We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surf Goddess Retreat provides a great place for grown women to learn to surf, rest, and play like kids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goddess Retreats

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seminyak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goddess Retreats
Ranked #22 of 410 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
South Florida, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Surf Goddess Retreat provides a great place for grown women to learn to surf, rest, and play like kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

At 47 years old, I finally decided that it was time for me to learn to surf! Luckily I found Surf Goddess Retreat (it was recommended by a female business leader in the surf industry). The retreat provided just the right mix of comfort, activities, nurturing (particularly by providing gourmet healthy food), and space to relax. Rooms are classy, Key West bed and breakfast chic style (with air conditioning, nice linens, ceiling fans, and plenty of space). The food provided was creative, delicious, and varied - and we had lots of affordable choices for those meals we ate outside the retreat (a Moroccan restaurant near the villas had excellent food). Massages from recommended therapists can be booked at "home" at the villas for approx. $10 US per hour - a small spa service room on the property has two massage tables (and air conditioning - yes, you are detecting a theme, it is warm in Bali!). The local surf instructors were enthusiastic and supportive for all skill levels and you can decide how little or how much help you prefer as you learn to ride the wave. Surfing is not easy but it does an amazing thing for your soul: while you are in the ocean with your board you must focus on surfing to the exclusion of anything else, and this is a wonderful gift for those of us who are accustomed to doing a zillion things every day in our work and home life. A wonderful quote (I believe attributed to artist Jane Evershed), prepared me for this retreat: "While others preferred to chase the wave, I chose to ride it."

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharksisterb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lightfootwanderer, General Manager at Goddess Retreats, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We would like to thank you for enjoying your holiday with us at Surf Goddess Retreats! Every guest opinion is valued and we can not begin to express how grateful we are to you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you chose to join us as your retreat of choice in Bali.

As a beloved Surf Goddess Alumnae we offer you extra special savings and bonuses on any return visit to either Surf Goddess or Bali Goddess Retreats, please simply email us directly to find out details.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
Couples
0
139
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2009

My stay in Surf Goddess Retreats more than passed my expectations. I have to admit, I was a bit nervous as it was my first trip on my own and I had never been to Asia before. The villas were beautifully maintained in lush peaceful gardens. The staff were cheerful and friendly. And lets not forget the fun fun fun in the surf surf surf with my fellow "Goddesses" :-) !!!!! Thanks to everyone at Surf Goddesses Retreat, and the new friends I've made, for making this holiday the ultimate treat to myself. For ladies with the urge for adventure and some pampering - this is the place to be. Hopefully one day I will be able to return again to enjoy the spirit of Bali and all it has to offer. Thank you, thank you, thank you XXXX

  • Liked — it was private, clean and well maintained
  • Disliked — nothing!!! perfect for me
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Balimocosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lightfootwanderer, General Manager at Goddess Retreats, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We would like to thank you for enjoying your holiday with us at Surf Goddess Retreats! Every guest opinion is valued and we can not begin to express how grateful we are to you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you chose to join us as your retreat of choice in Bali.

As a beloved Surf Goddess Alumnae we offer you extra special savings and bonuses on any return visit to either Surf Goddess or Bali Goddess Retreats, please simply email us directly to find out details.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

What an awesome place to spend a spa surf holiday surrounded by other amazing women! What a service, to arrive on this magic island Bali and immediately feel safe and served from the beginning to the sad time to say good-bye. Me and my friend were picked up from the airport with our boards, finding ourselves in an incredible nice hidden dream villa with swimming pool and garden, frangipani tree, the smell of incenses, clean, gorgeous food, and a host, who does not leave any expectations behind. Enjoying yoga classes, massages, surf and the food, was due to the big effort and a lovely hand for details, which the owner and her team put into this retreat. They did everything possible to make our trip an unforgettable dream in lifetime. I can highly recommend this trip.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MagicBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lightfootwanderer, General Manager at Goddess Retreats, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We would like to thank you for enjoying your holiday with us at Surf Goddess Retreats! Every guest opinion is valued and we can not begin to express how grateful we are to you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you chose to join us as your retreat of choice in Bali.

As a beloved Surf Goddess Alumnae we offer you extra special savings and bonuses on any return visit to either Surf Goddess or Bali Goddess Retreats, please simply email us directly to find out details.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

What an amazing spiritual journey! This retreat was just what I needed to get away from it all and really relax. The villa was beyond expectations and the food was fabulous! The staff went the extra mile and catered to my every need. The host was so helpful and such a positive person, she has become a friend and really made my trip memorable. I had never surfed before and when I left I was getting up and surfing on my own with ease. I miss the warm waters of Bali already and will be back to Surf Goddess Retreats asap.

  • Liked — peaceful
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank calisurferchickAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lightfootwanderer, General Manager at Goddess Retreats, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We would like to thank you for enjoying your holiday with us at Surf Goddess Retreats! Every guest opinion is valued and we can not begin to express how grateful we are to you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you chose to join us as your retreat of choice in Bali.

As a beloved Surf Goddess Alumnae we offer you extra special savings and bonuses on any return visit to either Surf Goddess or Bali Goddess Retreats, please simply email us directly to find out details.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

This trip exceeded my expectations on all accounts. Traveling 22 hours to Bali isn't easy, but to be a surf goddess again, I would go over and over. I traveled with my sister on this retreat, and it was such a great experience. The villa is a quaint, beautiful setting for a retreat (and i have never even been on a retreat before). We shared a room, which had an awesome shower, but the villa is basically just some place to call home while you surf, practice yoga, and experience the amazing place that is Bali. As a beginner surfer, I felt the surfing instruction was superb, and I got up on the first day. I took yoga a few times and even though I don't practice at home, I really enjoyed it. And the meals at the villa were excellent, both the meat and vegetarian dishes. The group of women in our retreat week just clicked and I feel that we all shared something so truly special, and we will all be friends for a long time. Some of us are even going surfing elsewhere around the world. Surf Goddess Retreats was the best trip I've taken and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dobby11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lightfootwanderer, General Manager at Goddess Retreats, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We would like to thank you for enjoying your holiday with us at Surf Goddess Retreats! Every guest opinion is valued and we can not begin to express how grateful we are to you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you chose to join us as your retreat of choice in Bali.

As a beloved Surf Goddess Alumnae we offer you extra special savings and bonuses on any return visit to either Surf Goddess or Bali Goddess Retreats, please simply email us directly to find out details.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

I first learned of Surf Goddess Retreats through a colleague – her goal was a vacation where she could learn something new, I mentioned to her I had a gift certificate to a women’s surf camp in San Diego, she trumped that idea letting me know about this retreat in Bali. So, off we went and I spent my 43rd birthday with two girlfriends learning how to surf. My most memorable birthday celebration to date.

This was truly the MOST MAGICALLY vacation/experience I have ever encountered. It was the best of everything … A private villa with luxurious oversized rooms, daily yoga (the only way to start a day), incredible meals prepared with Bali Love, and surf lessons taught by local Balinese guys at Rip Curl … Truly those guys deserve an award for life lessons – who knew learning to surf was code for life lessons (“look ahead”, “you’re overthinking” the very same lessons that show up at work and in life every day were taught here in the water). Our hostess Chelsea wrote the book on personalized, attentive, hospitality. She also made sure we had time to explore some of the local flavor and this town has it all – whether shops, restaurants, spas or nightlife, Bali has it all and Chelsea helped us design the perfect experience based on our every desire. And who knew Bali provided such great VALUE … While yoga, surf, daily breakfast and a few dinners were included (as was an incredible spa experience) … the local restaurants provided an assortment of delicious cuisine … all at incredible prices (I don’t think I spent more than $10 on a meal) … and to talk value, I also have to disclose I indulged in a daily massage – how could I pass up true bliss for just $15/hour? Truly the best value of any trip I’ve been on.

The part I didn’t expect, the 14 other new friends made during our week at the retreat – Remarkable women from all over the world. Many solo travelers (these women gave me the confidence that I could just show up the next time solo if I couldn’t coordinate a trip with friends). These are lasting friendships – facilitated by Chelsea and her team at the retreat.

When I came home, friends and colleagues were intrigued with my experience as they said “I never before looked as happy and well rested” … Thank you Chelsea … I’ll be back … and hopefully soon! Magically, truly magical!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JAZ1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lightfootwanderer, General Manager at Goddess Retreats, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We would like to thank you for enjoying your holiday with us at Surf Goddess Retreats! Every guest opinion is valued and we can not begin to express how grateful we are to you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you chose to join us as your retreat of choice in Bali.

As a beloved Surf Goddess Alumnae we offer you extra special savings and bonuses on any return visit to either Surf Goddess or Bali Goddess Retreats, please simply email us directly to find out details.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

I can't THANK Chelsey & her team of Goddesses enough for one of the BEST holidays I've ever experienced. I was truelly BLESSED also to meet 15 of the most amazing women from around the world. It was a retreat focussed on nurturing & re-igniting the goddess flame in us all,whether through yoga, surf, excellant food or ALL. I can honestly say that my GODDESS FLAME has been re-ignited & burning brightly, I nearly lost it with modern day stresses, THANKS to ALL these truelly amazing & inspirational woman I met at 'The Surf Goddess Retreat!' PS: I stayed in the private villa,OMG I was a queen for a week, worth every cent extra, total indulgence peace & quiet & your own pool !!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank fashionsonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lightfootwanderer, General Manager at Goddess Retreats, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We would like to thank you for enjoying your holiday with us at Surf Goddess Retreats! Every guest opinion is valued and we can not begin to express how grateful we are to you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you chose to join us as your retreat of choice in Bali.

As a beloved Surf Goddess Alumnae we offer you extra special savings and bonuses on any return visit to either Surf Goddess or Bali Goddess Retreats, please simply email us directly to find out details.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
16.5 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
13.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#25 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,019 reviews
10.4 mi away
Fivelements Bali Retreat
0.3 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goddess Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goddess Retreats

Property: Goddess Retreats
Address: Jl. Beraban 333, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Bali Surf Goddess Retreats)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 410 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DESIGNED FOR WOMEN, BY WOMEN. Goddess Retreats was established in 2003 to be the premier provider and most loved women's retreat, creating memorable surf, yoga, ski / snowboard, fitness and overall wellness retreats for women in beautiful Bali and beyond. Our retreat holidays are specially designed to offer as many amenities and personal touches as possible for solo female travel (or with a friend), so you leave feeling well cared for, re-invigorated and re-connected with yourself! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surf Goddess Retreats Bali Hotel Seminyak
Goddess Retreats Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing