We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Nearby Hotels
StarLodge(Kampong Jerudong)
$56
$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkview Hotel(Kampong Jerudong)
$58
$42
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jeruton Hotel Sdn Bhd(Kampong Jerudong)
$26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wafa Hotel & Apartment(Bandar Seri Begawan)
$63
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Traders Inn(Bandar Seri Begawan)
$40
$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Centrepoint Hotel(Bandar Seri Begawan)
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rizqun International Hotel(Bandar Seri Begawan)
$150
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Venice Lodge(Bandar Seri Begawan)(Great Value!)
$78
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Garden Hotel(Bandar Seri Begawan)
$45
$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Goodview Hotel(Kampong Jerudong)
Reviews (1,112)
Filter reviews
1,112 results
Traveler rating
640
329
91
27
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
640
329
91
27
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildinggolf coursethe south china seabowling alleyluxurious hotelno alcoholspaghettinihigh teaprivate beachrooms are hugepool sidepantai restaurantdeluxe roomroyal brunei airlinesocean viewatrium cafegolf buggies
Filter
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 1,112 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The Empire Hotel is an experience all on its own. A WOW factor from start to finish. Classy, comfortable, affordable, spacious, friendly, excellent food and service. Thank you for a great holiday. Jen

Room Tip: I actually don't think you can go wrong with any room here but if you are in the main building, east or west wing of the atrium ask for a corner room because they are bigger (approx. 8 metres by 8 metres)
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Ms Jen,

Thank you for your kind review and I look forward to welcome you both back to the Empire.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This place is well worth the short drive from the main part of the city to this secure and wonderfully groomed grounds hotel. It is really a remarkable place to stay and bordering on a palace type atmosphere. The rooms are 5 star and entire hotel is throughout. This is a great place to stay for a few nights and unwind.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am so glad you had a relaxing stay and I hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

It's a beautiful hotel, no expenses spared hotel. If you have been to other 6 stars hotel, I went to one in Brisbane Versace hotel....it gives a different vibes. Nonetheless I enjoyed my stay and didn't stop clicking my camera especially at sunset over the sea. It was just simply beautiful . I have been here twice .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 01Ella01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your experience.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My prejudice runs in favour of snug comfortable country inns with friendly proprietors, good food and wine, and a roaring fire. This is as far as you can get from this and still be in a hotel on Planet Earth. The weird golf buggies that run you around the almost empty buildings, the cavenous, gantry like hotel building, the overdone air-con, the room service that has to traverse hundreds of metres to reach you if you are in an out-building,the doubtful looks about using the gym in the deserted 'country club' on a Friday, the distance from the airport....I could go on. Why stay, unless business takes you, in which case it is reasonably OK for a few days - it is safe, the food is edible, the staff pleasant and efficient, and the conference facilities good.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel or face either a long sticky walk anywhere or wait for ages for a 'buggy'
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeresM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed report and I am sorry that we failed to make you entirely comfortable during your stay in October.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

My stay in The Empire was a great experience. The hotel is amazing and reminds me of Sun City in South Africa. I stayed one night in Seaview Building and the room was perfect, very big, with free wifi, a big balcony, a great bathroom. The entire complex is very nice, with swimming pools, special pool for kids, beach, golf course and a lot of alleys to walk around. I actually did a 10k run around the resort and the golf course. They have few restaurants but depends on the number of persons that are staying in the hotel, if they will have all restaurants open.
As you know, Brunei is a dry country so The Empire is also a dry hotel. You can not serve alcoholic drinks. The breakfast was good, with style and the atmoshpere of the hotel is giving you the luxury feeling and the sensation that you are for a moment a sultan. It is a very relaxing hotel for 2-3 nights and if you want to visit the city, there are just 15 minutes drive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragos_ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

I am delighted you were impressed with your visit and look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire in the future.

Sincerely,

Nigel Badminton
General Manager
nigel.badminton@theempirehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews