We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel that has the potential to be a Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Hotel has one of the grandest lobbies I have ever seen! You walk through the double doors and are warmly greeted by the bell boys and concierge before being overwhelmed by the large marble and gold pillars, golden mirrors and a breathtaking view over the sea where you can make out the distant oil rigs.
The deluxe rooms are the absolutely massive with a huge 8ft front door and king bed fit for a King. The bathroom was equally amazing with everything apart from the toilet and bidet being made of either black or white marble. All the rooms in the west wing face the sea however it is really only from floor 4 or above where you can really see the sea.
Breakfast was served in the Atrium Cafe which was ideal for business travellers due to its location near to the reception and main wings however it would have been preferable if breakfast was served at the Pantai restaurant by the sea front.The atrium cafe has the potential to look regal and fit in with the rest of the hotel however the addition of fake plastic trees and colorful tube lighting took away from the ambiance. Unfortunately many of the facilities including the main pool, the cinema and the spaghettini restaurant were closed which we were not informed of until reading on the notice boards or finding out ourselves.
The Country Club had an excellent selection of sports and the Golf course is worth a game however it was a shame that as hotel guests we had to pay for most of the facilities though we were staying for a short time which meant the place felt deserted most of the time. The Bunkers Bar at the sports club was ideal for light evening or lunch meal and the staff were extremely friendly.
All the staff at the hotel ranging from the reception to the waiters at the Restaurants were extremely welcoming and always made time to chat with guests.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor to gain a sea view if on one of the Wings of the main building.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank griggstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear griggstraveller3,

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and we are pleased to hear that you were fascinated by the beauty of our unique setting in Brunei and the friendliness of everyone amongst our Team. Though I am sorry to hear that we should have been more explicit regarding the specific details related to our dining options during the period of Ramadhan and our main pool renovation whilst still offering the Lagoon and River pools as aquatic facilities . The Empire Cinema is temporarily closed as we are in the midst of appointing a new Cinema operator.

Once again, we are most grateful for taking your time to share your comments and we do hope to see you back in Brunei in a not too distant future.

Thank you

Best Regards,
General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,041)
There are newer reviews for The Empire Hotel & Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 1,041 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We was impressed by the size of the room, the bathroom was also huge
we stayed at the sea view rooms and it was a short walk to the secluded beach :)
going to have an amble around the rest of the hotel grounds as there is so much to see,
i must admit it would be perfect if wine was available with dinner but thats Brunei for you

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear ChrisM64,

Thanks for your wonderful and kind comments following your recent stay amongst us. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed the extraordinary scenery all around the Hotel and discover the many activities we are offering to all our visitors and guests.

Thank you again and we all hope to welcome you back soon to stay with us in Brunei.

Best Regards,
General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I still find Empire Hotel has the best service ever. In anywhere, whenever i have problem with the room, i need to call and wait for their service to come, but in Empire hotel, once they find out your room got problem, they will straight away solve or even offer you other option. In our case they upgrade our room to bigger and much more luxury without extra charges.

We have lots of fun, the area is really big and the best part is The Empire Hotel have cinema (Remember their cinema is super freezing cool, so if you think to watch your movie then bring extra Jumper).

Okey here is reminder, there is not atm machine, no convenience store so prepare well before taking cab to the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Nelly S,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback and I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Just to update you, our Empire Cinema is currently closed and we are bringing in new Cinema operator in before the end of the year.

Again, thank you and lovely to hear your comments and hope to see you coming back to stay with us again.

Best regards,
General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This really is an impressive hotel with an imposing atrium, imaginatively designed swimming pools and two beautiful private beaches. There is also a golf course and cinema. It seems like a great place to take reasonably well behaved children, since there are several special activities for them every day, and the minibar pack of soft drinks looks very good value.

I've stayed twice on business trips and the fly in the ointment is the service. On my last visit the first two key cards I was given didn't work and I had to trek back and for between the room and reception desk to get the problem sorted out. The cleaner in the corridor looked helpless and the passing maintenance man shrugged his shoulders as though it happened all the time. When I asked for my laundry to be collected no one came, so I had to take it to the reception desk myself, and was still not confident I'd get it back in time to wear it the next day. Staff at the reception desk were also less than helpful when a colleague called to collect me and I asked them to give him a message; this was especially galling because there were several staff in the atrium who did not seem exactly busy. Empire's management need to realise that business travellers need promptness and reliability- perhaps they could learn from the Traders Penang who are excellent in this respect.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueP186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear SueP186346,

Thank you for your sincere comments and I do appreciate your feedback following your recent stay. I am of course very concerned to hear of your frustrating experience amongst all of us, when Brunei and its entire people are well known for their warmth and extremely hospitable demeanor.

I will personally investigate the root of the problem and address accordingly to avoid any further re occurrences.

However I do hope you will still consider staying with us again on your next business trip to Brunei for a chance to redeem ourselves with a flawless experience.

Thank you again

Best Regards
General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

thats why its quiet expensive- customers need to re-pay to owner for over the top decoration. Nice beach and sweeming pool area. Very friendly staff. There are no ATM machine in the hotel and no convinience store- so you need to prepare your own supply (snacks, toileteries, etc.). Food is poor- we went to all 4 restaurants at the premises and none was great (especially Italian).

No much going on after 21:00- please see photo on Club House activities. Gym is great, golf is great and plenty of interesting TV Channels. Daily newspaper.

Obviously, there is no booze in the country- so you need to bring your own bottle(s)- its allowed to bring to the country- just need to write declaration on the custom in the airport.

Security checking on entrance. There is a buggy on call to move around the premises- takes about 5 min. to arrive- so plan in advance

Room Tip: dont stay at the ground floor- you can hear noise from ever working outdoor fontains / pumps. AND MA...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sveta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Sveta S,

Thank you for your comments and feedback on our hotel following your recent visit.

I am deeply sorry to hear about your disappointing dining experiences across The Empire Hotel & Country Club. I would highly appreciate and find it hugely beneficial if you could contact me at the hotel directly to discuss these matters in further details as our newly re-opened Pantai Restaurant is being very well received.

Please be ensured that all comments made are shared with the relevant departments

Although the hotel is located away from town, it is extremely convenient to go out to the city and enjoy some local cultures and cuisines. When you do come back here, do let our Concierge know and they will be able to suggest you some exciting places to visit.

Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This year we stayed in this hotel twice. The first stay was when we visited our Bruneian friend and the second stay was just few days ago we came for business matters and assisting one of our friend who is involved in the ASEAN meeting in Brunei.

The Empire hotel maybe our only best choice hotel whenever we visited Brunei. The hotel so huge with great ocean view so impressive with beautiful furnished rooms EXCEPT for few services we always find it so frustrating and regret to experience. YES! always when dining at the Atrium. Eating are so comforting but few waitresses and a waiter spoilt the mood with their ill-mannered services.

One incident as an example: We have to stack our plates at the table's corner since no waiter/waitress took our first course meal plates during which we were having our desserts...or they just "deliberately do not want to attend us" oh YES they were! You will noticed even if you have to put up your hands to get attention, they tend to look away from you. Finally after a long wait (plates getting dry) and several effortless attempt, we successfully "caught the attention" one of waitress (she is local) attended us and while picking up all the stacking plates we heard she was mumbling with "cursing words" in Malay Language (Ooooh YES! we understand Malay language very well). In addition to our horror, she put the stacking plates by force at the preparation table (middle of the Atrium) and again YES! we heard it so loud and disturbing, with spoons almost flying all over the place. And to other foreign waitresses, they were "informing" (talking) while serving us...(YES! we do not understand Tagalog language and YES! they make The Atrium as if it is like in a PUB/DISCO CLUB, you heard them here and there all over the place).

Due to these incidents, we really regret to experience such unacceptable attitude and worst these waiters/waitresses showed their attitude not only in front of us (as visitors/tourists) but also to other ASEAN communities who were dining there during that time. And YES! we heard passers-by (ASEAN communities) and people next to our table...they were commenting about the services "I ask for tea, he gave me cold water???" ..."OK!! I said Excuse me, she look away from us, why?". We left The Empire hotel with mix-feelings, regret, frustration, sad and all. The next time if we stay at this hotel, we expect services improvements seriously especially and mainly to those waiter and waitresses at the Atrium. May there be international hotel critics visit this hotel and produce comments, I am looking forward to read them.

The Empire Hotel deserve a remarkable good comments for the Pantai Restaurant services, plus plus stars for them especially their FOOD! Stunning. YES! this is it the services we are looking for! Thank you Pantai restaurant you make our stay so welcoming, enjoyable and we love your food.

In addition, one of our friend is a local Bruneian. She commented that there are many local Bruneians dining at The Atrium and YES! at times they get poor services from these very local Bruneian waiters/waitresses. Why?

YES! We are frustrated.

Room Tip: Get room with ocean view....no regret
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Jessicac,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that our newly re-opened Pantai restaurant met your expectations and provided you with a memorable dinner setting during your visit.

Of course I am highly concerned to read about your less than glowing report after your experience in our Atrium restaurant and wish to sincerely apologize for this poor impression. Please rest assured that any service shortfalls are taken very seriously at The Empire Hotel and Country Club as we pride ourselves to deliver service excellency at all times. I will personally look into this matter and may I kindly invite you to contact me directly at the hotel for further follow up.

Thank you

Best Regards,

General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Located along the coastline in the Jerudong area in Bandar Seri Begawan, this is one of the very few top rated hotels there. The hotel is massive and has different wings. The main wing would probably be the most spectacular, boasting stunning views of the sea and a lovely sunset everyday.

Room is also furnished with opulence - gold plated everything - which is how the locals like it. Day and night curtains can also be controlled from a panel next to the bed, very convenient!

Will come back here again if on a holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main wing facing the sea - you won't regret it!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jewemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear jewemi,

Greetings from The Empire Hotel & Country Club, and thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel. It is indeed the place to be when visiting Brunei and you can easily soak in the magnificent view of the sunset while enjoying an afternoon at the Lobby Lounge.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcome you back!

Best Regards,

General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampong Jerudong
8.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,143 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
278 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Rizqun International Hotel
The Rizqun International Hotel
#6 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
167 reviews
7.7 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
181 reviews
2.3 mi away
StarLodge
StarLodge
#2 of 5 in Kampong Jerudong
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Address: Kampong Jerudong BG3122, Brunei Darussalam
Phone Number:
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Kampong Jerudong
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kampong Jerudong
Price Range: $203 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Empire Hotel & Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the north eastern tip of Borneo on the doorstep of one of Asia's oldest rainforests, The Empire Hotel & Country Club is Brunei’s most prestigious beach resort offering unsurpassed 5-star luxury.This palatial resort hotel, which astounds visitors with its spectacular 12 storey marble and gold lobby, is set in its own private 180-hectare (445 acres) estate of manicured gardens and an 18-hole, floodlit Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and Country Club. Each of the hotel’s 522 opulently appointed guest rooms, suites and private villas has a view of the ocean, lagoon, gardens or golf course, while standard throughout the hotel are Imperial king-sized beds made with the finest linens, and over-sized marble bathrooms with walk-in shower, deep soaking tub with gold taps and luxury amenities. The Empire Hotel & Country Club also extends the kingdom’s regal hospitality with an impressive range of international restaurants, spa, world-class golf and sporting activities, and international meeting facilities for top level MICE gatherings, making it a resort ideal for family, romantic or business vacations. The Empire Hotel & Country Club is a member of WORLDHOTELS and recipient of numerous prestigious international awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Empire Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Empire Hotel And Country Club
Empire Hotel Brunei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing