We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pampered goddess”
Review of Goddess Retreats

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seminyak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goddess Retreats
Ranked #14 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“pampered goddess”
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Surf goddess retreat went above expectations. Went to relax and recuperate from a hard working life and to decide wether I could cross surfing off my list of things to do. Haven't decided yet, but had a great time. Many things to do and you can take it at any pace that you want to, being a bit slower in my 40's it was no big deal to kick back and relax when I wanted. A great group of girls from all over the world, at different stages of life which was really neat. Cooking class was delightful and spa treatment was exceptional, and this is coming from a spa junky. Would highly recommend, and would come back again

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellygt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lightfootwanderer, General Manager at Goddess Retreats, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We would like to thank you for enjoying your holiday with us at Surf Goddess Retreats! Every guest opinion is valued and we can not begin to express how grateful we are to you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you chose to join us as your retreat of choice in Bali.

As a beloved Surf Goddess Alumnae we offer you extra special savings and bonuses on any return visit to either Surf Goddess or Bali Goddess Retreats, please simply email us directly to find out details.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
Couples
0
152
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

When I booked the surf goddess retreat I did not really know what to expect but thought it seemed nice from the pics and website. Well let me tell you that it's much better than I could have imagined and the pictures do not bring justice to how beautiful and tasteful the Villa Serena is. The decor and quality of finishings of the lodging and facilities is just amazing. Oh and did I mention the food? Joyce is the best cook and hostess. Her dishes and presentation of the meals and the table settings are spectacular. I highly recommend this trip to anyone who is in the area and is looking for a great time, meet nice people, learn how to surf, practice some yoga. Even if you have never surfed or done yoga before i am sure anyone would enjoy this retreat. I plan on coming back next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katia75Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lightfootwanderer, General Manager at Goddess Retreats, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We would like to thank you for enjoying your holiday with us at Surf Goddess Retreats! Every guest opinion is valued and we can not begin to express how grateful we are to you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you chose to join us as your retreat of choice in Bali.

As a beloved Surf Goddess Alumnae we offer you extra special savings and bonuses on any return visit to either Surf Goddess or Bali Goddess Retreats, please simply email us directly to find out details.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2010

i attended the may 23rd session at surfgoddess retreat in Bali and had the experience of a lifetime. Not only did i exceed my expectations in the water but became fast friends with the staff and other retreaters. It was a perfect fit for me only having a limited amount of time in order to plan my vacation...i just needed to arrive and everything else was taken care of for me. The accomodations at villas serena were absolutely gorgeous and i felt at ease and relaxed from the moment i stepped in the door. Oh and the food WOW!! The food was beyond incredible and prepared with so much love...not enough good things to say.
I gained a great deal of valuable information and benefitted so much from my experience at surfgoddess and am so very glad that i went
you should too :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smaclean75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lightfootwanderer, General Manager at Goddess Retreats, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We would like to thank you for enjoying your holiday with us at Surf Goddess Retreats! Every guest opinion is valued and we can not begin to express how grateful we are to you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you chose to join us as your retreat of choice in Bali.

As a beloved Surf Goddess Alumnae we offer you extra special savings and bonuses on any return visit to either Surf Goddess or Bali Goddess Retreats, please simply email us directly to find out details.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

I must admit to be being a little scared of this trip - by myself - no real surf experience.... But wow. A small group of like-minded women from all over the world left the boys behind and came together in this special space to learn to surf, do yoga , be pampered and be nourished by the AMAZING food cooked with love by Joyce and the girls. I felt at home immediately - the Villas are beautiful. Communal dining on most days really unites the group - but you have plenty of time to chill by yourself. The Director of the Goddess retreat is head goddess herself Chelsea, for whom nothing is a problem. This holiday is for that quirky girl like me ( well at 42 maybe woman!) who embraces the holistic, surfer dude, yogini and healthy lifestyle a goddess retreat offers - as long as it's luxurious and involves day spas as well!! The surf instruction is safe and encouraging. (Melinda our surf guide is a corporate refugee surfer chick legend- inspiring!) We all stood up and had great fun from Day 1!!!! The yoga teacher Susan teaches with great passion and grace and it really complements the surfing. Don't be concerned to come alone - one of the real highlights has been the friends I made throughout the week. They are all welcome in Sydney anytime!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlashPacker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lightfootwanderer, General Manager at Goddess Retreats, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We would like to thank you for enjoying your holiday with us at Surf Goddess Retreats! Every guest opinion is valued and we can not begin to express how grateful we are to you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you chose to join us as your retreat of choice in Bali.

As a beloved Surf Goddess Alumnae we offer you extra special savings and bonuses on any return visit to either Surf Goddess or Bali Goddess Retreats, please simply email us directly to find out details.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

I literally had saved Surf Goddess Retreats as a favorite website for three years on my computer. After racking up enough Air Singapore miles for a cozy seat , I had no more excuses and it was time to book.

I had travelled extensively and had attended other fitness type retreats. I expected this retreat to be exciting and fun but I didn't expect to be blown away. Blown away I was...I'm not sure even where to begin, but I'll try.

What made my experience so memorable were the individuals that led the retreat. So much sincere effort, warmth, and generosity was exuded daily by our Goddess leaders.
Joyce--our concierge and private chef was incredible.. so much so I asked her to adopt me : ) Every meal was an insane, delicious and artistic master piece. I'm not exaggerating, the Goddess kitchen rivaled any five star restaurant.. My mouth is still drooling from the gourmet bliss.
Melinda, our surf coach went above and beyond to help everyone regardless of their level of surfing experience. She even added in extra surf time by taking the advanced beginners and intermediates out at dawn to secluded surf breaks. I felt as though I had a private trainer out there in the water and there is no greater rush than taking that first wave as the sun is rising.
Susan our yoga guru was lovely, insightful and also incredibly generous with her time and attention. Each class was unique and thoughtful and definitely had a healing effect upon our tired and sore surf bodies.
Chelsea, Chelsea..how could i forget the supreme Goddess, creator and kahuna extraordinaire? This is one cool woman. She led this retreat so smoothly and never did I hear the word "no" come from her voice. She bent over backwards to make every one's experience enjoyable. So many thoughtful details it would take me five hours to list them all...but here are a few notables: top notch accommodations..private and luxurious without being pretencions. Great equipment...every size and shape board for any level of surfer.
Bliss day..which was a pick your poison since every choice was amazing.. white water rafting, cooking class, bike trekking, spa treatments, ..I'm forgetting a few I'm sure.

Ah and the group...I must admit I was a bit leery about being around an estrogen filled villa for an entire week. However the women that attended were extraordinary and had travelled from all areas of the globe. We all bonded through this amazing experience and I felt as though I had new sisters by the end of the retreat. I'm getting vaclempt just thinking about how beautiful it was to watch everyone improve, and grow as surfers. It is difficult to describe the inner strength that we all were tapping into by the end of the week.
A Ghandi quote that I had heard many years ago finally began to resonate with me..."Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever."

The retreat just ended but I know I'll still be carrying the pitter patter in my heart for a long time. The Surf Goddess Retreat affirmed for me that adventure is good for the soul. So my advice to those considering this vacation is an affirmative, carpe diem. Go for it because the experience you'll have is priceless.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank surfkitten2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lightfootwanderer, General Manager at Goddess Retreats, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We would like to thank you for enjoying your holiday with us at Surf Goddess Retreats! Every guest opinion is valued and we can not begin to express how grateful we are to you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you chose to join us as your retreat of choice in Bali.

As a beloved Surf Goddess Alumnae we offer you extra special savings and bonuses on any return visit to either Surf Goddess or Bali Goddess Retreats, please simply email us directly to find out details.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, USA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

At 47 years old, I finally decided that it was time for me to learn to surf! Luckily I found Surf Goddess Retreat (it was recommended by a female business leader in the surf industry). The retreat provided just the right mix of comfort, activities, nurturing (particularly by providing gourmet healthy food), and space to relax. Rooms are classy, Key West bed and breakfast chic style (with air conditioning, nice linens, ceiling fans, and plenty of space). The food provided was creative, delicious, and varied - and we had lots of affordable choices for those meals we ate outside the retreat (a Moroccan restaurant near the villas had excellent food). Massages from recommended therapists can be booked at "home" at the villas for approx. $10 US per hour - a small spa service room on the property has two massage tables (and air conditioning - yes, you are detecting a theme, it is warm in Bali!). The local surf instructors were enthusiastic and supportive for all skill levels and you can decide how little or how much help you prefer as you learn to ride the wave. Surfing is not easy but it does an amazing thing for your soul: while you are in the ocean with your board you must focus on surfing to the exclusion of anything else, and this is a wonderful gift for those of us who are accustomed to doing a zillion things every day in our work and home life. A wonderful quote (I believe attributed to artist Jane Evershed), prepared me for this retreat: "While others preferred to chase the wave, I chose to ride it."

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharksisterb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lightfootwanderer, General Manager at Goddess Retreats, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We would like to thank you for enjoying your holiday with us at Surf Goddess Retreats! Every guest opinion is valued and we can not begin to express how grateful we are to you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you chose to join us as your retreat of choice in Bali.

As a beloved Surf Goddess Alumnae we offer you extra special savings and bonuses on any return visit to either Surf Goddess or Bali Goddess Retreats, please simply email us directly to find out details.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

My stay in Surf Goddess Retreats more than passed my expectations. I have to admit, I was a bit nervous as it was my first trip on my own and I had never been to Asia before. The villas were beautifully maintained in lush peaceful gardens. The staff were cheerful and friendly. And lets not forget the fun fun fun in the surf surf surf with my fellow "Goddesses" :-) !!!!! Thanks to everyone at Surf Goddesses Retreat, and the new friends I've made, for making this holiday the ultimate treat to myself. For ladies with the urge for adventure and some pampering - this is the place to be. Hopefully one day I will be able to return again to enjoy the spirit of Bali and all it has to offer. Thank you, thank you, thank you XXXX

  • Liked — it was private, clean and well maintained
  • Disliked — nothing!!! perfect for me
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Balimocosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lightfootwanderer, General Manager at Goddess Retreats, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We would like to thank you for enjoying your holiday with us at Surf Goddess Retreats! Every guest opinion is valued and we can not begin to express how grateful we are to you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you chose to join us as your retreat of choice in Bali.

As a beloved Surf Goddess Alumnae we offer you extra special savings and bonuses on any return visit to either Surf Goddess or Bali Goddess Retreats, please simply email us directly to find out details.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.5 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#18 of 146 in Seminyak
3,295 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 146 in Seminyak
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 146 in Seminyak
1,627 reviews
13.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#43 of 196 in Ubud
1,920 reviews
14.7 mi away
COMO Uma Ubud
COMO Uma Ubud
#11 of 196 in Ubud
1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goddess Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goddess Retreats

Property: Goddess Retreats
Address: Jl. Beraban 333, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Bali Surf Goddess Retreats)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DESIGNED FOR WOMEN, BY WOMEN. Goddess Retreats was established in 2003 to be the premier provider and most loved women's retreat, creating memorable surf, yoga, ski / snowboard, fitness and overall wellness retreats for women in beautiful Bali and beyond. Our retreat holidays are specially designed to offer as many amenities and personal touches as possible for solo female travel (or with a friend), so you leave feeling well cared for, re-invigorated and re-connected with yourself! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surf Goddess Retreats Bali Hotel Seminyak
Goddess Retreats Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing