We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place, great location, great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Angelo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seminyak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Angelo
Ranked #132 of 410 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“great place, great location, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

I stayed as a solo traveller in Dececmeber for 5 nights and loved the place. The building is beautifully built in balinese style to a very high standard (think polished stone, polished teak, polished everything) and the place is kept scrupulously clean at all times (every time you look up from your book one of the guys are cleaning something). The pool is beautiful and a perfect temperature. The breakfasts are very generously sized even by western standards, good quality and you will not be hungry. Balinese coffee (unless it is Luwak) is generally not very good because most of the beans they grow in Bali are of very low grade, but the coffee the guys made for me here was always very good and strong and plenty of it (coffee is extremely important to me). The food and juices were always great and heaps of them - you won't need to eat lunch, unless you are a porker. You get bacon and eggs, pastries, yoghurt, fruit and more. There are plenty of common guest areas where you can relax in the sun or the shade, including a mini library for guest use. The view over the local rooftops is charming, as is the laneway you access the villa from. Bintang supermarket is right across the road, though you wouldn't know it because the villa is shielded from the road and noise by thick, high walls and at least 4 other buildings (excellent). It was blissfully silent in the evenings. Other guests were friendly, kind and chatty. My room was massive and the size of a 1 bedroom apartment in Sydney. The bathroom was enormous and lovely, finished in 3 different types of stone. The water pressure is a bit low but i never found this to be a problem. I paid $87 AUD in the peak season for my massive room with brekafast and the pool and I thought this was excellent value for money. My airconditioner worked very well (it didn't break down once) and my stone floored room was beautiful, and a very comfortable bed. Lots of english speaking TV stations on the box if you need to have one night in to recover and veg out. The location is very central and you can walk to everything. I would definitely stay again and I wish the boys all the best with their business - it's a genuinely good value offering and a good concept and I hope they continue to succeed.

Room Tip: ask for an upstairs room - I had one with windows on 3 sides - wonderful x-ventilation. Stay the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    31
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
3
52
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

This was a nice enough place. I have to say though that I was underwhelmed with Seminyak - a bit generic and over-crowded. The Villa staff were friendly and helpful, breakfasts were good and the rooms were nice enough.

Room Tip: Good but basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Obwahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

It´s a little special review. My English is not so good: I am a Dutch native speaker. But more I visit the villa of an very old friend of me/us. I and my friend, we have a relationschip from 25 year, were a little bit afraid to go to an special gay villa.
What´s happens there ?
It is a very nice villa with lovely rooms, garden and swimmingpool. Also a good breakfast and a nice staff. (I had given the villa an excellent if the swinngpool was bigger/greater. )
When you wanted rest you get rest, you could relax. When you wanted a liitle bit more excitement, it was also possible. In the bars there were enough handsome boys to enjoy. Sometimes other guests take a boy to the villa.. It did`nt disturb the rest of others.
The most nice thing, more than I had expected were the conversations with other guests, From Australia, China, Malysia , Singapore, French , even Holand.
I foud it a geat experience. And I miss the staff. Not sexually, but the friendlyness and talkings.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Everybody have his own wihses and mostly it is ssuccefull to aarange that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hessel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

I just came bk fr Bali today. I must say that this is a good place to relax as it has a cosy place with friendly staff. The staff were always ready to ask whether we were okay and needed anything. I like the swimming pool and the garden as well. Felt really homely there. Like what many have said earlier, this place is near the main road, Jalan Raya Seminyak, so we could get around easily and there were many shops along the main road. It was a wonderful experience for us.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are big
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C00lshawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

While this is a beautiful gay run villa, having the host conversing with other guests until 5:00 in the morning outside our room, is not our idea of peaceful.  The accommodations are clean, the breakfasts are wonderful, and the location is great.  However, the evening staff can be inappropriate in their flirtations and need to be more professional.  This is certainly an option for a base place to stay while visiting the local Seminyak, but expect a 3 star visit.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WWDWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

The Penthouse is some distance from the Villa and the gay clubs. However, it is walking distance from the gay beach. The apartment is clean and nice and well maintained. It is also cool and very breezy. There is a beautiful balcony from which you can view the sunset over the Indian Ocean.

Ideal for couples wanting a quiet, private holiday. There is a good restaurant called "Biku" near the Penthouse. The Penthouse has its own kitchen if you prefer to self cater.

One of the staff from the Villa comes every morning to cook a fresh breakfast in the Penthouse.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

The Villa Angelo is a perfect place in so many ways. Hidden away just off the main Seminyak streets is this small haven of peace and tranquility. From the moment I stepped through the gates I knew I was going to love it, and it got better!
The pool is delicious; not too big, not too small. Surrounded by immaculate gardens. The host and staff were gracious and helpful without overkill, but always around with a smile if you needed to ask a question or just wanted a chat. The host's introduction was "Welcome to our home" and he meant it.
The rooms are enormous and clean with large en-suite shower rooms. Everywhere the villa has tasteful furnishings picking from the best Balinese styles.
The Villa Angelo is small, with just 5 rooms, and they only provide breakfast - but a tiny walk to the main street plants you directly in a world of fabulous restaurants, great shops and superb nightlife. There's a beautiful beach just beyond the bars and very cheap taxis will take you to Kuta or further if you feel adventurous.
It must take a lot of planning and hard work to create this perfect balance (I never once saw the house staff take a break from cleaning). The Villa Angelo is a very special place I would gladly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AIian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.7 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#29 of 142 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Club Villas
The Club Villas
#33 of 142 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.6 mi away
Spartacvs Bali Hotel
Spartacvs Bali Hotel
#17 of 115 in Kerobokan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sunclad Villa
Sunclad Villa
#84 of 201 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.4 mi away
Balinea Villa - Rooms & Spa
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Laki Uma Villa
#21 of 41 in Kerobokan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Angelo

Property: Villa Angelo
Address: Jl. Petitenget no. 884, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 410 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Angelo - An All Male Gay Resort Villa Angelo is an exclusive all male gay clothing optional guesthouse right in the center of Seminyak, close to the gay bars, restaurants and shopping-area's. Located at the main street Jalan Raya Seminyak, between Jl. Double six and Gay street, just minutes driving from the Gay Beach, Callego Beach.Villa Angelo is built in Balinese style with all the modern facilities and keen attention to details. Villa Angelo has: five air-conditioned bedrooms with King-size and Double Queen-size beds, attached private bathrooms with hot/cold running water and shower. The 2 superior rooms are equipped with a fine bathtub. Villa Angelo has a beautiful, tropical garden with a big swimming pool. It is a quite secluded place and just a few steps away from the busy street. We speak English, German & Dutch. Your host Bob is looking forward welcoming you! Stay in a real Balinese villa:- Spacious, 2 storey villa in natural colors- Four nice Terraces- Quick access to Sunset Road, so quick assess to Bali - Walking distance to the gay bars- All rooms have an attached private bathroom- TV international cable channels- Great Dutch breakfast!- Swimming Pool- Clothing optional- Men only- Free WIFI- 72 hours holding room services- Minibar in all rooms- Two blocks from the beach- 4 bedrooms with kingsize beds- 1 bedroom with 2 queensize beds- Mini fridge in bedroom- Modern sunbeds in garden Hotel Facilities :Swimming pool; Laundry & dry cleaning service; Internet services; Taxi services; Airport transfers; Parking area for motorbikes; Room services.Room Facilities :Air conditioned; Kings, Double and Queen size beds; Shower; Hot & Cold running water; Toilet; Wash your hands basin.Places Around :A lot of shops; Beach; Restaurants; Cafe: Bars ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Angelo Hotel Seminyak
Villa Angelo Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing