We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Japanese Gem!!!”
Review of Kuni's Bali

Kuni's Bali
Ranked #185 of 524 Restaurants in Seminyak
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
1 review
“Japanese Gem!!!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stumbled across this Japanese restaurant by sheer fluke and wow, thank goodness we did!! They were slammed but the service was gorgeous and the food sublime!!! The tuna carpaccio is a MUST but all was incredible. The seafood was so fresh, the sashimi would literally melt in your mouth! We left, four very happy customers!

Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    110
    27
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

If you're craving Japanese whilst in Bali or just looking for a great meal, this is definitely a goer. The food was amazing, the salmon sashimi melted in your mouth and the butterfish in miso, was so good, we went for seconds. Great cocktails and reasonably priced. Highly recommended. Yum!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A diamond in the rough”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The secret about Seminyak is that there are a few luxurious hotels and some pretty amazing villas, and they are surrounded (mostly) by places that are many stars (even lightyears) behind and I for one cannot understand this.

And so to Kuni's.

The service was good, attentive but not too much, the place is very nice looking and elegant, the music and lighting were perfect, the garden was beautiful,  the food was delicious and the whole experience was great!

It was priced at what I guess is expensive for the area, but we didn't feel like we overpaid as we were so happy with it and we felt like we were in a more sophisticated area than Seminyak. It was 358,000 (US$38 for 2 people) including a big piece of salmon and 1 beer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OliinAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka, Japan
1 review
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Kuni's Bali is really nice place which is my best Japanese restaurant in Bali.
We had teriyaki chicken, tempura, and salad. Also, some drinks.
Foods are excellent and cooked exactly like in Japan.
Staff are really kind and they speak some Japanese. That really helped us.
Comfortable seats, very quiet place, and beautiful interior.
For sure we will come back again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Marianas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tasty, elegant and affordable Japanese”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were feeling a craving for good Japanese, so we tried Kuni's Bali on "eat street," based on Trip Advisor reviews. Very nice choice! We had the wakame salad, eggplant, prawn shumai, california roll, unagi sushi, miso soup, and cucumber salad. Everything was delicious! My only disappointment was the sushi rice in the california roll. It tasted great, but did not hold together the way it's supposed to when it's done properly. Alsa, sushi and sashimi selections are somewhat limited, probably depending on the availability of sashimi-grade local fish. The service was excellent, and the restaurant is very elegant and cool. Give Kuni's a try!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saipanjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuni's Bali also viewed

 

Been to Kuni's Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing