We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Wonderful Holiday”
Review of Goddess Retreats

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seminyak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goddess Retreats
Ranked #15 of 421 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2009

My stay in Surf Goddess Retreats more than passed my expectations. I have to admit, I was a bit nervous as it was my first trip on my own and I had never been to Asia before. The villas were beautifully maintained in lush peaceful gardens. The staff were cheerful and friendly. And lets not forget the fun fun fun in the surf surf surf with my fellow "Goddesses" :-) !!!!! Thanks to everyone at Surf Goddesses Retreat, and the new friends I've made, for making this holiday the ultimate treat to myself. For ladies with the urge for adventure and some pampering - this is the place to be. Hopefully one day I will be able to return again to enjoy the spirit of Bali and all it has to offer. Thank you, thank you, thank you XXXX

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Balimocosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lightfootwanderer, General Manager at Goddess Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

We would like to thank you for enjoying your holiday with us at Surf Goddess Retreats! Every guest opinion is valued and we can not begin to express how grateful we are to you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you chose to join us as your retreat of choice in Bali.

As a beloved Surf Goddess Alumnae we offer you extra special savings and bonuses on any return visit to either Surf Goddess or Bali Goddess Retreats, please simply email us directly to find out details.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
There are newer reviews for Goddess Retreats
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 222 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2009

What an awesome place to spend a spa surf holiday surrounded by other amazing women! What a service, to arrive on this magic island Bali and immediately feel safe and served from the beginning to the sad time to say good-bye. Me and my friend were picked up from the airport with our boards, finding ourselves in an incredible nice hidden dream villa with swimming pool and garden, frangipani tree, the smell of incenses, clean, gorgeous food, and a host, who does not leave any expectations behind. Enjoying yoga classes, massages, surf and the food, was due to the big effort and a lovely hand for details, which the owner and her team put into this retreat. They did everything possible to make our trip an unforgettable dream in lifetime. I can highly recommend this trip.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MagicBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lightfootwanderer, General Manager at Goddess Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

We would like to thank you for enjoying your holiday with us at Surf Goddess Retreats! Every guest opinion is valued and we can not begin to express how grateful we are to you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you chose to join us as your retreat of choice in Bali.

As a beloved Surf Goddess Alumnae we offer you extra special savings and bonuses on any return visit to either Surf Goddess or Bali Goddess Retreats, please simply email us directly to find out details.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

What an amazing spiritual journey! This retreat was just what I needed to get away from it all and really relax. The villa was beyond expectations and the food was fabulous! The staff went the extra mile and catered to my every need. The host was so helpful and such a positive person, she has become a friend and really made my trip memorable. I had never surfed before and when I left I was getting up and surfing on my own with ease. I miss the warm waters of Bali already and will be back to Surf Goddess Retreats asap.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank calisurferchickAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lightfootwanderer, General Manager at Goddess Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

We would like to thank you for enjoying your holiday with us at Surf Goddess Retreats! Every guest opinion is valued and we can not begin to express how grateful we are to you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you chose to join us as your retreat of choice in Bali.

As a beloved Surf Goddess Alumnae we offer you extra special savings and bonuses on any return visit to either Surf Goddess or Bali Goddess Retreats, please simply email us directly to find out details.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

This trip exceeded my expectations on all accounts. Traveling 22 hours to Bali isn't easy, but to be a surf goddess again, I would go over and over. I traveled with my sister on this retreat, and it was such a great experience. The villa is a quaint, beautiful setting for a retreat (and i have never even been on a retreat before). We shared a room, which had an awesome shower, but the villa is basically just some place to call home while you surf, practice yoga, and experience the amazing place that is Bali. As a beginner surfer, I felt the surfing instruction was superb, and I got up on the first day. I took yoga a few times and even though I don't practice at home, I really enjoyed it. And the meals at the villa were excellent, both the meat and vegetarian dishes. The group of women in our retreat week just clicked and I feel that we all shared something so truly special, and we will all be friends for a long time. Some of us are even going surfing elsewhere around the world. Surf Goddess Retreats was the best trip I've taken and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Dobby11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lightfootwanderer, General Manager at Goddess Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

We would like to thank you for enjoying your holiday with us at Surf Goddess Retreats! Every guest opinion is valued and we can not begin to express how grateful we are to you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you chose to join us as your retreat of choice in Bali.

As a beloved Surf Goddess Alumnae we offer you extra special savings and bonuses on any return visit to either Surf Goddess or Bali Goddess Retreats, please simply email us directly to find out details.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

I first learned of Surf Goddess Retreats through a colleague – her goal was a vacation where she could learn something new, I mentioned to her I had a gift certificate to a women’s surf camp in San Diego, she trumped that idea letting me know about this retreat in Bali. So, off we went and I spent my 43rd birthday with two girlfriends learning how to surf. My most memorable birthday celebration to date.

This was truly the MOST MAGICALLY vacation/experience I have ever encountered. It was the best of everything … A private villa with luxurious oversized rooms, daily yoga (the only way to start a day), incredible meals prepared with Bali Love, and surf lessons taught by local Balinese guys at Rip Curl … Truly those guys deserve an award for life lessons – who knew learning to surf was code for life lessons (“look ahead”, “you’re overthinking” the very same lessons that show up at work and in life every day were taught here in the water). Our hostess Chelsea wrote the book on personalized, attentive, hospitality. She also made sure we had time to explore some of the local flavor and this town has it all – whether shops, restaurants, spas or nightlife, Bali has it all and Chelsea helped us design the perfect experience based on our every desire. And who knew Bali provided such great VALUE … While yoga, surf, daily breakfast and a few dinners were included (as was an incredible spa experience) … the local restaurants provided an assortment of delicious cuisine … all at incredible prices (I don’t think I spent more than $10 on a meal) … and to talk value, I also have to disclose I indulged in a daily massage – how could I pass up true bliss for just $15/hour? Truly the best value of any trip I’ve been on.

The part I didn’t expect, the 14 other new friends made during our week at the retreat – Remarkable women from all over the world. Many solo travelers (these women gave me the confidence that I could just show up the next time solo if I couldn’t coordinate a trip with friends). These are lasting friendships – facilitated by Chelsea and her team at the retreat.

When I came home, friends and colleagues were intrigued with my experience as they said “I never before looked as happy and well rested” … Thank you Chelsea … I’ll be back … and hopefully soon! Magically, truly magical!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JAZ1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lightfootwanderer, General Manager at Goddess Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

We would like to thank you for enjoying your holiday with us at Surf Goddess Retreats! Every guest opinion is valued and we can not begin to express how grateful we are to you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you chose to join us as your retreat of choice in Bali.

As a beloved Surf Goddess Alumnae we offer you extra special savings and bonuses on any return visit to either Surf Goddess or Bali Goddess Retreats, please simply email us directly to find out details.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

I can't THANK Chelsey & her team of Goddesses enough for one of the BEST holidays I've ever experienced. I was truelly BLESSED also to meet 15 of the most amazing women from around the world. It was a retreat focussed on nurturing & re-igniting the goddess flame in us all,whether through yoga, surf, excellant food or ALL. I can honestly say that my GODDESS FLAME has been re-ignited & burning brightly, I nearly lost it with modern day stresses, THANKS to ALL these truelly amazing & inspirational woman I met at 'The Surf Goddess Retreat!' PS: I stayed in the private villa,OMG I was a queen for a week, worth every cent extra, total indulgence peace & quiet & your own pool !!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank fashionsonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lightfootwanderer, General Manager at Goddess Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

We would like to thank you for enjoying your holiday with us at Surf Goddess Retreats! Every guest opinion is valued and we can not begin to express how grateful we are to you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you chose to join us as your retreat of choice in Bali.

As a beloved Surf Goddess Alumnae we offer you extra special savings and bonuses on any return visit to either Surf Goddess or Bali Goddess Retreats, please simply email us directly to find out details.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

I went on the Surf Goddess Retreat in April and I just had the most wonderful time. Bali is a really magical place and Chelsea, the owner, and her staff do anything and everything to make sure that you have a fantastic vacation here.

I decided to sign up because I had always wanted to learn to surf and was travelling alone so I wanted a group environment. I looked at similar retreats in Mexico and Costa Rica but Surf Goddess was considerably cheaper because they offered shared accommodation with shared bathrooms. I was a little hesitant to share at first but I shouldn’t have been. These are no dormitory style rooms. It’s more like sharing a big luxurious villa with 15 of your best friends. The space is incredibly tranquil, and with lots of little secluded areas there are plenty of places to chill out when you need a little quiet time. Food is fabulous and hand prepared by your own personal chef. It’s not full board, dinners are provided on 2 or 3 evenings but this gives you the freedom and flexibility to explore a bit more. Help and recommendations are always available. Chelsea even helped us to organise a magical evening at Jimbaran Bay, booking the transport for us and recommending a restaurant that served the best seafood I have ever eaten. I met some wonderful women and we are meeting up in January for a reunion trip to Costa Rica.

The surf tuition is great for beginners, although occasionally we could have used one or two more instructors to help us overcome the nerves! For more experienced surfers, the surf school takes you out to more challenging breaks to help you build confidence and improve your skills. I enjoyed the yoga just as much as the surfing and, even though I’ve practiced for many years, I learned lots of new things and appreciated that the practice was designed for everyone, including those who had never taken a class before.

There are many things that Surf Goddess is not. It’s not the cheapest way to learn to surf in Bali. It’s not the most challenging yoga retreat you’ll ever go on. It’s not a hotel right on the beach. But it is like spending the best holiday of your life with a group of your best girlfriends, the most inspiring people you know…only you haven’t met them yet. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ZenNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lightfootwanderer, General Manager at Goddess Retreats, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

We would like to thank you for enjoying your holiday with us at Surf Goddess Retreats! Every guest opinion is valued and we can not begin to express how grateful we are to you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you chose to join us as your retreat of choice in Bali.

As a beloved Surf Goddess Alumnae we offer you extra special savings and bonuses on any return visit to either Surf Goddess or Bali Goddess Retreats, please simply email us directly to find out details.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.5 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#20 of 147 in Seminyak
3,398 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 147 in Seminyak
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
COMO Uma Ubud
COMO Uma Ubud
#12 of 199 in Ubud
1,382 reviews
14.2 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
16.7 mi away
COMO Shambhala Estate
COMO Shambhala Estate
#3 of 10 in Payangan
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goddess Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goddess Retreats

Address: Jl. Beraban 333, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Bali Surf Goddess Retreats)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 421 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DESIGNED FOR WOMEN, BY WOMEN. Goddess Retreats was established in 2003 to be the premier provider and most loved women's retreat, creating memorable surf, yoga, ski / snowboard, fitness and overall wellness retreats for women in beautiful Bali and beyond. Our retreat holidays are specially designed to offer as many amenities and personal touches as possible for solo female travel (or with a friend), so you leave feeling well cared for, re-invigorated and re-connected with yourself! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surf Goddess Retreats Bali Hotel Seminyak
Goddess Retreats Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing