We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing in most respects”
Review of Sarinande Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sarinande Hotel
Ranked #20 of 107 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing in most respects”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My three friends and I, all aged 24 and 25, stayed here on our trip to Bali in Sept '12.

Having been in Bali for two weeks upon arriving in Seminyak we expected great things-to date our experience of the hotels we stayed in had been great. In short this was our experience of Sarinande:

Arrival: good welcome and the staff were very nice and helpful.

First impressions: the pool area was lovely with lots of greenery-I will upload photos. There was no one around though and we felt like we were the only guests staying there which was a bit odd.

The room: it was basic but bearable. A couple of things- there's an air freshener in the rooms which goes off very frequently and doesn't smell very nice-made us wonder why they had it in the first place as it was the first one we had come across having stayed in 4 different hotels througout Bali to date.

The bathroom: ours was horrible-again Iunwilling upload photos. However my friends bathroom seemed to be better. Regardless you can't expect people to pay money to stay in a seemingly nice hotel and then have to put up with a filthy bathroom.

Breakfast: this was very basic. There were ants all over our table and the selection of food was very limited and consisted of toast which you made yourself, tea which wasn't the most appetising and a selection of eggs.

Checkout/taxi service: the hotel offers a taxi service which is very reasonable in price and the taxi man was lovely. He gave us a detailed history of Bali as we drove from Seminyak to Ubud.

However, we had booked the taxi to pick us up at 10 o clock in the morning. We were told at half nine that morning that it would be 11. We then agreed to half ten but he didn't arrive until 11. The hotel should not take bookings if they cannot honour them.

Location: for us this was the best part of Sarinande- you can walk down a lane way to the beach within minutes.

However as a group of girls we wouldn't recommend staying here. Purely because the hotel is located down very small streets which are poorly lit and requires you to get taxis in the evenings to where the restaurants and bars are.

Overall we all agreed that this was the most dissappointing of all of the hotels we stayed in, and although the staff were really nice and the location with regards the beach is perfect, we wouldnt recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    86
    29
    19
    5
See reviews for
24
94
27
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Groot-Ammers
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel is located in the queit area of Seminyak. it is far from all the hussle of Seminyak and Kuta. It is 2 minutes from the beach. If you want to go the the centre of Seminyak you have to take a cab ( about 1 euro or 1.2 dollars) or walk ( 10 minutes, but through dark alleyways)
to Kuta the cab fare is about 4 euro or 5 dollars.

the hotel itself is great, the rooms are a bit small, but have an amazing soft bed, and a good shower. the rooms are clean, have AC, fridge and TV.
The breakfast was good for Balinese standards, they even had the Dutch Uitsmijter.
You can get free towels for the pool. The pool is cold, but clean and fairly large.

we wanted to stay here for 2 days, but it became 3 and eventually 4. The last day we had to change rooms, and the friendly staff moved our luggage for us.

the staff is absolutely the most friendly I have ever met. They want to do anything for you. All the staf members always greet you with a smile and ask you how you are doing.
There is a shuttle bus who runs 2 times a day to Kuta ( 10 am and 7 pm) drop off only.
and if you stay for longer than 3 days you get a free shuttle service to the airport.
The staff should get an award for kindness!

we did 2 tours ( Tanah Lot and Lovina) they were great and the drivers were very friendly. The only weird thing is that we wanted to go to Lovina, but the driver really didn't want to go there so he convinced us to go to the rice fields and other places. I did not really matter to us, we had a great day but if they think Lovina is to far, they should not place that tour in their programme.

It is perfect for families, elderly people and people who want to have a goodnight sleep en a peaceful and queit area to relax.

some tips people who want to stay at the Sarinande:

ALWAYS take a metered taxi, there are a lot drivers who want to scam you and ask up to 10 dollars (!) for a two minute drive to the heart of Seminyak. The metered taxi's cost about 1.2 dollars so do the math.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We are leaving Sarinande after three weeks (5 days up north)
We love it here
150 metres to the beach
500metres to the shopping area
The staff go out of their way to make you comfortable and are always ready for a quick chat
We stayed in one of the renovated rooms and it was fantastic,...spacious and modern, with a mix of sleek lines and Balinese decor
Sarinande is an exceptionally clean convenient and comfortable boutique hotel in Seminyak.
The included breakfasts were excellent with a lot of choice.
The daily shuttle 10am and 7pm is a bonus if one wants to go to Kuta
Pick up and transfer to the airport is also an added bonus
We have stayed in many hotels in the past 20 years in Bali but have returned to Sarinande because of the intimacy and value
We will of course be sad to leave but knowing we will return to this hotel makes it easier for us

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Hotel looks like à nice setting , close the beach and bars and restaurants.
Staff is polite , but to less staff in kitchen and restaurant.So you have slowly service.
There are also about 6 cats in the hotel.They sit on the chairs and tables .
Swimmingpool is old and many tiles are broken.

For the roomprice of 550.000 Rp. you can find better than this place.
Old hotel and old rooms.Old bathroom .
At the moment they are renovating the rooms.One by one.Very slowly. 1 room in maybe 2 months.
It is also allowed to take hookers to your room.

So,to expensive , for this kind of hotel. Shame , the setting is good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012 via mobile

Sarinande is a nice place, near to the beach and away from the traffic!!

The pool, food and staff are very good! Especially the nice bar in the pool and the free use of bath towels!

There are some big down sides as well! The rooms are very old, the bathroom is small and dirty! The rooms are quiet noisy!!

The value of this hotel is ok! The price for this area is not high but dont expect too muc of the room!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielvNorren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1,111 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We were staying at a nearby hotel in Seminyak, Bali. When we did not want to walk around to find a restaurant in the busy district of Seminyak, we encountered Sarinande Beach Inn's restaurant. It was a small setting by its pool.

The service was slow. They probably has one or two persons in the kitchen. However, their food was quite good and the cost was very low. The bill didn't even have any charges for tax or service. A great value and we highly recommend it if you ever encounter it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuzaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

i stayed here two years ago and chose this place because it was close to the villa where my friends were getting married. it was charming and much value for the money.

this is my second time in bali, and this place has gone downhill a bit. this will be the last time

- i was quoted twice the amount i paid two years ago.. i assumed it was because it was high season and we were getting a "superior room". well - it's not high season, we didnt get any room superior to the last one i stayed in, and we also got shuffled to different rooms as if we didnt make reservations prior to our arrival.
- over email it was stated that we would get airport transfers, even though we were both leaving on different dates. today, they said they would charge us for one transfer.
- the bathrooms were not that nice last time either, but in one room, we had to keep the bathroom door locked shut at all times because of the sewage smell, and had to buy incense to cleanse the other strange room smell away
- this place just looks run down, no fresh flowers and charming accents like last time
- for what we paid this time around, a dark room with no windows is not acceptable
- minor complaint, but the walls are thin and you can hear everything everywhere

pros:
clean comfortable beds
fast wifi
great pool (until the last day when it turned green because the filter broke)
friendly staff

in the past two years since ive been here, there have been a TON of new places that mushroomed in the area. we checked the rates and they are much cheaper than what we were quoted here (double the rate of what i paid last time) with newer nicer facilities.
sorry sarinande, its over.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deLite79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri Cendana
Hotel Puri Cendana
#84 of 144 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Umadasa Seminyak
Umadasa Seminyak
#12 of 107 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Artista Bali
Casa Artista Bali
#27 of 107 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kubu Cempaka Seminyak
Kubu Cempaka Seminyak
#4 of 107 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.1 mi away
Seminyak Lagoon All Suites
Seminyak Lagoon All Suites
#9 of 107 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seminyak Paradiso Hotel
Seminyak Paradiso Hotel
#71 of 107 in Seminyak
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarinande Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarinande Hotel

Property: Sarinande Hotel
Address: Jalan Serinande 15 | Champlung Tanduk, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarinande Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarinande Hotel offers the most convenient location for exploring the fascinating Seminyak Beach. It is only five minute walk to the beach front, conveniently close to Seminyak’s horse riding activities, temples and to the exotic surfing places of both Legian and Kuta. Ngurah Rai International airport is only 25 minute drive away and Seminyak’s shopping center is within minutes walking distance.Find yourself at the Sarinande Hotel a charming holiday retreat that invites you to experience the warmest of Balinese hospitality in friendly surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sarinande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarinande Beach Hotel Seminyak
Sarinande Hotel Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing