We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oldie but a Goodie”
Review of Sip Wine Bar

Sip Wine Bar
Ranked #72 of 524 Restaurants in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: SIP is a trendy and animated French brasserie-like in the heart of bustling Seminyak in Bali. Authentic French regional cuisine is its culinary identity enhanced by one of the most comprehensive wine lists in Indonesia, offering no less than 16 wines by the glass, daily.SIP thrives to maintain its reputation of ‘high quality-affordable’ bistro/brasserie with a perky ambience, providing a truthful and relevant piece of Paris in Bali.Gallic fun under the tropics!
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An Oldie but a Goodie”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

And by saying this I am not referring to the owner.
I have been a regular at Sip Restaurant since it's opening a few years ago and I must say that going back there again this week makes me realize that Christian has really been able to maintain the excellent standards to this day.
He has an amazing staff headed by Putra the manager.
Putu who assists him and the rest of the team certainly know all about customer service and how to treat their guests
And behind the bar, these guys can shake up the best martini in town.
Chef Patrick who is behind the scenes in the kitchen is still creating excellent French cuisine in the tropics and in a country where it is often difficult to obtain product.
A must try is the Grand Marnier Souffle, just sensational !!!!
Unfortunately wines are not cheap but this is due to excessive government taxing but there are always some great weekly specials and the wine list is amazing, but considering who the owner is, it should be !!!!!!!!!!!
As for the owner with his incredibly warped sense of humor, what more can I say.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael4701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    170
    45
    17
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Very nice...”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Lovely ambience (cozy, warm and intimate), great French food and good service - you musn't miss out on having dinner at Sip if you're in Bali and especially if you're staying in the Seminyak area. Plus I'm not really a wine drinker but I must say they have a fantastic selection. Sip is definitely pricier than other restaurants but it's worth it. You'll have a wonderful evening!
(The bathroom must get a special mention - what attention to detail!)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arch2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great French Dining”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Is it dear for Bali, YES it is. But is it worth it YES it is. First time visited tonight and could not have been more impressed, excellent service from the attentive staff, high quality selection of food and a more than impressive wine list. Extremely intimate setting and somewhat stylish decor.

Entrees and mains came out in a more than suitable time, you don't have to ask for anything as the owner and staff especially are well and truly on the ball. Despite this being our first trip to this establishment it certainly won't be our last. Cannot wait to get back in a few months....thanks

Helpful?
Thank murraybrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent quality of food and service”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We visited Sip Wine bar in seminyak with a group of our friends and all of us had a wonderful dinner. My husband had the 7 hour slow cooked lamb casserole and it was delicious and a nice change from eating Nasi goreng! the quality was wonderful. only downside was we sat in the front part which is somewhat outside and we were literally surrounded by smokers. I know you can find this in a lot of restaurants in Bali but after a while it put us off our meal and we left early. i would recommend sitting in the actual restaurant part if you are not a fan of passive smoking.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gove
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sip wine bar great food value for money”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Sip wine bar is great cuisine also combined with an awesome wine selection at an affordable price.
Look its not you average cafe bistro price range but it is value for money.
I have had a trip at the end of last year where I had a duck liver pate as a starter,followed with duck with orange sauce.
I have previously also had steak,which are cooked to perfection but wanted to try other selections from the menu.
Now not that I am a wine coniseur or anything but the wines they have recommended have been light and fruity,and on each occasion have complimented the dishes chosen.
Its also a nice setting as its in the hustle bustle of Seminyak.
A better location would have been right on the water front but hey beggars can't be choosers.
An all around quality dining experience where the owner also frequents as he did on one of my previous visits.
The staff have obviously had a high quality of training so can help with wine selection as well as recommending dishes.
I found the place to be very clean as well as interesting choice of decor.
The toilets are also of interest as they contain interesting reading material as well as does the resteraunt area.
I chose not to have sweats although I have had on previous visits they are also delicious and with a wide variety.
This could be a pleasant dining experience with family or freinds but also quite a romantic venue.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank poss13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sip Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sip Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing