We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Temple”
Review of Udong Mountain

Udong Mountain
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.00*
and up
Private Oudong Temple Visit from Phnom Penh
More Info
$114.00*
and up
Mt Oudong and Phnom Penh City Tour
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Udong
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bekasi
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Another Temple”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Located outside of Phnom Penh, I took a Tuk Tuk to go there. Beautiful Temples. Had to climb a lot of stairs, nice views from the top. There were like 3 locals were following us trying to guide us there but in the end they were asking for money.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anustein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    43
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A Surprise Wat - then Udong Mountain”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This mountain - maybe high hill would be ore appropriate - was on our itinerary, on the way from Phnom Penh to Battambang, Cambodia. As a surprise, we first came upon a beautiful wat near the base of the hill and just stopped to take photos outside its gate. We then drove up the hill and parked near some stupas, that were quite old. We didn't walk the many-hundreds of steps up to the hill top and the wats on its top. Still, we did enjoy this side-trip the addition to our understanding how this place ws part of the Buddhist hitory of Cambodia, and that it functioned as a royal center centuries ago. I was impressed to see a rather old woman walking down the steps, apparently having made it to the top.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank happy2travelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

After having lived here a few years we finally got out to visit Udong. I am glad we have now seen it, but it was a disappointment. Udong is the old capital of Cambodia, established in the 1600's and abandoned in the 1800's. It has a cultural and historical value that is worth knowing about. Unfortunately, large parts of this city was destroyed by the Khmer Rouge in the 70s's, but there is still plenty to see.

My rating of two on this place has only to do with how it is managed. Apparently, nobody really cares about making this a proper attraction in the way the Angkor temples. To start with, when you get there, there are a couple of guys selling tickets for the place, at least I think so. They were reluctant to give us our tickets, apparently because they intended pocket the money directly. We demanded our tickets and finally got them.Coming into the area, there are no signs at the small junction where to go, but we finally got to the right place. However, there is no assigned parking area, you just park the car where there is room. As soon as you step outside the car you are surrounded by beggars and sellers. They also stuck their heads into the car, not sure why but I do suspect why.

Moving on, there is no sign telling where to go, but it was quite obvious that one should walk up the stairs which we did. We got up to the first stupa and walked on from there. There are signs telling you to take off your shoes, but as most locals are wearing their shoes I couldn't see the point. Also the smell of urine and the trash lying around the place also told me it was a better idea to keep the shoes on.

There are no signs telling the story of the place, also no signs to show where to go. Apparently you are supposed to go up one way and walk down the other a couple of hundred meters east.

Beggars are littered all over the place giving you no time to enjoy the scenery, talk to your family or try to understand what is what and why with all those beautiful structures that you are surrounded by.

Coming back, the children needed to use a toilet, but none were to be found. Instead you had to fight your way through more beggars and sellers passed the restaurants back to the car (hoping that nothing had happened to it).

As we were packing up to leave another pack of beggars surrounded us getting in close. we literally had to push a couple of them away so we could get in the car and they said farewell by kicking the rear bumper as we didn't give them any money.

Thank you and good bye Udong. I will never go back and I hope any tourists keeps it off their to do-list while visiting Cambodia.

I am very experienced from living and traveling in South East Asia for more than ten years, I don't get upset by beggars and sellers. But please, there has to be some boundaries.

Oh, the place is also littered with trash everywhere. Plastics, paper, glass you name it. Dirty and ugly. Combine that with the distinct smell of urine around some of the stupas and you will find this to be quite an unpleasant experience. That's really sad as this place truly has the potential if someone bothered about it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AngkorTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A place to go!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

While at Phnom-Penh for business, I had a one-day trip to spend and cambodian colleagues immediately said: OUDONG! This place is located some 50 km north of Phnom-Penh, close to the western bank of the TonleSap river.
To go there, either take a tchul-tchuk (15-20 USD the trip) or rent a car and follow the Route Nationale 5, it's direct.

The site, which is a monnumental necropolis of some former Cambodian kings, is a series of little roundtop mountains some 200-300 m above the flooded plaine. This was the capital city of the Cambodian kingdom, founded 1601, before Phnom-Penh became the capital in 1866.

The top of each of the hills harbors a gigantic stupa (20-40 m high) or, for the last one built (in 2002) a stupa temple containing Buddha relics (bones).

It is 39-40° celsius outside with 80-90% humidity .. but take the time, and go for some sport: climb the 500-stairs staircase to go up and ride the hills from one top to the next, from one temple to the next. The chinese one, which hold a 21-meter high Buddha statue is being rebuilt after having been destroyed by Red Khmers.

My advice: rent a little boy at the bottom of the giant staircase and he will drive you in the forest trails right where you had to go (about 10-15 USD for his tip at teh end of the day).

AT noon, go to one of the local restaurants at the bottom of the hill: typical, very very local (I was the only european-looking guy among hundreds of cambodian). This place is STILL (for how long) out of the traditional tourist paths. For 30 USD we ate at 7 a lot a lot of traditional cambodian food and had about 20 beers ... Try the CocaCola chicken !!! They force chicken to drink CocaCola and this give the roasted chicken a special caramelized and very very good taste !!!

A place to go, definitely!





Bien qu'il ne reste aujourd'hui que peu de vestiges, Oudong est encore fréquentée par les Khmers qui viennent rendre hommage à leurs anciens rois en se recueillant devant leurs stupas (monument funéraire bouddhique de forme conique).

À côté de stupas datant de 1623 et de 1891, il ne reste en haut des deux collines que les vestiges d'un grand bouddha très abîmé par les bombardements (en cours de restauration).
Stupa construit en 2002.

Un dernier stupa, tout en béton, a été construit par le roi Norodom Sihanouk et inauguré en 2002 pour servir de tombeau à ses parents et grands-parents. Il contient également des reliques de Bouddha.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Philippe U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Nice trip out from Phnom Penh, but be warned 509 steps to climb...”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Having booked 4 nights in Phnom Penh, we were tired of the city and wanted to see some countryside so booked a taxi to Udong or a half day to see the countryside (road follows the Mekong River for part of the way).

Te scenery en-route was very interesting - a mix of towns and countryside so that was nice on it's own, with views of several temples, schools. mosques en-route.

On arrival at Udong, the cost is $1 pp to get in - well worth it!

Yes it is a steep climb of 509 steps but there are 3 resting points or platforms along the way with views of the countryside. We went early and the breezes were very pleasant and made the climb quite easy as I have to admit I was dreading it. Do take your time and stop at the lookouts. We saw several small monkeys resting at these lookouts.

When you get to the top, the surrounding views are fabulous. You will see a large Buddhist monk temple from the lookout - do get your driver to visit the temple afterwards - it really is quite beautiful and serence.

If there was one annoyance, it was several children who tried to pester us from the moment we arrived, but after i politely told them to leave us alone, they did not bother us again, so don't be put off by that.

Once up top, there are more trails leading to other lookout points.

We paid $50 for our half day trip out in a private car arranged through our hotel. You can probably do it cheaper than that, but for us we liked the driver and were happy with the price.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luxtraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Udong Mountain also viewed

Udong, Kandal Province
 

Been to Udong Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing