We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK hotel to stay in Brunei but needs a lot of improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Empire Hotel & Country Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The room are spacious and the bathroom are huuuge - but they need to be upgraded or at least maintain consistently - in the bathroom you may notice chipped tiles, or stained cushions seats - during our stay, it looked like blood stained (yuck!)

Pools can be easily crowded especially the kids pool because the pool is small for the amount of kids swimming in it and you don't see any lifeguard around!

Currently, constructions are going on for the pantai restaurant so trucks, pick-up are in the vicinity of the hotel. I am not sure if there are suppose to go in.. so don't let your children run around alone!!!! its very dangerous!!!!!!!!! even the shuttle buses are around and I thought only their buggies are allowed - i hope the managment looked into this very seriously

Room Tip: If you are getting room in the main atrium, avoid the 5th floor becasue it is the same floor as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Maya O

Thank you for your review and comments following your stay with us. The work on our new Pantai restaurant is nearing completion and we look forward to opening the restaurant later this month. It will be a wonderful addition to our hotel. I have addressed your comments with our housekeeping department. The hotel is definitely spacious and spread-out with views overlooking the sea that add to its charm. I hope that one day I will have the pleasure to welcome you back to The Empire Hotel & Country Club.

Kind regards,

General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

526 - 532 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I have stayed there a couple of times and found it to be a fabulous luxurious place to stay, the staff are efficient polite and friendly, service is good making for a stress free holiday. Sure there are ongoing maintenance issues in certain areas but considering the size of the place it's not that surprising. Pool area is great bar service and buffet are excellent. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the sea are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cintraNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear cintraNewZealand,

Thank you for a very kind and concise feedback following your recent stay at The Empire Hotel & Country Club and please let me know when you next plan to return as I would personally like to welcome you.

Kind regards,

General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Tons of money has gone into this hotel, but sadly, maintenance and service seem to have slipped from the grand beginning concept.
On arrival, a load drip within the ceiling. Called, and fixed. Next day, grand shower flooded the bathroom - clog I guess. A tray in the hall from room service was there for at least one day. We told worker ther, but it remained!
We stayed here to go golfing which was another disappointment. They have recently lost the status to be a Jack Nickalous course presumably because not kept up to this standard. NO caddies, which is nearly unheard of in Asia. We were no alone in our experiences. We booked tee- time on Internet and never got a response. Had to search around the place to find anyone to pay and get set up. Shack was closed where you get started and had to circle back to find someone...
Waited ages for taxi back to hotel. Would have been quicker to walk.
Very expensive ( golf and hotel) over all.
Italian restaurant Spaghini ( or so)... No spaghetti!
They say new mgmt is on the way ( for hotel +). Good luck!

Room Tip: On the bay and away from family pool time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear TerriL

First of all, thank you for staying with us at The Empire Hotel & Country Club and secondly for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit. I take your comments most seriously and I will address all the points raised in your review.

I do hope that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards.

General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I reside in Brunei and decided to enjoy a luxurious weekend away.

The hotel is grand and impressive, the food is a good standard but the staff stand out for me as multi lingual, polite and efficient . They make it a great place to stay.

The gym is good, empty but air conditioned and clean. The running machines are top spec but the ipod connectors need looking at.

The pools are great but unfortunately the grand Lagoon pool is under maintenance.

We tried room service, buffet breakfast Italian and Chinese restaurants. In the Uk you would pay far more for food of lesser quality and taste.


For some reason we had two doubles when we chose our ocean view room online for just two of us. The net curtain was stained, but generally ok.

In all we will be back as it is a great venue to unwind and indulge.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R and T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear R and T G,

Thank you for your kind words and I was delighted to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us and you especially appreciated the staff for providing excellent polite and efficient five star service.

I hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again and often while you are in Brunei. It remains for me to thank you and wish you all the best from The Empire Hotel & Country Club.

Thank you

Kind regards.

General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

First impressions are of a stunning hotel in a fabulous location - quiet and scenic. Can't fault the expense that went into its construction. The staff are invariably polite and helpful, and the services on offer are first rate. The range and variety of cuisine is breathtaking. The laundry service is first class.These things aren't the problem however.
For a hotel of this ambition, little things below the surface matter. In my room, the desk chair was decidedly wobbly. One of the sink taps just didn't work, and the shower drain was blocked. One side of the electrically-operated curtains had come off its runner and wouldn't draw shut unless done manually. On more than one occasion (I was there for two weeks) the breakfast "hot" food selection was simply cold, as the plates hadn't been switched on. Peeling paint in places, loose / broken tiles - I could go on but space and time prevent. You get the picture.
What a shame. Someone needs to get a grip on basic housekeeping - if you build a hotel on such an iconic scale then, like the Sydney Harbour Bridge, you need a 24 hour maintenance schedule. A small army of leaf-blowers and strimmers are engaged keeping the grounds clean and tidy - a similar amount of resources need putting into looking after the fabric of the place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitbyladYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear whitbyladYorkshire,

Thank you for your kind review and comments following your stay with us at The Empire Hotel & Country Club.

I was disappointed to read about the defects that you mentioned as well as the “cold” food served at our restaurant, we sincerely apologize for this and I will personally make sure we are mindful of your experience and that your comments regarding the general up-keep of the hotel are addressed.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire Hotel & Country Club on another occasion.

Kind regards.

General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Fabulous hotel in beautiful surroundings: nice private beaches, swimming pools...Rooms in the ´Seaview´ building have a great view on a lonely beach. The main building of the hotel is very impressive, but maintenance and service are not what can be expected of a 5* hotel. Rooms should be refurbished and renovated. Breakfast buffet offers a good choice of Asian and western dishes. The public bus to the capital stops at the hotel, but - strange enough - you should book your seat. If you have time you can take the public bus to the airport by changing bus at the bus terminal in Bandar Seri Begawan. The hotel staff tries to convince you to take a taxi or limousine to go downtown and is not helpful at all to give the necessary info about the public bus.

Room Tip: It is worth to pay an extra to have a room in the ´Seaview´ building: astonishing view on a ˋwild´ b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlemil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Carlemil

Thank you for your review and comments following your recent stay at The Empire Hotel & Country Club. We take all comments most seriously and very much appreciate your feedback. Our rooms in the main building were refurbished last year and we will be starting renovation works on our other rooms later this year.

In general we recommend taxi over public buses for their reliability and comfort and would normally make the arrangements via our concierge desk.

Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards.

General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is an extremely luxurious hotel. We woke up at 5ish in the morning and caught a glimpse of the amazing sunrise from our bed. We literally didn't even have to move an inch as the curtains can be electronically operated from the buttons by the bedside. The view of the South China Sea was just breathtaking. The bathroom is very spacious and right next to the bath tub is a window that oversees the South China Sea once again.

Do spend some time in the country club. We took a dip in their indoor swimming pool with lukewarm water and had a great swim. We also checked out their double-storey gym which has a wide range of gym equipment.

The Empire is a place I'd definitely return to!

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Piao L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheEmpireHotel, General Manager at The Empire Hotel & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear PiaoL,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments following your recent stay at The Empire Hotel & Country Club.

You wrote about the ‘views’ from the resort that you aptly described as ‘breath taking’, it is a pleasure for us to see the daily sunrise and sunset. Our location is definitely unique and I was very pleased to read that you referred to The Empire Hotel & Country Club as a place that you would ‘definitely return to’. I will be delighted to share your comments with the staff at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Kind regards.

General Manager
The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kampong Jerudong
8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#1 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,183 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#2 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
292 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Rizqun International Hotel
The Rizqun International Hotel
#7 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#3 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
375 reviews
6.7 mi away
Palm Garden Hotel
Palm Garden Hotel
#8 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
144 reviews
7.7 mi away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#4 of 19 in Bandar Seri Begawan
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Empire Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Empire Hotel & Country Club

Address: Kampong Jerudong BG3122, Brunei Darussalam
Phone Number:
Location: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Kampong Jerudong
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kampong Jerudong
Price Range: $200 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Empire Hotel & Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 518
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the north eastern tip of Borneo on the doorstep of one of Asia's oldest rainforests, The Empire Hotel & Country Club is Brunei’s most prestigious beach resort offering unsurpassed 5-star luxury.This palatial resort hotel, which astounds visitors with its spectacular 12 storey marble and gold lobby, is set in its own private 180-hectare (445 acres) estate of manicured gardens and an 18-hole, floodlit Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course and Country Club. Each of the hotel’s 522 opulently appointed guest rooms, suites and private villas has a view of the ocean, lagoon, gardens or golf course, while standard throughout the hotel are Imperial king-sized beds made with the finest linens, and over-sized marble bathrooms with walk-in shower, deep soaking tub with gold taps and luxury amenities. The Empire Hotel & Country Club also extends the kingdom’s regal hospitality with an impressive range of international restaurants, spa, world-class golf and sporting activities, and international meeting facilities for top level MICE gatherings, making it a resort ideal for family, romantic or business vacations. The Empire Hotel & Country Club is a member of WORLDHOTELS and recipient of numerous prestigious international awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Empire Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Empire Hotel And Country Club
Empire Hotel Brunei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing