We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not pleased”
Review of Sarinande Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sarinande Hotel
Ranked #20 of 110 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not pleased”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

booked this room in advance for my first three nights in Bali. room is ok....basic, but fairly clean except for far too many mosquitos. guy next door appeared to bring back hooker each night. upon check in, they increased the agreed to price per night, but i was too tired from long flight to argue....needed to rest. at check out, much confusion about my bill. please review carefully as they inaccurately tried to charge me for another room's mini bar. staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    87
    30
    19
    5
See reviews for
24
95
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My three friends and I, all aged 24 and 25, stayed here on our trip to Bali in Sept '12.

Having been in Bali for two weeks upon arriving in Seminyak we expected great things-to date our experience of the hotels we stayed in had been great. In short this was our experience of Sarinande:

Arrival: good welcome and the staff were very nice and helpful.

First impressions: the pool area was lovely with lots of greenery-I will upload photos. There was no one around though and we felt like we were the only guests staying there which was a bit odd.

The room: it was basic but bearable. A couple of things- there's an air freshener in the rooms which goes off very frequently and doesn't smell very nice-made us wonder why they had it in the first place as it was the first one we had come across having stayed in 4 different hotels througout Bali to date.

The bathroom: ours was horrible-again Iunwilling upload photos. However my friends bathroom seemed to be better. Regardless you can't expect people to pay money to stay in a seemingly nice hotel and then have to put up with a filthy bathroom.

Breakfast: this was very basic. There were ants all over our table and the selection of food was very limited and consisted of toast which you made yourself, tea which wasn't the most appetising and a selection of eggs.

Checkout/taxi service: the hotel offers a taxi service which is very reasonable in price and the taxi man was lovely. He gave us a detailed history of Bali as we drove from Seminyak to Ubud.

However, we had booked the taxi to pick us up at 10 o clock in the morning. We were told at half nine that morning that it would be 11. We then agreed to half ten but he didn't arrive until 11. The hotel should not take bookings if they cannot honour them.

Location: for us this was the best part of Sarinande- you can walk down a lane way to the beach within minutes.

However as a group of girls we wouldn't recommend staying here. Purely because the hotel is located down very small streets which are poorly lit and requires you to get taxis in the evenings to where the restaurants and bars are.

Overall we all agreed that this was the most dissappointing of all of the hotels we stayed in, and although the staff were really nice and the location with regards the beach is perfect, we wouldnt recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groot-Ammers
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel is located in the queit area of Seminyak. it is far from all the hussle of Seminyak and Kuta. It is 2 minutes from the beach. If you want to go the the centre of Seminyak you have to take a cab ( about 1 euro or 1.2 dollars) or walk ( 10 minutes, but through dark alleyways)
to Kuta the cab fare is about 4 euro or 5 dollars.

the hotel itself is great, the rooms are a bit small, but have an amazing soft bed, and a good shower. the rooms are clean, have AC, fridge and TV.
The breakfast was good for Balinese standards, they even had the Dutch Uitsmijter.
You can get free towels for the pool. The pool is cold, but clean and fairly large.

we wanted to stay here for 2 days, but it became 3 and eventually 4. The last day we had to change rooms, and the friendly staff moved our luggage for us.

the staff is absolutely the most friendly I have ever met. They want to do anything for you. All the staf members always greet you with a smile and ask you how you are doing.
There is a shuttle bus who runs 2 times a day to Kuta ( 10 am and 7 pm) drop off only.
and if you stay for longer than 3 days you get a free shuttle service to the airport.
The staff should get an award for kindness!

we did 2 tours ( Tanah Lot and Lovina) they were great and the drivers were very friendly. The only weird thing is that we wanted to go to Lovina, but the driver really didn't want to go there so he convinced us to go to the rice fields and other places. I did not really matter to us, we had a great day but if they think Lovina is to far, they should not place that tour in their programme.

It is perfect for families, elderly people and people who want to have a goodnight sleep en a peaceful and queit area to relax.

some tips people who want to stay at the Sarinande:

ALWAYS take a metered taxi, there are a lot drivers who want to scam you and ask up to 10 dollars (!) for a two minute drive to the heart of Seminyak. The metered taxi's cost about 1.2 dollars so do the math.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We are leaving Sarinande after three weeks (5 days up north)
We love it here
150 metres to the beach
500metres to the shopping area
The staff go out of their way to make you comfortable and are always ready for a quick chat
We stayed in one of the renovated rooms and it was fantastic,...spacious and modern, with a mix of sleek lines and Balinese decor
Sarinande is an exceptionally clean convenient and comfortable boutique hotel in Seminyak.
The included breakfasts were excellent with a lot of choice.
The daily shuttle 10am and 7pm is a bonus if one wants to go to Kuta
Pick up and transfer to the airport is also an added bonus
We have stayed in many hotels in the past 20 years in Bali but have returned to Sarinande because of the intimacy and value
We will of course be sad to leave but knowing we will return to this hotel makes it easier for us

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Hotel looks like à nice setting , close the beach and bars and restaurants.
Staff is polite , but to less staff in kitchen and restaurant.So you have slowly service.
There are also about 6 cats in the hotel.They sit on the chairs and tables .
Swimmingpool is old and many tiles are broken.

For the roomprice of 550.000 Rp. you can find better than this place.
Old hotel and old rooms.Old bathroom .
At the moment they are renovating the rooms.One by one.Very slowly. 1 room in maybe 2 months.
It is also allowed to take hookers to your room.

So,to expensive , for this kind of hotel. Shame , the setting is good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Sarinande is a nice place, near to the beach and away from the traffic!!

The pool, food and staff are very good! Especially the nice bar in the pool and the free use of bath towels!

There are some big down sides as well! The rooms are very old, the bathroom is small and dirty! The rooms are quiet noisy!!

The value of this hotel is ok! The price for this area is not high but dont expect too muc of the room!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielvNorren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1,147 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We were staying at a nearby hotel in Seminyak, Bali. When we did not want to walk around to find a restaurant in the busy district of Seminyak, we encountered Sarinande Beach Inn's restaurant. It was a small setting by its pool.

The service was slow. They probably has one or two persons in the kitchen. However, their food was quite good and the cost was very low. The bill didn't even have any charges for tax or service. A great value and we highly recommend it if you ever encounter it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuzaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
Tijili Seminyak
Tijili Seminyak
#43 of 143 in Seminyak
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelangi Bali Hotel
Pelangi Bali Hotel
#80 of 143 in Seminyak
1,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
PING Hotel Seminyak Bali
#47 of 143 in Seminyak
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak
Grandmas Plus Hotel Seminyak
#76 of 143 in Seminyak
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarinande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarinande Hotel

Property: Sarinande Hotel
Address: Jalan Serinande 15 | Champlung Tanduk, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarinande Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarinande Hotel offers the most convenient location for exploring the fascinating Seminyak Beach. It is only five minute walk to the beach front, conveniently close to Seminyak’s horse riding activities, temples and to the exotic surfing places of both Legian and Kuta. Ngurah Rai International airport is only 25 minute drive away and Seminyak’s shopping center is within minutes walking distance.Find yourself at the Sarinande Hotel a charming holiday retreat that invites you to experience the warmest of Balinese hospitality in friendly surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sarinande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarinande Beach Hotel Seminyak
Sarinande Hotel Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing