We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality”
Review of Umah Watu Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Umah Watu Villas
Ranked #27 of 434 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We found Umah Watu Villas on the trip advisor site and booked just before departing Australia. On arrival we were greeted warmly and provided a simple but beautiful and clean room. These villa’s are in a fantastic location and the owner and staff were extremely helpful with suggestions of the best restaurants and bars. The villa design allows social interaction with other guests or the opportunity for privacy. We were lucky enough to meet some fabulous people. I’m looking forward to returning to Umah Watu.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TessaCastlemaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 216 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2009

My third time in Bali but my first time at Umah Watu Villas. But it won't be my last. I was made to feel at home so much in this Villa complex that I am wanting to go back to Seminyak and Umah Watu year after year. But next time, I'll take my partner or friends or family along with me, cos I would love to share this experience with them. The service was so personalised yet not over the top/in your face. The owner Peter, an ex-pat from Melbourne and his partner Tonno bent over backwards to fulfill any request I had. Driving me to places in their car or motorbike, suggesting things to do/see, helping me effortlessly with whatever I needed. The rooms are modern yet not in the contemporary stark way - they feel cosy, comfortable and very 'home' like. As is the communal living areas, complete with an array of CD's, DVD's, books and magazines. But the best - the beautiful pool, gardens and water features. Such a place of serenity. It's a little off the beaten track location wise, but I came to get use to this and in the end was happy for it, as it was away from the tourist throngs, motorbikes and taxi noise that you get on the main strips. I am very grateful to Peter, Tonno and his team of wonderful staff including Annie, Andre, Gun and all of the other boys, who made me feel so welcome and at home. A bunch of perfect hosts! Thank you. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulfromPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2009

Step in through the Balinese doorway from the lane outside and you're in a relaxing oasis of tropical plants, with an inviting pool and the sounds of falling water; far removed from the bustle you find in some parts of Bali. The beach and Seminyak's many restaurants, bars and shops are all within a short walking distance, or a quick cheap cab or moto ride if you prefer.

This was my ninth stay at Umah Watu. When you find somewhere good you do tend to keep returning! What originally 'sold' me on this place was the 360 degree views you get on the Umah Watu website that let you see the pool, villa pavillions and inside the rooms from all angles. What you see is what you get, and what you get is great value for money. Not as expensive as your own stand-alone villa, and more like staying at a friend's well-furnished villa. Umah Watu attracts a diverse crowd of usually well-travelled couples and singles from around the world. I've met many interesting people there and have enjoyed the casual relaxed chats around the pool. If you want to be alone in your own villa compound, or share a pool with many at a resort , then Umah Watu is not for you.

Umah Watu is two pavillions either side of the pool, each with a larger (deluxe) and smaller (standard) bedroom. There is a fifth bedroom in an upstairs area overlooking the pool. The bedrooms in the two pavillions share a common lounge/dining area with cable tv, dvd/cd player, and a small kitchen area. Each of these bedrooms has a semi-outdoors bathroom off to one side of the sort that you commonly find in villas in Bali. Beds are four-poster with mosquito nets (more for decoration - you won't need to use them), and furnishings a mix of Indo-colonial style teak, with quality linens and fittings, asian decorative objects and some modern art. All very comfortable and creating that impression of staying at a good friend's Villa rather than another generic hotel. Umah Watu is scrupulously clean, polished, swept and maintained to a very high standard by the staff.

You share your breakfast table with the other guests and it is another opportunity to chat and share some tips on places to see and go. The included breakfast is filling: cereal, toast, jams, and a pancake or eggs and bacon as you like. Lunch and dinner can be had at any of the great restaurants and cafes within walking distance, or take a cab if you want to go further. There is also an easy dial-in service from a range of local and well-known restaurants and cafes if you don't feel like heading out.

Peter, host and owner, is great at encouraging a relaxed and convivial atmosphere, and is a source of useful local infomation if you need it. The staff are friendly, fun, helpful and unobtrusive. Over many visits I have got to know and respect them. They 'make' a stay at Umah Watu easy and hassle-free.

Highly recommended, and looking forward to another stay later this year!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pengembara7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

Interesting how the two other reviews for Umah Watu are so different. We're definitely in the 'good' box...
We had a great time and can't thank Peter's guys enough for everything. Clean, private, beautifully designed and finished, great location, good breakfasts...!
Yes, the sunloungers are in an odd place and yes, the bathroom in a standard room is a bit small. Small price to pay. Don't come here if you want Kuta's buzz, although we had a motorbike, organised through the staff, for the duration and the buzz is not far away! If you want a relaxing break from it all, Umah Watu is great, and some great bars and restaurants in Seminyak are only a 10-15 minute walk away. We'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We have recently stayed at Umah Watu Villas and really enjoyed ourselves. The owner, Peter was most helpful as were all the staff. All emails were replied to very promptly and efficiently.
The rooms were comfortable and the bathroom was typically indoor outdoor as are many bathrooms in Bali. The communal living area was most comfortable and the pool is a reasonable length to swim laps and always clean. The fact that the pool is above ground made no difference actually helped create privacy from the other half of the villa complex. The gardens are very well maintained and creatively designed. I did feel that the pool beds were not placed correctly.
Admittedly there was only one other guest staying in the opposite wing when we were there, might be a bit different if there are many guests , but I do not think that it is the sort of place for families with children who would make a noise
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Umah Watu and would recommend it to discerning travelers
The guesthouse is situated at the end of a small road which makes it extremely quiet and is quite convenient to the eat street and the beach whilst not being right on the beach.
The price for what you get is reasonable, there are not many guesthouses in the area offering similar accommodation at this price.
Sydney Australia

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jezdtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2008

Do not waste your vacation staying here. The photos may look nice online, but it is not a true depiction of this property.
I have stayed at many "shabby chic" hotels/villas in my travels and there is nothing chic about this place.
The toilet and shower were outside on the balcony. The ants seemed to enjoy the toilet seat and the cars down below enjoyed a nice bath from the rusty cold water from the shower.
The A/C never cooled the room off and the room fan was on a 2hr max timer! Electricity was controlled by a giant key fob attached to the room key, so there was no way to keep the room cool while gone. If this doesn't tell you how cheap the owner is, he said that he would "work out a rate" for the wireless Internet code AFTER one of his staff members readily gave it to us.
The pool has 4 lounge chairs which are nowhere near each other or in the sun. The pool looks cool, but is basically above ground and not easily accessed. Unless you are staying in an entire villa, there is no comfortable common area in which to relax.
Additionally this property is tucked deep within single lane streets and taxi drivers will have a difficult time finding it.
Save your vacation and stay at one of the many other hotels there that accurately reflect what a Balinese holiday should be: Hotel Tugu, The Elysian, The Legian or The Oberoi. More expensive but well worth it!!
We expressed our dissatisfaction to the owner and he said, "Bali is a third world country. We don't have the luxuries of New York or London," and he didn't care because he "didn't have many Americans staying there anyway," so he wasn't worried about bad word of mouth.
Therefore, this review is for travelers from all countries,not just my fellow Americans.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank osquaredc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umahwatu, Bus.Dev.Manager at Umah Watu Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2009

Dear Sir/Madam,
I would appreciate your advising me of the possibility of your posting a response from me, regarding a negative comment about our property in Bali.
Again to advise you, the comments are unfounded and without merit.I will write a separate response to this criticism if you will do me the courtesy of posting my response.
My response will include the facts that I personally (at approx .11 pm) ,greeted these guests, reviewing facilites and proceedures, and even personally driving them (at this late hour), to a nearby restuarant .
At no time were they made to feel unwelcome, and they never expressed disatisfaction with our facilities.
It was not until they left this hotel;, not properly checking out , and without paying the bill for the room and mini bar usage ( in hotel terms known as "a runner"). At this time I was not aware there was any problem.
I can assure you that given the oportunity I can request letters from previous guests outlining their comments on their stays at "Umah Watu".
Please advise if it is appropriate to request these letters in defence of our property and services.
"Umah Watu has been in business for 5 years, and this is first time we have received an unfavourable review.
Thanking your for your consideration , advise and help in this matter.
Looking forward to your response,
Sincerely,
Peter Finlason
Bus.Dev. Manager

"Umah Watu" Villas
23 E Jalan Sari Dewi,
Basangkasa. Seminyak.
80361.Kuta. BALI.
I N D O N E S I A.
Tel: 62 (0) 361 731006.
Mb:62 (0) 818551107
Email: peter@umahwatu.com
Website: www.umahwatu.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank yelka2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1 mi away
Daluman Villas
Daluman Villas
#18 of 434 in Seminyak
326 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Light Villas
The Light Villas
#30 of 434 in Seminyak
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Annora Villas Seminyak
Annora Villas Seminyak
#24 of 434 in Seminyak
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sandi Agung Villa
Sandi Agung Villa
#11 of 434 in Seminyak
239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Samaja Villas
Royal Samaja Villas
#8 of 434 in Seminyak
205 reviews
0.9 mi away
Samaja Villas Kunti
Samaja Villas Kunti
#26 of 434 in Seminyak
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umah Watu Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umah Watu Villas

Address: 27C Jalan Sari Dewi, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 434 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: $97 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Umah Watu Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Umah Watu Villas.The team from Umah Watu are excited to present a new range of private villas for your enjoyment.For our returning guests, we are certain that you will enjoy this new range of villas and the familiar faces of the 'Umah Watu' team.These new fully serviced villas will ensure your next stay will be a memorable one. All are meticulously serviced and maintained by our friendly, experienced staff.We have a range of options available from a one bedroom guesthouse through to a gorgeous, fully self-contained home. Located in the same prestigious Oberoi-Seminyak location, the beach & everything you need is close by. Attention to detail, service and immaculate presentation, this is excellent quality in an unbeatable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Umah Watu Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umah Watu Villas Hotel Seminyak
Umah Watu Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing