We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”
Review of The Seiryu Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Seiryu Villas
Ranked #32 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Firstly, I want to make the point that the Seiryu has the potential to be great, however unfortunately there were a few too many points that negatively impacted our experience.So I'll start with the negatives... as soon as we entered the villa I noted that the pool side area had some green scum/mildew that needed to be water blasted as well as some of the bricks. When we entered the building, the wooden floors looked scuffed and dusty - difficult to rub out. The first night we we were there I was attacked by mosquitos while sleeping - at least 20 bites! I was miserable. Strangely my partner wasn't bitten, maybe my blood is sweeter! (Didn't expect bites to be an issue in Seminyak coming from Ubud and with windows shut) We mentioned this to the staff and they did double the number of anti-bug plug-in things which seemed to help. By the third night our air-con in the main area had also given up. Breakfast was filling but nothing special - indonesian noodles is probably the best option. On our last day they served breakfast 30 mins early which was a little odd. We were in the Deluxe Villa which has the kitchen/ table at the back of the villa. It's set back from everything and is not very welcoming. Although it's a full kitchen, it doesn't have things like bowls or dinner plates?

The set up is very private and tranquil. But the layout means you don't really get the sun after 3.30pm.

The good points / potential: it's a really impressive set up. The plunge pool that enters directly to the bathroom, and the loungers are comfy. Service was friendly and pleasant. 2 TVs means you can watch from the bed or lounge. If it was given a bit of a spring clean e.g. water blasting, polishing floors again, it would look really good. We though the location was good too - try the Delicious Onion restaurant next door. Fruit bowl, four bottles of mineral water each day and nightly turn down service.

Rereading the review, I do sound rather negative!!! But I think when you're paying $300+ per night, you do expect the attention to detail.

Room Tip: Royal villas have better kitchen/dining area placement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwimeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    68
    20
    3
    4
See reviews for
18
211
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I stayed at Seiryu for 3 nights and had just come from a different resort in Seminyak as I wanted to try different accommodation. The villas are quite beautiful and the food is better than the other hotels. Our villas were thoroughly cleaned everyday and even our clothes which were almost scattered all over our villa was nearly folded in a pile for us. But that's all that's good about this villa. I food staff to be fake - seemed like they were over their jobs. The female staff especially had an attitude problem. Location requires walking everywhere. I suggest you stay around Seminyak square, not this area as it is on a dark long road. There is contraction going on too, and the noise went On from morning to dawn! Lets just say you can get better value for your money somewhere else. Overall stay was just ok.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oreolily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dili, East Timor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is our 5th time to Bali in a space of 18 months and we wanted to stay in Seminyak in a quiet and romantic location.

My wonderful Partner spent time researching and to our great delight came across The Seiryu.

It is located off the main road to Gado Gado Restaurant opposite "The Breeze's Hotel Complex" (100 metres) and tucked away in a long narrow block.

We were greeted by a very polite doorman / security and shown into the foyer where freindly and polite staff checked us in.

After check in we were taken down a long narrow corridor to our Villa.

As soon as the main door from the long corridor was opened we were caught out by a wonderful courtyard (plunge pool, garden, deck chairs and day bed) before being given a tour of the Villa.

We stayed in late April (2012) for a week and enjoyed every minute.

You order your breakfast the afternoon before and it arrives at the time you ask. The breakfast was well worth the experience.

My partner has always mentioned she hasn't found a place she'd love to stay at again - Now she has

we've recommended and would thoroughly recommend this complex to anyone wishing a romantica and secluded getaway

We'll be back

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Oct2012Caz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The Seiryu is a retreat from the hustle and bustle of the area and from the moment you arrive it does portray and exclusive villa complex of 8 one bedroom villas. I stayed in Royal villa which are B1-4 with Deluxe villas further down the dark entrance as A1-4. The villa is extremely spacious and has everything that you need and actually would be a perfect home and twice the size of any 1 bedroom in Hong Kong! I booked direct and got 35% off but even at this price I would not want to pay more than what i did which was USD300 inc tax/service. There are much better one bedroom villas to stay at for this price or even stay at the W Seminyak which is hip and fun.

If you worship the sun or at least want some sun these these villas are not the place to be. You only get sun until about 2pm and if you're thinking of going for a splash. There isn't much opportunity as the pool is more of a punch pool that is absolutely freezing!

The breakfast is served in your villa and the best thing to order is the Indonesian noodles, other than that go to Gado Gado or one of the other local hip spots for a much better breakfast.

I had arrangd for a car to collect fromthe airport but that was no where to be seen so I had to make my own way in a taxi for 70,000 IDR and when I arrived no apology that the car wasn't there. I was lucky I knew the road was Drupadi otherwise no one would have found it as pronouncing the name to locals they don't have a clue. Location is ok but if yu wanted to walk to eat street in Seminyak it will take you about 30 mins, other than that there are not a lot of restaurants around. La Sal up the road was fantastic for Spanish and other Mediterranean specialities?

It is nice that no children permitted here and is a place to relax and rejuvenate.

Room Tip: Only book a royal in B1 or B2 as they are lager than B3-4. Don't forget to bring a travel conve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We have stayed at The Seiryu Villas for the past few years in Villa B1 and have found it to be a wonderful relaxing, quiet retreat with the most wonderful staff. Every need is met with a smile and we certainly feel like part of a special family. We are 2 singles who enjoy being in the heart of Seminyak but also relish the peace and quiet once you walk through the door into the villa. A short walk to the beach but also a wonderful space to relax by the pool if you choose.

We cannot recommend The Seiryu highly enough because everyone goes out of their way to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. We will be returning again and again.

Room Tip: Because we require 2 single beds Villa B1 is ideal. However there are others which do a similar thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed during the first week of June in a Royal Deluxe Villa. Apart from the slight hiccup with the driver being 30 mins late on our arrival due to Bali traffic, the rest of our stay was a great experience. The service was excellent and the staff were always helpful and friendly. The private pool was extremely handy to cool off from the warm weather and provided a really relaxing experience. The location was quite good, only a five minute walk to the beach from which you could walk to Ku de Ta in 5 mins or the opposite way to Legian & Kuta. The main beach is pretty average with dirty estuaries running into the ocean. Head to Padang Padang if you want a good beach day. All in all, there wasn't much to fault. There are spas and restaurants nearby and taxis are inexpensive to get around. Thanks to Made and the staff who made it a seamless stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pjede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed in The Seiryu villas for 4 days after 4 days at The Samaya in Ubud. Perhaps the Samaya had set the bar up high (we were thoroughly pampered there!), but we were left somewhat disappointed by what The Seiryu had promised to be. While it prides itself for being a quiet oasis in the hustle and bustle of Seminyak; the villa is, frankly speaking, out of the way. The long, gloomy walkway to the villa constantly reminds us that we are returning to the mothership, and can be very freaky once it's dark outside. While the villa is generally comfortable, I'd expect much more for the price paid. A mish-mash of Balinese and Zen elements, the decor of the place feels like it can't decide what it wants to be rather than the purported fusion of the 2. Aesthetics are prized over functionality and the sink is the most ridiculous, shallow thing ever that promised to splash at any unsuspecting person the moment he/she turns the tap on!

Service is erratic and inconsistent, with the villa foregoing the turn down service altogether on the last night - our late, half-eaten breakfast ( we had it eleven-ish) sat forlornly until the next morning! On one occasion, the in-villa breakfast was set up sans cutlery. Food is very mediocre in quality and the quality of the same item is very much of a lucky dip. We ordered the same coffee for 3 days in a row and every morning it came served differently and tasted different.

One should certainly expect to befriend a host of insects (this is villa living afterall), but there were so many mosquitoes in the room, the bites kept my partner awake all night. To be fair, the staff promised to help us fumigate the room and we found ourselves in a slightly improved situation the 2nd night.

The villa is a 15 minute stroll to the main thoroughfare of Seminyak and is a 10 min walk to the beach. We were told by the staff at the villa that there deck chairs marked out for guests at The Seiryu to use but after half an hour of searching, we couldn't find it. Given its mediocrity for its price, I'd try somewhere else in the future, there are plenty of other more attractive options a skip and a hop away.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xanatha26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.8 mi away
Samaja Villas Kunti
Samaja Villas Kunti
#19 of 417 in Seminyak
205 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Wolas Villas & Spa
The Wolas Villas & Spa
#9 of 417 in Seminyak
509 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Kasih Villas and Spa
The Kasih Villas and Spa
#13 of 417 in Seminyak
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Daluman Villas
Daluman Villas
#15 of 417 in Seminyak
303 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Samaja Villas
Royal Samaja Villas
#7 of 417 in Seminyak
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samaja Beachside Villas
Samaja Beachside Villas
#17 of 417 in Seminyak
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seiryu Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seiryu Villas

Property: The Seiryu Villas
Address: Jl. Drupadi no. 8, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Seiryu Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by ancient philosophy, Seiryu Villas offer a silent luxury living at superb fast growing location of Seminyak. Seiryu (literally means silent dragon) set in modern architectural and interior style as a fusion of Japanese and Balinese elements delivers a contemporary elegance and convenient stay, exclusively for couples. Simple phrases sufficiently representing the quality of Seiryu Villas are unparalleled luxury, incomparable prestige and absolute privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Seiryu Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seiryu Villas Hotel Seminyak
The Seiryu Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing