We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYE at Seminyak”
Review of The Seri Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Seri Villas
Ranked #104 of 426 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed at Seri Villas for 3 nights with 3 of my girlfriends over NYE 2013. We found the Villas over booking.com and booked a two bedroom villa at a very good price. We were all looking forward to staying there especially after looking at the photos on their website. Well I have to say that we were a bit disappointed when we arrived. First of all, it was not as clean as we expected. The size of the bedrooms and living area was nice but the bathrooms were the real disappointment. Our shower did not work properly and that's why it was constantly flooded. Even though the swimming pool looked nice, we didn't take a swim once because it also looked dirty. There was constant noise coming from a building site right next to the villa. The best thing was the breakfast they prepared for us in the villa every morning. Finally, to comment on the location, well the villas are situated in a very small street which is not easy to find. We didn't feel very comfortable walking all the way from the main Seminyak road at night. It is really not far from the main road where all the beach clubs are, during the day it is only 10 minutes walk to the beach, however, at night we preferred to take a taxi back. Unfortunately, knowing now all other beautiful hotels and villas in Seminyak area, I have to say that I would not choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin h, Owner at The Seri Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for writing a review.
I'm an owner of the property and I take your feedback very seriously.

We are currently renovating all the rooms with a focus on overhauling the bathrooms so if you do return I'm sure taking a shower or lounging in that large bath will be much more inviting.

The swimming pools are regularly checked and are always clean, we use green tiles to give a natural feel and subtle look to the villas perhaps the aesthetic didn't appeal.

I'm sorry about the building work next door, I'm sure the very good price you received factored that in a little. The work is being finished now so should not be a problem going forward.

We love our location, yes it is down one of the small roads to criss cross the whole of Bali but as a result we don't get any of the noisy through traffic. Not many villas can say they are only a very short walk from Potato Head, Hu'u and the nearby restaurants. I'm sorry that you did not feel comfortable to walk down the road at night, Seminyak is a safe place most of the time, but as always please use discretion. I attach a thread concerning safety.
http://answers.worldnomads.com/questions/indonesia/9043/is-it-safe-to-go-out-in-bali-at-night-around-seminyak

I do hope we see you again.
Please contact me via the hotel if you would like

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 264 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed at Seri Villas for 3 nights in December with friends. I have to say without a shadow of doubt, it has been the worst villa any of us have stayed in (and we have stayed in many).

Location: It is very deep in from the main road. Accessible only via a narrow dirt track. One has to take a taxi back to the villa.

Breakfast: prompt, friendly cook.

Rooms:

The absolute nail in the coffin with this place is that their large sofa set in the living space smells absolutely like old wet stinky socks! Despite their claims that the covers were washed 2 weeks ago, none of us could bear to sit on it. We had to request for 2 sets of bedsheets to drape over them to mask the smell which permeates the entire dining and living room space. God-awful.

Pillows are flat and stink.

Every bathroom and kitchen fixture is covered with limescale. The kitchen tap was leaky throughout our stay. No attempt was made to repair it despite the cooks using the kitchen each day to prepare breakfast, leaving the entire dining and living space smelling of butter and eggs.

Mozzies were rampant during our stay. Repeat requests for mozzie coils went unanswered. We ended up buying our own from the supermarket the next day.

Bathroom: Toilet bowl was stained yellow. As was the in-built bidet. Enough said. Open air shower leaves the entire bathroom floor wet.

Service: Practically non-existent. Innumerous phone calls but one for service went unanswered. The one time they actually answered a request for extra pillows was after a 40min wait.

First call from our villa for the shuttle, we were told we had to wait 2 hours because the shuttle was busy somewhere in Bali and the driver cant make it back! After 2 hours, fed up with the lack of service and the fact that it was waaaaayy past lunch hour, all of us marched out to the front desk to wait. The receptionist made a call and within 5 min, the driver appeared. This just stinks of suspicious bad service.

On our check out day, we requested for the shuttle to take us out for lunch at a nearby warung. After waiting 20min in their waiting room, we went out to check how long more the shuttle would take and realised that between the 3 people at the front desk, no one had communicated our request to the driver!

We were EXTREMELY happy to leave the villa.

Honestly, if you are looking for a smelly, leaky villa during peak period, which is inaccessible by foot and will torture you with every horrible lack of service, look no further. This place checks every nightmare criterion off the list.

Room Tip: AVOID at all cost. You will find hundreds more at the same price with better location, service and q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flover81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin h, Owner at The Seri Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for the time taken to give us this valuable feedback.
We are sorry that our villas failed to match up to your expectations.

Bali is full of narrow little roads and tracks and we love our hidden away location. Many other villas are located on main roads and can be very noisy at night. Not many villas are so perfectly based, a very short walk gets you to The Living Room, La Lucciola, Hu'u Potato Head etc..

Bali is close to the humid equator, but thats no excuse for a damp sofa, we have reviewed our cleaning and drying procedure and added to our sofa cover inventory to ensure this wont happen again.
Our Mosquito policy is to spray all rooms at dusk and supply coils at night upon request.
I attach a tripadvisor thread on mozzies.
http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g294226-i7220-k2481813-Mosquitoes-Bali.html

All rooms have been recently checked for wear and tear and renovations are currently underway.
Our indoor/outdoor bathrooms are open plan making for a lovely fresh air experience, shower trays should capture the floor water and we will check all rooms to ensure sufficient depth.

The Seri Villas provide a free airport transfer for all guests. The free local shuttle service is available if our two cars are not carrying out an airport transfer. We do ask our guests to pre book where ever possible to avoid disappointment.

I am an owner of the property, I appreciate your feedback. whilst I realise that you may not wish to receive an inducement to give us another try at a beneficial rate If you would like to contact me via the hotel I would like to extend an offer to you.

m

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Not the easiest villa to find and even the local taxi drivers struggled but this villa is well worth the search. Having stayed in a number of villas over the years this one is excellent value for money and is in area where the noise of the Bali streets is a hum in the distance. Staff can not do enough to make your stay enjoyable and the room rates, with breakfast included, are definitely at the lower end of the villa price scale. The lower cost has not been at the expense of quality and cleanliness. The villas were cleaned daily and the bathrooms and pool area was spotless. If you intend spending a lot of time in Kuta a taxi ride will cost $2.00 more as you are a little further out but so what there are some great sites to be seen from the back of a taxi as you drive the busy streets. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the rear of the villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidmacAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martin h, Owner at The Seri Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

davidmacAdelaide
Thank you for taking the time to write this positive review, your reviews tend to get helpful votes too so we appreciate you spreading the word.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found us!

I think I'll try to put together a map of our location to help you and others (taxi's) find us more easily.

thanks again
If you would like to visit us again please let me know in advance by getting in touch with the front desk +62 361 801 3577

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have for many years been coming to Bali and staying in the Seminyak area. A few years back i managed to stumble on this oasis in the middle of the paddy fields. The service of the staff and the rooms themselves have been perfect on the visits i have had. Well worth every penny spent and i cannot wait till i go back again.......
The last time infact was so perfect upon our return my wife and i found we were expecting a baby ... what more can one say :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PartOwnerSeriVillas, Owner at The Seri Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Stuart S
Thanks for taking the time to write a review
Congrats on the impending arrival, wonderful news, must be getting close now. Good luck with everything.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back once you start traveling again and hope its perfect again.

m

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a lovely villa off the main road down a street set back from all the husstle and noise. It is a hop, ski and a jump from all the action and took minutes to get to the main shopping street.
The was great, attending to our needs,really nice pool, a great place for families to stay.
The breakfast was good, typical Balinese 'tourist breakfast'.
Anything we need was brought up straight.
The pool was a big plus, private with loads of chaise chairs, great for kids as you do not have to worry about them being too noisy.
The staff will take you anywhere, whenever you like.
It was great to be surrounded by such lovely people.
Our first stay in Bali, will not be our last and we will be heading here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaPS43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed there for 4nites with my girlfriends n our kids..the staff were very attentive to our needs n the shuttle was always on time.the kids simply love the private pool..the place is clean,spacious n inviting..I would definitely recommend it to all my friends n family..thank u seri villas...I will always stay there whenever I go to Bali..no other place will do..

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geehanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were here during our honeymoon. And what a welcoming party we had!

They had filled the whole villa with flowers! On the bed (obviously), even in the private pool (which is right smack in front of the living area), bathtub and even a bouquet of flowers for us! We had breakfast served at our own dining area the whole time.. You can choose to have it at the terrace as well to check out the rest of the hotel but we like the idea of having someone sending us breakfast. :)

They also prepared a candle light dinner by the pool for us on the first night. With the candles and all? I would never have expected that! And it was a gesture we can never thank enough.

The best part was while swimming in the pool during one late evening, room service got us pizza from Trattoria! At our expense but it was delivery right at your pool step! This was a special service though.. but the gesture to help was much appreciated!

Hotel is always clean with fresh sheets and towels when you get back from shopping. And you can be ensured total privacy when tanning on the comfy sofa lounge always as the villas are high walled, as if you are in your own island. - we found this really suitable cuz we stay in Singapore which sells overpriced bird houses.

Convenient as the hotel is about 15 mins away from 66 beach. We didn’t try the spa though. You can browse tru the spa menu when you are there! I'm sure it will be lovable~

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nurul Karimah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.6 mi away
ASA Bali Luxury Villas
ASA Bali Luxury Villas
#67 of 426 in Seminyak
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nunia Boutique Villas
Nunia Boutique Villas
#72 of 426 in Seminyak
170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Destiny Villas
Destiny Villas
#66 of 426 in Seminyak
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bracha Villas Bali
Bracha Villas Bali
#50 of 426 in Seminyak
209 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bali Rich Luxury Villa
Bali Rich Luxury Villa
#127 of 426 in Seminyak
340 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ininda & Ligaya Villa Seminyak
Ininda & Ligaya Villa Seminyak
#66 of 121 in Seminyak
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seri Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seri Villas

Address: Gang Telaga Waja | Petitenget, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 426 Specialty Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: $110 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Seri Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Seri Villas - Seminyak? In the Malay language, Seri means “sparkling, shining light”, an appropriate title for The Seri Villas, a contemporary Balinese villa inspired enclave of nine, two and three bedroom, beautifully appointed luxury serviced villas. Combining the tranquility of a private sanctuary with modern amenities for the perfect holiday hideaway, the Seri Villas boutique resort is a peaceful oasis nestled in the heart of the fashionable Petitenget Oberoi area on Bali’s south-western coast. The Seri Villas is just footsteps from Seminyak's main beach and shopping. A short stroll will take you to some of Bali’s finest restaurants and bars, La Lucciola,, Hu'u, Potato Head Beach Club, and Ku De Ta. You will be spoilt for choice.Only thirty to fourty five minutes by transfer from Denpasar airport, all of The Seri Villas two and three bedroom luxury Bali villas feature, WIFI, private pools and en suite indoor/outdoor bathrooms. Come relax in private with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Seri Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seri Villas Hotel Seminyak
The Seri Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing