We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Villa at Seminyak to stay in”
Review of Kanishka Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kanishka Villas
Ranked #48 of 424 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This Villa is very close to the main street in Seminyak (from Kuta). Very easy walk from the Villa. Also close in the other direction to the airport (less traffic).
The only problem is the mosquitoes (however, they do fog twice a week) This may cause issues if you have asthma but otherwise not a problem. Mosquitoes still in plentiful supply but the dining/lounge is air conditioned.
Very nice Villa for a couple as the rooms are quite separate.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jauntingbrisbane2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for your review and for your kind comments on the location of the Kanishka Villas and the service from our staff. I am sorry that you had some difficulties with mosquitoes but thank you for your understanding in this regard.
From all of us at GK Resorts, warm wishes... Douglas Wallace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 506 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

We LOVED Kanishka Villas.. From the beauty of the villa to the extremely kind service, we had such a pleasant experience. Free shuttle service around Seminyak was quite convienent for a quick ride to the beach or restuarants / pool bars - W / Potato Head. The front desk was extremely helpful when making local reservations or if we needed to query things around town, they took it upon themselves to sort it out for us (cabs/ reservations/ random questions).

The villas are exceptionally luxurious, open air living room with a private pool in the middle of our lounge!! Minor detail - the pool gets minimal light between 11-2 and only in certain spots. That was the most of our problem.. Exactly MINOR detail! Both bathrooms were open air, my favourite was the upstairs open air shower - you could take a bath at night and look at the stars! The attendants would come clean everyday, plus came back around dusk to light mosquito coils (which smelled like incense).

The location was brilliant - 2 min walk to great restaurants (tacos/ Japanese/ Italian) 5 min walk to the famous Made Warung (highly reco'ed to eat Balinese cuisinse and see Bali style dancers. Dancers only at dinner on certain days though). Villas are just off the main street in Seminyak, so very close to the shopping, restaurants, and beach (10 min walk - but again can take shuttle).

Breakast was great and delivered on time every day. Food was good - great selection of American and Indonesian style breakfast.. Favourite was pancakes, croissants and watermelon juice! We ordered room service for lunch - BBQ prawn pizza was delicious!

Thanks so much for the amazing experience - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Room Tip: - Upstairs bedroom is quiter and colder and bathroom is better (w open air shower to see stars at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you so very much for your very descriptive review, highlighting all that you enjoyed at Kanishka Villas. Our staff are all delighted that you appreciated the service and enjoyed your breakfasts! Thank you from myself and all our team, and we do hope we may have the pleasure to welcome you back again on your next Bali holiday! Douglas Wallace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

still in the middle of our week @ the Kanishka villas, but so far everything is awesome..
the rooms, the full size fridge is a nice bonus, then pool in the middle is just lovely & the supermarket 5 mins away makes drinks & nibbles easy ... No complaints from us ...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rie1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Many thanks for writing your review during your week at Kanishka Villas. We are pleased that you have enjoyed the villa and pool and that the proximity of the Bali Deli made it easy for you for your shopping.
We hope you will come back to again enjoy Bali... Warm wishes, Douglas Wallace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

My wife and I just returned from my first vacation after retirement. Kanishka Villas was
recommended to us by a friend from Australia. What a property! We thoroughly enjoyed
ourselves at the 4 bdrm villa with a pool right outside our bdrm door. Everyone at the villa
made us feel so welcome and the service was excellent from the time we arrived until we
departed. Looking forward to another visit in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawaiitraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thanks from all of us at Kanishka Villas for staying with us on your first trip after your retirement. Hopefully you will return again when we guarantee you a very warm welcome! Best wishes from The island of the Gods, or "Aloha!" Douglas Wallace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

A great location for restaurants and shopping, not so great if you want to be by the beach. However these villas weren’t right for us.

I had booked this villa over the phone while in Bali as we were finding it hard to find the right type of villa for my partner and three boys under 3. We needed have all our bedrooms in the same building which I asked for over the phone. Unfortunately the request to have this was lost in translation. When we arrived I realised straight away that the villa was not suitable as one room was upstairs in the main building and the other room was across the pool on its own. We stayed here two nights with my partner sleeping with two boys and me in the other room with the baby.

The majority of the villa's are all opened, that is open living area so no air-con and no doors to keep the mozies out, my poor boys were eaten alive. This did not work for us but if you don't mind the open areas the set up is nice. Another thing to note is twice a week they bomb the whole area to kill all the mozzies. They did say it wasn't harmful but when you have kids stuff like this matters.

The pool in the villa we stayed in wasn't that nice compared to other villas we had been too. It was really small and in the shade so the water was freezing!!

Breakfast was not made in the room like other villas but was still very nice. We had a private BBQ included one night and the food was EXCELLENT! The meat was so tender, salads fresh and there was heaps of food.

I did complain about the villa to management as I had asked prior about the rooms all being in the same building so they relocated us to their sister property, Gending Kedis, which was excellent, see this review.

Overall the villa is in a good location, the rooms were mostly clean, I did move the beds and the dust underneath was horrible, but I don't expect anything else really....The staff were nice and tried to help us. I guess depending on your needs will determine if this property is for you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mumontherun2678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to write your very succinct review. We fully understand that the layout of the villas was not right for what you were looking for with your 3 young sons, however, it was wonderful that you decided to move to our Gending Kedis villas at Jimbaran, and we thank you for your very kind remarks thereafter.
Warm wishes from The Island of the Gods, from me and our team.. Douglas Wallace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is the only prioperty we have ever been back to, and this was our fourth time, and we have never been disappointed. They are all 2 bedroom private pool villas which can be sold as a 1 bedroom. They just lock off the unwanted bedroom. each villa has a semi open lounge/dining/kitchen (2 of the villas can now enclose this). Then there is the decking and private pool, and the other side is the downstairs king bedroom with en suite and outsoor shower. Upstairs is the second bedroom. 2 villas have twin beds and the others have king upstairs. 24/7 butler service. Huge LCD tv with surround sound plus TV's in each bedroom.
dvd player in lounge. Breakfast is ordered the night before and the butler prepares it in the room. You can also have a BBQ by the pool or a romantic dinner by the pool. Tours can be arranged and there is a shuttle within the Seminyak area. Pampering of the highest quality. The villas are quiet, yet you can go out and within 2 minutes you are in the shopping and night life of Seminyak. If you do have a child, they have a portable fence they can secure the pool with.

Room Tip: The villas are all the same size with a slight variation in layout plan. The semi open lounge ones a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
We are delighted to read your detailed and professional review with also your kind comments. Thank you very much for sharing your very positive experience as well as continuing to return again as our valued guests. Our staff at Kanishka Villas join with me to say how much we enjoyed welcoming you again and having the chance to look after you both. We hope to see you again before too long. In the meantime all the very best for all of us at GK Resorts! With warm wishes, Douglas Wallace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from our 4th trip to Bali and Kanishka is the 6th villa we have stayed in. Sadly, it was a huge disappointment! At all other villas we have stayed in, the staff have made an effort to remember our names and greet us. After 6 nights at Kanishka, we were still strangers to the staff (although the butlers and drivers were always pleasant and courteous)

The villa itself, was at best poorly maintained. The deck which joined the living area to the bedroom area had sections which had collapsed and were frankly dangerous to walk on. The bathroom had a bare wire (although wrapped in duct tape) coming from the tiles surrounding the bath where presumably a spotlight had once been. To their credit, once mentioned to housekeeping a maintenance person replaced the light. Call me paranoid, but the thought of soaking in the bath next to a bare electrical wire didn't appeal.

The standard of housekeeping also left a lot to be desired. While Kanishka had the usual indoor/outdoor shower, which we love! this one neeed a good prune as we had to literally fight our way through the palm fronds to get to the shower. The shower glass was far from clean and the garden bed still had some rubbish in it which was there for our entire stay! While reaching behind the lounge to plug in our international adaptor, I realised it had been some time since a staff member had been anywhere near the back of the lounge. Gross would be a suitable descriptor. A small louvered window in the wall of the lounge area had not been cleaned in some considerable time, if ever. There were other weird splotches on the floor (possibly gecko crap) which were also there for our entire stay.

At check-out time, no-one bothered to ask if we had enjoyed our stay, was everything ok etc as had been the case with all our other stays in Bali. The complimentary bowl of fruit on our arrival slowly decayed over the week with no sign of it being replaced or freshened up.

If you are a sun-worshipper, this is definately NOT the place to stay. The 2 bedroom villa for 4 has 2 sunlounges and a small window of opportunity to lay in the sun as it passes overhead in the middle of the day due to the architecture of the building.

All in all, this was a huge disappointment for us and not value for money compared to the many other villas in the Seminyak area.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElainePR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotonthebeach, Owner at Kanishka Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review after your recent stay at our Kanishka Villas. I have read your very detailed notes on the housekeeping and villa maintenance issues which led to your great disappointment on this visit. We appreciate your objectivity. This is certainly not the standard of personal service and cleanliness which we aim to achieve for our guests, and I sincerely apologize to you for these lapses.
May I propose that you contact me directly on this occasion. Thank you again for your review. Kindest regards from me and our team. Douglas Wallace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
Daluman Villas
Daluman Villas
#15 of 424 in Seminyak
318 reviews
0.4 mi away
ASA Bali Luxury Villas
ASA Bali Luxury Villas
#62 of 424 in Seminyak
191 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bali Dream Villa Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Samaja Villas Kunti
Samaja Villas Kunti
#23 of 424 in Seminyak
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kamuela Villas Seminyak
Kamuela Villas Seminyak
#77 of 424 in Seminyak
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wolas Villas & Spa
The Wolas Villas & Spa
#9 of 424 in Seminyak
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanishka Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanishka Villas

Address: Jalan Kunti 8Y, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 424 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: $84 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kanishka Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kanishka Villas comprises 27 private luxury villas located in the heart of Seminyak, Bali's most popular tourism enclave. With 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom villas with their own private swimming pools, and 1-bedroom Jacuzzi Suites, honeymooners, couples and families are all welcome at Kanishka. Located down a quiet lane off Jalan Kunti, the villas and suites have immediate access to a wide range of restaurants, bars, boutique shops, spas, and the beach is within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kanishka Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanishka Villas Hotel Seminyak
Kanishka Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing