious garden and beautiful pool.
4. Excellent breakfast with enough choices to make variation possible: you don't have to eat the same every day during your stay.
Apart from this (like in the other gay places on Bali) bringing in a friend is no problem. Very open and relaxed. My second visit (May 2012) was as pleasant as the first (Jan 2011).
Need I say more? Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The 5 rooms vary in size and price. Mine - next to the living room on the ground floor - had 2 queen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WimYogya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn,New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Villa Angelo is a really pleasant place to stay. I stayed for 5 nights at the end of March and beginning of April. The place was extremely clean,the staff was really nice,breakfasts were very good and the pool was lovely. A great thing about Villa Angelo was that it was a pleasant and quiet oasis right near all the action and the main road,which can be crowded and noisy. You should definitely opt for the pickup service because this place is located down a small alleyway and not known to the average cab driver. All in all, a good quality guesthouse.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeNap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.6 mi away
Spartacvs Bali Hotel
Spartacvs Bali Hotel
#14 of 113 in Kerobokan
150 reviews
1.4 mi away
Balinea Villa - Rooms & Spa
0.1 mi away
Villa Kinaree Estate
Villa Kinaree Estate
#77 of 417 in Seminyak
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Sirena 4
La Sirena 4
#182 of 417 in Seminyak
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kembali Villas
Kembali Villas
#16 of 417 in Seminyak
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Bali Asri
Villa Bali Asri
#20 of 417 in Seminyak
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Angelo

Property: Villa Angelo
Address: Jl. Petitenget no. 884, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Angelo - An All Male Gay Resort Villa Angelo is an exclusive all male gay clothing optional guesthouse right in the center of Seminyak, close to the gay bars, restaurants and shopping-area's. Located at the main street Jalan Raya Seminyak, between Jl. Double six and Gay street, just minutes driving from the Gay Beach, Callego Beach.Villa Angelo is built in Balinese style with all the modern facilities and keen attention to details. Villa Angelo has: five air-conditioned bedrooms with King-size and Double Queen-size beds, attached private bathrooms with hot/cold running water and shower. The 2 superior rooms are equipped with a fine bathtub. Villa Angelo has a beautiful, tropical garden with a big swimming pool. It is a quite secluded place and just a few steps away from the busy street. We speak English, German & Dutch. Your host Bob is looking forward welcoming you! Stay in a real Balinese villa:- Spacious, 2 storey villa in natural colors- Four nice Terraces- Quick access to Sunset Road, so quick assess to Bali - Walking distance to the gay bars- All rooms have an attached private bathroom- TV international cable channels- Great Dutch breakfast!- Swimming Pool- Clothing optional- Men only- Free WIFI- 72 hours holding room services- Minibar in all rooms- Two blocks from the beach- 4 bedrooms with kingsize beds- 1 bedroom with 2 queensize beds- Mini fridge in bedroom- Modern sunbeds in garden Hotel Facilities :Swimming pool; Laundry & dry cleaning service; Internet services; Taxi services; Airport transfers; Parking area for motorbikes; Room services.Room Facilities :Air conditioned; Kings, Double and Queen size beds; Shower; Hot & Cold running water; Toilet; Wash your hands basin.Places Around :A lot of shops; Beach; Restaurants; Cafe: Bars ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Angelo Hotel Seminyak
Villa Angelo Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing