We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best experances you will have!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the best experances you will have!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was by far the best hotel we have stayed in on a diving holiday. From the onset we were treated so well. The hotel is majestic, the staff are awesome and the management were as good as you can get. There were 14 of us and it was great, I had an injury while I was diving and the hotel staff were the ones that did everything in there power to get me medical help, this was far better than what we have in Australia. They arranged transport to hospital, and then when it came to the services within the hotel nothing was a problem. I would like to thank Nigel and his staff, for making our stay, a great and stunning holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in the standard room, and they were the equal to most hotel's top end suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments to us all and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    311
    87
    26
    24
See reviews for
260
276
70
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Almere
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

This was our 1st visit to Brunei. We've chosen for the Empire Hotel. We had a wonderful time. The Empire is a great hotel with excellent staff and good food. It was the best choice we could make. The Empire is the nr one hotel of Brunei.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
2 Thank Narima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous praise on TripAdvisor and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel have deluxe restaurant and cinema. but I enjoy more their buildings, pool, lanai. The architectural design is so amazing for me. The venue is good for the family who really like to explore new places. The place is romantic also for a couple. You should have around $400 to enjoy the accommodation and amenities of the hotel overnight. Fun and enjoyment can really center on the pool area, you can also do canoeing.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maribeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear Maribeth,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit and thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Rooms weren't too bad for a highly star hotel. I would say too grand which is good! Lobby were gold painted! Staff are quite nice. It's a perfect weekend getaway especially with attractive rates. Best hotels in Brunei! Would recommended to anyone who would rather spent a little bit more for a great world class resort.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Andy,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor recommending The Empire.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Didn't stay here either and had the high tea. The website said the price was $22 per adult but we were charged $26+10% service charge. The scones and sandwiches were ok, the buffet was awful, serving deep fried Indian food and noodles.. That's not how High Tea is done in England I'm afraid. Conclusion; overpriced and poor.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Daniel,

I am sorry you were disappointed with our High Tea and I was most concerned to know that you were overcharged, for which I also apologise.

I would be grateful to have the opportunity to understand your experience in more detail and would request that you please contact me directly, at your convenience.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
418 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

At the recommendation of our guide book we took a public bus here from central BSB just to see this incredible place. It certainly lived up to expectations with an enormous marble lobby and giant chandelier. We ordered some tea and scones which were surprisingly inexpensive and very tasty (the scones had a bit of a cake texture but still tasty) and while waiting for the return bus wandered the grounds.
I would recommend booking a taxi if you're just coming here to visit though as we ended up waiting over 2 hours for the public bus as the schedules are irregular and sometimes the drivers don't stop here. To their credit, the hotel concierge staff went above and beyond to help us get a bus back to central BSB despite us not being guests at the hotel. They even called up the bus company repeatedly for us to check where the buses were.
So if you have time, then definitely come here for a visit, and if you have money then definitely come here to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missyb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to The Empire and I will convey your kind compliment to our Concierge team.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my mother for 3 days the rooms/food/service are perfection.outside the pool is the best I have seen the children love it great for parents.Look for the specials they are cheap for this level of luxury a MUST do

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattarasuda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor and I am pleased to know that you enjoyed staying at The Empire with your mother.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampong Jerudong
8.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,097 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
264 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Rizqun International Hotel
Rizqun International Hotel
#6 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
161 reviews
7.7 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
167 reviews
6.7 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#8 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Property: The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Address: Kampong Jerudong BG3122, Brunei Darussalam
Phone Number:
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Kampong Jerudong
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kampong Jerudong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Empire Hotel & Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the north eastern tip of Borneo on the doorstep of one of Asia's oldest rainforests, The Empire Hotel & Country Club is Brunei’s most prestigious beach resort offering unsurpassed 5-star luxury.This palatial resort hotel, which astounds visitors with its spectacular 12 storey marble and gold lobby, is set in its own private 180-hectare (445 acres) estate of manicured gardens and an 18-hole, floodlit Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and Country Club. Each of the hotel’s 522 opulently appointed guest rooms, suites and private villas has a view of the ocean, lagoon, gardens or golf course, while standard throughout the hotel are Imperial king-sized beds made with the finest linens, and over-sized marble bathrooms with walk-in shower, deep soaking tub with gold taps and luxury amenities. The Empire Hotel & Country Club also extends the kingdom’s regal hospitality with an impressive range of international restaurants, spa, world-class golf and sporting activities, and international meeting facilities for top level MICE gatherings, making it a resort ideal for family, romantic or business vacations. The Empire Hotel & Country Club is a member of WORLDHOTELS and recipient of numerous prestigious international awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Empire Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Empire Hotel And Country Club
Empire Hotel Brunei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing