We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere, beautiful Japanese”
Review of Kuni's Bali

Kuni's Bali
Ranked #145 of 519 Restaurants in Seminyak
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, beautiful Japanese”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The service was brilliant and the ambiance was amazing. Definitely recommend on this alone. The food was fresh and tasty too - fantastic Japanese and was recommended by our hotel - I can see why. The sushi was so fresh so definitely make sure you try some.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ozzie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    109
    26
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really great if you are fussy”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Highly recommend this one.
Had two families and everyone was very very thrilled with gorgeous food.
Price about half what you would pay in Perth for good Japanese.
Kitchen looked VERY clean.
Think we are going back again ths week!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rmants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It all looks so good, shame it doesn't taste good too”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Kuni's is Japanese owned so I had high expectations. We ordered tempura, sashimi, agedashidofu, tebasaki, yakisoba and yakizakana. I was astounded that the yakitori prices were per stick and were more expensive than many izakaya's in Japan.

Everything came out looking as it should and we had a good feeling about Kuni's. Sadly once we started eating we only found the Sashimi to be any good.
- tebasaki - preboiled and then semi-grilled? Chicken had no flavour, we had to actually request salt.
- tempura - old oil, giving everything a bad taste. Batter was not seasoned and maybe also old.
- yakisoba - preboiled chicken (why chicken I don't know) and overly oily.
- agedashidofu - was ok, but I think they must have a hard time sourcing flavoursome tofu.
- Karaage - no flavour and do terribly oily.

Such a shame this meal was do oily and lacking in genuine flavoursome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tiges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Japanese Gem!!!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stumbled across this Japanese restaurant by sheer fluke and wow, thank goodness we did!! They were slammed but the service was gorgeous and the food sublime!!! The tuna carpaccio is a MUST but all was incredible. The seafood was so fresh, the sashimi would literally melt in your mouth! We left, four very happy customers!

Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

If you're craving Japanese whilst in Bali or just looking for a great meal, this is definitely a goer. The food was amazing, the salmon sashimi melted in your mouth and the butterfish in miso, was so good, we went for seconds. Great cocktails and reasonably priced. Highly recommended. Yum!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuni's Bali also viewed

 

Been to Kuni's Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing