We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay at Seminyak”
Review of Kanishka Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kanishka Villas
Ranked #49 of 426 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Reviewed August 21, 2009

I stayed in Kanishka Villas from 12-14 August and had good overall experience. It was our honeymoon and first trip to Bali and we felt Kanishka Villas had offered us some of the best value-for-money for spacious and good-service stay in Seminyak.

The Villas was located at Jalan Kunti and was within walking and taxi distance to some of the popular restaurants. We tried Balinese lunch at Made's, had french breakfast at Cafe Moka and enjoyed some of the best fusion of Balinese and pan-Asian dinner at Chandi (which the Villas offered to shuttle us there free). There is also a premium Bali Deli supermarket nearby.

Nordini (if I spelt it correctly) assisted us to check-in and was our Butler for next 2 days. She was polite, friendly and took efforts to make sure we settled down happily. The Villa has two bedrooms - one on second floor directly above the living and dining room, and the other on ground floor across the private pool. Both bedrooms come with open shower and large bathtube. Nordini showed us both patiently to allow us to decide which one we would like to stay as we had booked for only one bedroom. There was fruits basket and mocktails to welcome us upon check-in, and Nordini even bother to explain that the drinks were pineapple and mango juices mixed with sugared-soda. We really appreciated these gestures.

Our booking came with breakfast, which Nordini would cheerfully come into our villa to take our order (default is continental breakfast but you can top-up for American breakfast or others) and later come back to set up the table and laid out the breakfast. I remembered I had first asked for toast as choice of bread but Nordini counter-suggested to take mixed of breads instead which we later found out that the croissant bread was one of the nicest.

The interior decor of the villa was nice overall. My wife loved the lush part, in particular, the hanging vines which simply makes the whole atmosphere more serene. We would just sit by the pool for hours. The 'splashing' sound of water streaming into the pool makes the experience beyond description.

The bedroom was nice. The feeling of waking up in the morning overlooking into the living room and pool was great. We had a little problem with the safe box but the technicians were quick to response. It would be helpful if the management include instructions to operate the safe box.

The bathroom was spacious. I love the open-air standing shower amidst the plants and pebbled floors. We bought mineral salts and soaked ourselves in the bathtub at night, chatting and listening to the night cries of insects under the moon and cozy lighting. And yes, the staffs had also placed a mosquitoes' coil in the bathroom too. Do note that standard bathroom amenities were not provided, or comprehensive at least. We were given only soap and shower cap.

Daily turn-down service was great. We were not in the Villa but the staffs would just set up everything - turn on the lights, set up the mosquitoes shield (not that there were a lot of mosquitoes, but the additional efforts to make sure we would not suffer even a single bite), leaving the turn-down cakes (we seriously think the Villas should improve on this - we knew it was meant to be small bites but the visual presentation could be done better) on the dinner table etc.

To sum it up, Kanishka Villas is a great place to stay to experience Seminyak region and enjoy downtown life. It is not a resort by the beach so if you want to experience beachfront living then this is not the place. There were sounds of airplanes occasionally but it did not bother us anyway. And Internet Wi-Fi was free by-the-way.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 07AUG09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2009

Dear TripAdvisor Member,
We have just read your review following your mid-august vacation at KANISHKA Villas, and many thanks for your feedback on all our services.
Delighted that you have discovered some of Seminyak's iconic restaurants in the close neighbourhood - Made's Warung, Moka and the Bali Deli, all within a few minutes walk from KANISHKA. Thank you very much for your personal recognition of your Butler, Nurtini, to whom we have passed on your kind remarks. We are grateful for your advice on the bathroom amenities, and we admit to a lapse in service, as we have recently introduced a complete new range of guest amenities with the KANISHKA colour and logo - our apologies!
Thank you again for your detailed and objective review, which helps us to further enhance our guests' experience. We hope to have the opportunity to offer you a warm 'GK Resorts' welcome in the future.
With warm wishes from the magical "Island of the Gods!" Douglas Wallace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

462 - 468 of 510 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annacollette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlegypsyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed August 10, 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetset_aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IggySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorilla-Bananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2009

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.6 mi away
Daluman Villas
Daluman Villas
#15 of 426 in Seminyak
320 reviews
0.4 mi away
ASA Bali Luxury Villas
ASA Bali Luxury Villas
#65 of 426 in Seminyak
192 reviews
7.9 mi away
Puri Sabina Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Samaja Villas Kunti
Samaja Villas Kunti
#24 of 426 in Seminyak
211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Annora Villas Seminyak
Annora Villas Seminyak
#26 of 426 in Seminyak
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bali Dream Villa Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanishka Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanishka Villas

Address: Jalan Kunti 8Y, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 426 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: $83 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kanishka Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kanishka Villas comprises 27 private luxury villas located in the heart of Seminyak, Bali's most popular tourism enclave. With 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom villas with their own private swimming pools, and 1-bedroom Jacuzzi Suites, honeymooners, couples and families are all welcome at Kanishka. Located down a quiet lane off Jalan Kunti, the villas and suites have immediate access to a wide range of restaurants, bars, boutique shops, spas, and the beach is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kanishka Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanishka Villas Hotel Seminyak
Kanishka Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing