We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An affordable nice place to stay”
Review of Umah Watu Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Umah Watu Villas
Ranked #27 of 434 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Airport transfers are a nice deal with this place. The property is quite beautiful, though the cheapest room is a bit small and the owner lives adjacent to it (though he was a nice guy). For the price though it is really rather private which is great, and is right next to the swimming pool. Breakfast is good, though options other than eggs would be nice. Peter went out of his way to be helpful and was a good host.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 216 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from staying at Umah Watu (Taman Toya villa 2) for 9 nights and could not have had a more pleasant experience, a more gracious and helpful host nor friendlier staff. The location was perfect, in a quiet lane away from the hurley burley but close enough to walk to the beach, shops and eateries. The villa was beautifully appointed and very private with our own pool and garden and Annies cooked breakfasts made to order every morning were delicious (you must have her scrambled eggs). Peter was genuinely friendly and extremely helpful and went out of his way to assist us in every way possible. We cannot recommend Umah Watu / Taman Toya villas highly enough and are looking forward to returning at the same time next year. I noticed with interest a review of Taman Toya Villas in December 2012, in which the writer had some extremely unpleasant things to say about the villas and particularly about Peter the owner, and am amazed at the lengths some people will go to to in an attempt to get a refund.

Room Tip: We stayed in Taman Toya villa 2. Secluded, private 2 storey traditional Asian style villa, self cont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Its probably the best boutique villas I have ever stayed in. This was out 4th visit to Bali and whilst we always stayed mostly in Ubud, we wanted to around action for NYE. Umah Watu was a perfect combination of the location and experience we were looking for. Extremely tastefully designed and maintain, this is definitely a 5-star quality property. The owner Peter Finalson, was so humble, friendly and always happy to help! It was like staying at someone's beautiful home, the personal touch was beyond appreciable. We had booked ourselves for a nice dinner on Nea Year's day, but alas it turned to be a evening with lashing rain. Peter very kindly offered to drive us upto the main road to help was get a cab as walking would have been quite a task, especially when dressed up for a nice dinner. When we got to the main roads, which is just 5mins from the villa, it certainly seemed like a nightmare to get a taxi. We asked Peter to drop us off and we can get a cab and he just refused to and instead drove us all the way to where we were meant to go! Saving our New Year dinner!!! Just to add to our holiday nightmare, our 6:45amm cab pick up to airport never arrived on time the following day and Peter quickly booked us a taxi, once again refusing to let us pay the driver and paying for it himself. Having travelled a lot ourselves and stayed in some the leading and finest as well as boutique hotels, I have not experienced the generous hospitality we had at Umah Watu! Excellent villas, good breakfast and service beyond expectations. I am definitely making another trip here as 2 nights were certainly not enough!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avid_traveller258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UmahWatuBali, Owner at Umah Watu Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review of "Umah Watu" Villas.It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us over the hectic New Year period.I can only say that is guests like you that make our jobs, and our product so enjoyable, easy and rewarding.
You were delightful guest to have, and it is very easy to assist and help out when things sometimes go wrong. Reading your comments ( and all the great reviews we have recieved) keeps us enthusiastic and fresh and even more determined to make sure your holiday and your time in Bali is the very best.
All my staff have been notified of your great review.Thanks again and we very much look forward to having you with us again very soon.Peter,Annie and Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed at the 2 BR Corra Villa.
This is as good as you can get;
Lovely villa and lovely staff too - Mr Made the driver and Miss Anis are a delight.
Not much more to add that hasn't already been said but if you plan a holiday to Bali you would be doing yourself a favour by booking here - NOTHING negative to say

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rikkimca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed in taman toya villa for a few nights and loved this place. Great location near seminyak beach, but then again the villa is so nice we were tempted not to leave much! Two floors, beautifully appointed, very clean, well stocked and cheap mini bar, lovely outdoor showers, lovely garden, and in a quite and convenient locale. We loved the private pool: just perfect for cooling off after walking the streets of seminyak. Annie was lovely and made us feel very welcome. If we return to seminyak we will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASdobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have stayed for 3 nights with my boyfriend in Taman Toya 4. We found it just amazing. This Vila has a view to the rise field which is nice. The pools is just wonderful. Not large, but you feel like it should be. They organized a pick-up from the airport for free (which is around 10$ if you as for a taxi at the airport). The driver guy Putu (not sure about the spelling) was a nice one, we did a trip with him next day to the vulcano and Ubud (50$). The trip was fine, just if we would do it next time we would just take taxi to Ubud and spend the whole day without going to the vulcano etc.
What I realy liked was the feeling, that everything is as it should be. Maybe because of the australian owner Peter and his sense of good things. The first two nights we were alone in the 2 rooms Villa (the third one room is of the owner Peter). And the staff felt were is intimacy and public so well. If anytime I will be in Seminyak (what I would not like), I would stay in this Villa.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glamorous_researcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I recently spent three weeks at Taman Toya Villas. The location was perfect- not too far away from shops, restaurants and the beach. The staff were amazing and assisted me with anything I needed. The owner gave us some great advice on places to eat and what to see with small child. I would recommend this to anyone going to Bali

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomsons487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1 mi away
Daluman Villas
Daluman Villas
#18 of 434 in Seminyak
326 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Light Villas
The Light Villas
#30 of 434 in Seminyak
229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Annora Villas Seminyak
Annora Villas Seminyak
#21 of 434 in Seminyak
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hevea Villas
Hevea Villas
#1 of 434 in Seminyak
358 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sandi Agung Villa
Sandi Agung Villa
#11 of 434 in Seminyak
239 reviews
0.9 mi away
Samaja Villas Kunti
Samaja Villas Kunti
#26 of 434 in Seminyak
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umah Watu Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umah Watu Villas

Address: 27C Jalan Sari Dewi, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 434 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: $97 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Umah Watu Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Umah Watu Villas.The team from Umah Watu are excited to present a new range of private villas for your enjoyment.For our returning guests, we are certain that you will enjoy this new range of villas and the familiar faces of the 'Umah Watu' team.These new fully serviced villas will ensure your next stay will be a memorable one. All are meticulously serviced and maintained by our friendly, experienced staff.We have a range of options available from a one bedroom guesthouse through to a gorgeous, fully self-contained home. Located in the same prestigious Oberoi-Seminyak location, the beach & everything you need is close by. Attention to detail, service and immaculate presentation, this is excellent quality in an unbeatable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Umah Watu Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umah Watu Villas Hotel Seminyak
Umah Watu Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing