We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

....if you're going to just stay put, do some golf, soak up the sun and swim in the nice pools. Even on business travel if you just do your meetings here, it's a really nice place....decadent a little, perhaps.

We had the ocean view room and I like it as the balcony was big and spacious as were the room and bath. Just the way I like it. With most resorts of this kind, if you get a room far from the lobby, it can be quite a walk, especially when you're really late for your transport out to a customer's site.

Whenever I was back in the room, I enjoyed staying there. Nice bed, good shower, enough amenities, etc. Breakfast was sufficient although there wasn't much choice like some places. All together, food was fine.

If I had a grouse, it would be the lack of public transport to go to town which was not that cheap either, but hey, one is supposed to stay at the Empire and make full use of the place and not go out, right?

I really like the fact that Wi-Fi is available and there were no issues for the duration of our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review on your stay at The Empire.

We are always pleased to hear that every aspect of your stay is enjoyed and I certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Nigel Badminton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    313
    87
    26
    24
See reviews for
261
276
71
207
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Turners Beach, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We just had the opportunity to stay in this magnificent hotel for 7 or 8 days. service was generally good. the meals were mmT ok. I just can`t get used to Asian food. The atrium restaurant buffet was absolutely first class. Non buffet meals were crap. The seafood restaurant was not good at all. Our rooms were really good with ocean views on both occasions. They were in excess of $300 Australian including the Eclub. Eclub breakfast and facilities were great. Get to rub shoulders with vip`s from all over the world. The pools were good. the grounds were great for walking around. Beach is right there on the spot. Half drive from town may be a draw back for some, but shuttles and taxis are running all the time. We were not ready for the very humid hot weather in Brunei, and the constant air conditioners were a problem at night for us. We just turned them off. The hotel is a great work of art with gold every where. I think it was designed by an Australian. It is a mind blowing building just to see it. I think there is about 180 hectares in the property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gch57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments and constructive feedback, all of which is appreciated.

I regret that you did not enjoy Pantai restaurant and do please let us know your preference for continental food for your next visit and we will be pleased to make special arrangements for you.

Sincerely,
Nigel Badminton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt.Laurel
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My home country, my cousins wanted to take us to This Buffet/restaurant. Ok-not buffet person..but she mentioned they are luxurious, go there for movies, etc. We went, & it's Off the Hook!! You look at it, say.."so this is where they keep the Gold & $$$" It is all marble & gold trimmed, huge columns, & oversees water scene outside.My cousin told me , during the week, run specials to stay there, 1/2 off, ok in US $, it would have been like $45-75 a night ..(exchange rate at that time) Now you tell us!!!!?? I would have opted to stay there least 2-3 days at a 6-star Luxury hotel!!!!! Hello........The buffet , was like no other. Exceptional, food was amazing,& waiters & waitresses were all very professional & personable.. .

If you ever travel here, please go see Empire Hotel, think that is also where M.J stayed when he went to Brunei, too.

Room Tip: think any room good, want ocean view, ask for one of those rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenw_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely,
Nigel Badminton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Have stayed a couple of times at Empire. Depending on what type of room you select, the standard of room and view that you get varies. There tend to be long queues and delays for check in if it is a weekend or public holiday. This time, chose to check in on Monday into a deluxe E-room. The check in was very fast and efficient. Happy that the request for sea view was fulfilled and pleasantly surprised by a welcome-back card on the table with a few pieces of local cakes. Nice touch. The deluxe E-room was spacious, nice and clean but there is a little odor of cigarette smell on the pillow cases. Love the privacy where one can just sit out at the balcony listening to the waves crashing in and watch the sun slowly sets below the horizon. But one of the lamps at the balcony was not working so it was a bit dark and gloomy at night.

Enjoyed the E-club facilities (worth the extra buck). The personnel at the E-lounge were all very friendly and polite. Most of the staff we met along the way will smile and greet. However, the waiting time for the buggy to come to send us to and fro the country club was a bit long. Enjoyed the sauna there.

Overall it was an enjoyable and relaxing stay. Would return again.

Room Tip: Choose deluxe E-club rooms or suites and request for higher floors and sea-view. Only deluxe and sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadene_Yeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Ms Yeo,

Thank you for your complimentary review and we are monitoring the linen and lamps.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Nigel Badminton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batangas City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2013

3rd days in this hotel but nightmare.

Cigarette smoke stink in the bathroom / Most of Restaurant is closed / The only restaurant offered Buffet but not worthy for B$50 at all.
Room Phone is broken etc. . .

waste of money

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHGFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry to read of your disappointing stay, for which I apologise.

I have taken note of all the concerns you have raised, and should you wish to elaborate further on your experience, I would be pleased to correspond with you.

I hope to be in contact with you, at your convenience, in due course.

Sincerely,
Nigel Badminton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This is our second time at the Empire Hotel and we enjoyed it even more than the first. We were on the return journey to Melbourne and thought we would stay a few nights to re-adjust to the time zone. Our stay could not have been more relaxing, with many swims in the pool and book reading. The on-site restaurant offer has expanded since our last stay in May 2012 with a Teppanyaki Bar. The staff were universally friendly and helpful. The reception atrium is amazing and the rooms spacious. This is a very large property with a few accommodation buildings so if you can book an Ocean view room in the East or West Wing, both for the views and easier access to restaurants, etc. The whole property - inside and out - was immaculately clean all the time. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithFagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous review on TripAdvisor and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Nigel Badminton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We only stayed at the Empire for two nights in the middle of a two week tour of Sabah & Sarawak and were pleased with the overall experience. There was a glitch on arrival whereby we had been allocated a beautiful room with balcony that overlooked nothing but roof tops. The lagoon was visible if you sat at an angle but we didn't feel this was acceptable even though we were only using the hotel as a base. Having immediately requested a change of room we were told there were no others available, unless we paid to upgrade at $88 per night in the main building, this we declined and were then offered a room in the Ocean view block at $33 per night which we accepted. However, the room had to be cleaned and we were told it would take up to 45 minutes. Over an hour and a half later and numerous calls we were finally transferred but very disappointed and frustrated. However, the staff were very apologetic and we did not let this spoil our stay. The whole complex has to be seen, it is beautiful and catered for all tastes. We ate in the buffet seafood restaurant which had a good selection and everything chosen was delicious and not overpriced for the quality. The breakfast in the Atrium was also very good. We did use the hotel shuttle bus to go to Gadong night market which is only 15 minutes away and worth the experience. Upon check out the upgrade fee was waived which we thought very fair.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill541208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback and I am sorry you were disappointed with your room, upon your arrival.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Nigel Badminton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampong Jerudong
8.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,111 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
269 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Rizqun International Hotel
The Rizqun International Hotel
#8 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
163 reviews
7.7 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
174 reviews
2.3 mi away
StarLodge
StarLodge
#2 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Property: The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Address: Kampong Jerudong BG3122, Brunei Darussalam
Phone Number:
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Kampong Jerudong
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kampong Jerudong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Empire Hotel & Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the north eastern tip of Borneo on the doorstep of one of Asia's oldest rainforests, The Empire Hotel & Country Club is Brunei’s most prestigious beach resort offering unsurpassed 5-star luxury.This palatial resort hotel, which astounds visitors with its spectacular 12 storey marble and gold lobby, is set in its own private 180-hectare (445 acres) estate of manicured gardens and an 18-hole, floodlit Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and Country Club. Each of the hotel’s 522 opulently appointed guest rooms, suites and private villas has a view of the ocean, lagoon, gardens or golf course, while standard throughout the hotel are Imperial king-sized beds made with the finest linens, and over-sized marble bathrooms with walk-in shower, deep soaking tub with gold taps and luxury amenities. The Empire Hotel & Country Club also extends the kingdom’s regal hospitality with an impressive range of international restaurants, spa, world-class golf and sporting activities, and international meeting facilities for top level MICE gatherings, making it a resort ideal for family, romantic or business vacations. The Empire Hotel & Country Club is a member of WORLDHOTELS and recipient of numerous prestigious international awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Empire Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Empire Hotel And Country Club
Empire Hotel Brunei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing