We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sip Wine Bar

Sip Wine Bar
Ranked #77 of 501 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: SIP is a trendy and animated French brasserie-like in the heart of bustling Seminyak in Bali. Authentic French regional cuisine is its culinary identity enhanced by one of the most comprehensive wine lists in Indonesia, offering no less than 16 wines by the glass, daily.SIP thrives to maintain its reputation of ‘high quality-affordable’ bistro/brasserie with a perky ambience, providing a truthful and relevant piece of Paris in Bali.Gallic fun under the tropics!
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We have visited the sip bar before and once again enjoyed a lovely lunch it's so nice to be able to get a good glass of wine in Bali the service was good and you were not rushed ,only down side was that there were people smoking in the air conditioned-area We chose the set menu which you could pick 2 courses we had main of Mari Mari fish which was delicious-then we had lemon tart for dessert also yummy I would highly recommend this restaurant

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    406
    165
    44
    17
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Beautiful dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I went to Sip in Seminyak, on this trip to bali and I have to say it was a wonderful dining experience. Besides the exquisite tasting food, I have to compliment the waitress who looked after us. She was professional, courteous and discreet. One of my pet 'hates' is when a waitress takes away an empty plate when the other guests are still eating and this waitress got my immediate 'tick of approval' for leaving my plate until my friend had completed her course. There is nothing worse than staff intruding on your dining experience by whipping away plates and interrupting the conversation but this waitress was superb - she stood discreetly by and, even without us noticing, refilled our water glasses and even changed the candle because it had gone out, and all I may say with quiet professionalism- something that is lacking in many restaurants. So I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking for a lovely ambiance, well presented and superb tasting food and excellent service. All the staff should be commended on their professionalism in presentation and good manners! I am leaving bali this time with the knowledge that this is definitely a place I will be revisiting on my next trip.
Meryl Perth WA

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Meryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nothing exciting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had dinner here after seeing the great reviews on trip advisor. In the past that has worked well for us but not this time.
The seating is busy French Bistro style with tables very close together and the only way to exit your seat is to have the table pulled out from you. That would be fine except that the prices are very much fine dining prices and the food was pretty average.
We had steak minewas served with chips, my husband's in a gravy; no salads or veggies and no-one thought to mention that to us. We had entrees, mains and a bottle of wine, no dessert..or side dishes..total cost $140. Mmmm :/

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fuschia99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never Disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Been here a few times and although a little bit pricey for Bali, certainly worth splashing out for. The food is sensational as is the service and atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RichoBunbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Huge let down.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Dined there early March 2014, greatly anticipated the visit as had previously enjoyed the restaurant, food, service etc on previous visits. Terrible let down. Menu has not changed for at least 3 years. Food tasted as being deep fried and not pan cooked. On being seated we were handed the menu (we were the only people there at the time), no napkin suitably placed. We did complain about quality of the food and as goodwill they only charged for one meal!!!. Regrettably had recommended to a fellow hotel guest, who on enquiring if they enjoyed the meal gave an odd reply. No wonder. N and E

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ErskineEaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sip Wine Bar also viewed

 
Seminyak, Bali
Seminyak, Bali
 

Been to Sip Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing